We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Apartment”
Review of Vila Drago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vila Drago
Ranked #1 of 17 Sveti Stefan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We really enjoyed the apartment. Service and food were great. Room service was wonderful.
Tonka was very helpful.

You will love this hotel.

Room Tip: Great value. Montenegro is really fun. Rent a car. Explore.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
There are newer reviews for Vila Drago
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2012

This is a lovely, relaxing little hotel with amazing views. The amount of time we sat on the balcony drinking wine brought up from the restaurant below alone was worth the stay.The hospitality was very friendly and professional, and the rooms were clean. The breakfast had a lot of variety and was very tasty. And the beach is a steep, but short walk from the hotel. There is a great little trail that connects this little town to the little village immediately north, which has stunning views as well. I would definitely stay at this hotel again, especially for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunnypdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

If you like B&B settings, tranquility, exquisite view, wonderful staff, garden, plants and flowers everywhere then Vila Drago is for you. We had a meticulously clean room and bathroom (room # 5 with two balconies), furnished nicely and with a practicality that lacked nothing. The view from our balcony/terrace was stunning, especially the sunset; perfect for evening drinks and breakfasts. The hospitability and delicious breakfast, fruits and treats were icing on the cake! Parking is available across the street and did not seem to be a problem at all. It is located in the heart of Sveti Stefan town and walking distance to the beach and surroundings. Excellent find for the value. We will return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EvaIc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stayed here for just one night last week and absolutely loved it. We were in room 4 which had a balcony overlooking the peninsula...perfect for a drink as the sun went down. The beach was a five minute walk from the Vila and had some of the clearest water I've ever seen and lots of fish which nibbled your feet!

The room itself was spotless and the bed very comfy, and the added extras of shampoo, shower gel and cottonbuds etc really unexpected for this price. The restaurant downstairs was fantastic too, the food and wine were great, and the breakfast the following morning was brilliant. We were given the standard continental breakfast as a matter of course, and were then offered a choice of any of the other breakfasts and coffee top ups! If I'd had known how nice the place was I would have stayed longer. The staff were scarce but very friendly when we did encounter them, and the waiters were lovely!

Room Tip: Room 4 was good and I think Room 5 would have been even better!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank LK1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We were fortunate enough to spend 6 nights in the Petar apartment, one of two apartments on the top floor of the villa. The other rooms in the villa are also great. They are smaller and do not have the kitchen facilities but breakfast is included in the price. I am not sure of their balcony particulars. We had 2 balconies, the main one off the sitting room was enormous with a large table and chairs as well as a two person table, also with chairs. (There was also a laundry rack for drying). The view and the sunsets were marvellous from there. The apartment itself was large, comfortable, modern and very clean. One bedroom had a queen bed and the other (connecting to the smaller balcony) had two twin beds. Both rooms offerred lots of closet space and air conditioning. It was very quiet at night. The bathroom contained a WC, a sink a tub with shower and the washing machine. Laundry soap and toiletries were provided. The sitting room was very cozy with a computer and tv though we did not use either as we had our own laptops and were too busy enjoying to watch tv. The large dining table shared the room with the modern kitchen. We stocked the huge fridge with local delicacies and lots of cold drinks including local vino and pivo bought at the little market nearby. We ate our breakfasts and most lunches at home on the balcony. I would recommend enjoying a lunch on the island, which we did. (In case you haven't read this before, the fishing island of Sveti Stefan is owned and operated by one hotel now. You need restaurant reservations to get onto it. We made ours at the little security table set up at the entrance.) We had all our dinners at Vila Drago and enjoyed each of them. The caprese salads, the cevapcici and the local fish were our favorites. The staff was very friendly and our table was ours for the evening.

We walked and explored early each day. One morning, we hiked up to the little church you can see way above the town for a glorious view. I would suggest taking a cab to the head of the road that leads up to it because walking along the main road is scary. We also drove to Kotor (taking the ferry back to the other side and around from there, stopping at the villages including Perast) and back through the mountains as the owners had suggested. The steep hairpinned ascent up the mountains from behind Kotor was amazing. In the afternoons,the beaches called. The first one was 200 steps (stairs) from our room. The hotel kindly supplies beach towels, matts and parasols for this beach. We preferred the beach on the other side of the island even though is cost 50 Euro (parasol, beach loungers, towels and bottled water) mostly because it was not as busy and because the pebbles were not as hard on the feet. There is another beach further on, but it is 75 Euros and we could see no advantage. You can pick up drinks, snacks, flip flops and souvenirs from the little stand across from the villa. The older gentleman who seems to be there all the time will be happy to help. Also, on the way down the steps, you will come across artists selling their paintings and artisans selling their woolen creations (hard to appreciate when the temperature is over 30).

As I said, we drove to Kotor and back. We rented a car in Dubrovnik at the airport and had no problems driving. We took another reader's advice and kept our headlights on while driving (apparently it is the law). Remember to turn them off when you park. We did have to pay extra at the rental office to get permission to take the car into Montenegro and had to pay a small tourist tax to get in at the border. Watch for a person selling maps while you are in line at the border, very useful. The ferry is cheap and easy to use. It cuts a lot of travel time off. Leave enough time to cross the border back to Croatia. We used the extra time to enjoy a lunch by the water in Cavtat before returning the car (we had already checked in and handed in the luggage).

The staff at the villa are all very lovely people, kind, cheerful, interested and helpful. They made us feel very welcome. We wish them continued success and hope that others will enjoy their stay as much as we did!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank imphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We would thoroughly recommend a stay at Vila Drago. The staff are so kind and friendly, even packing us off to the beach with their beach kit so we could avoid the fees of up to 75 euros! It was my husband's birthday and they were very accommodating in supplying us with a cake and ensuring that we had the best table in the restaurant for dinner. The room was pleasant, comfortable and clean, with effective AC, but the highlight was the view from the terrace as the sun set. Heaven.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalkingKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This is a lovely, small family run hotel overlooking the beautiful coast. The staff really were so helpful, helping us arrange trips, hire cars and onward transport and seemed genuinely interested in their guests welfare. We were very happy with the standard of our double room and although our one didn't have a sea view we could use the communal terrace with the sea view. The villa also provides guests with parasols, beach matts and towels if you require them. The restaurant downstairs is excellent and the breakfast included in the price is of a very high standard!
Thoroughly recommend this small hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lac1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sveti Stefan
0.0 mi away
Hotel Adrovic
Hotel Adrovic
#2 of 4 in Sveti Stefan
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Azimut
Hotel Azimut
#3 of 4 in Sveti Stefan
45 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Queen of Montenegro
Queen of Montenegro
#3 of 9 in Becici
623 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maestral Resort & Casino
Maestral Resort & Casino
#1 of 4 in Sveti Stefan
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Levantin Inn
Levantin Inn
#7 of 17 in Sveti Stefan
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Drago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Drago

Address: Slobode 32, Sveti Stefan, Budva Municipality 85315, Montenegro
Phone Number:
Region: Montenegro > Budva Municipality > Sveti Stefan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Sveti Stefan
Price Range: £52 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Vila Drago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Drago Hotel Sveti Stefan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing