We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay”
Review of Vila Drago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vila Drago
Ranked #1 of 17 Sveti Stefan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Brilliant value for money, massive apartment, spotless and had everything you wanted. Beautiful views from the balcony of Sveti Stefan that us mere mortals are not allowed to enter. Breakfast was generous to a fault with excellent staff working in the restaurant. The family who manage the apartments were extremely warm. Although can't say I was a huge fan of the area (gets a bit annoying being told that one pebbled strip of beach costs 75 euros to sit on) I didn't want to leave Drago - best sleep ever on the comfy beds.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiltiejourno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights at Vila Drago in room 4 - not the coveted room 5 - but still fantastic. As other reviewers have noted, the owner is lovely and speaks excellent English, she couldn't be nicer, the rooms are very clean and quite big and the sea view balconies are amazing. The sunset views over Sveti Stefan with a nice bottle of wine (including the complimentary one which Vila Drago provies) on your own private balcony with the option of having your food delivered to you from the restaurant makes for a fairly unbeatable package. The food is so fresh and tasty (although the menu is scarily long - just use the time to quietly sip your wine while you contemplate it!) that I had the same squid dish two nights running. My husband went for the suckling pig on one night which did cause me some food envy. One of those places that you find yourself cutting time short on other attractions around the area simply because you can't wait to get back and sit and soak in the amazing view.

Room Tip: Room 4 is great - go for a sea view and pay more - it's totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

My gal and I rolled off the bus into this quaint little town about a week ago. We had no reservations anywhere and figured we would just stumble onto something. As we walked down the steep roads and paths we noticed that most hotels were either closed for the season or very expensive. It was getting late and rain was starting so we execute our emergency routine and consulted the Lonely Planet book. (Although we have used LP for years and find it to be invaluable, we try to steer clear of their recommended lodging because usually once a place makes it into the book their rates double overnight and the quality goes down. But not this time)

Vila Drago sounded good and we quickly found it. We even lucked out and scored the coveted room #5 on our first night. We walked into our room just as the sun was setting so we relaxed on the corner balcony with the complimentary bottle of wine and soaked it up. Truly Epic! We were moved to #3 the next night due to a reservation but it was great over there too. The food in the restaurant downstairs is amazing and the waiters are friendly. Try the fish dinner set meal.. yum. The included breakfast is good too. The only downside of our stay was the first night a dog started barking around 4am for an hour or so. Keep earplugs handy.

When it was time to leave the woman owner helped us figure out the bus to Budva and then on to Dubrovnik. 20 minutes later as we were stepping off the bus in Budva, I noticed the owner had raced ahead in her car to catch us. Somehow during the checkout scramble I was never given back my passport and she caught up to us to return it. She then even gave us a quick ride to old town Budva since we had a 4 hour wait until the next bus to Dubrovnik. Above and beyond customer service!

Room Tip: Rooms 3, 4, and 5 all have great views, but 5 is the best and the biggest balcony (actually 2 balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captainstokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We had room 4 which has a large single balcony with the same wonderful view of the island as room 5. I agree with all the previous positive reviews about this comfortable, well run and welcoming hotel. I'm not a big fan of shingle beaches or the steep climb down to and back from the beach but we were happy to chill out and relax on our balcony and soak up some late summer warmth. The fridge provided in the room is a good size to store drinks.Large double bed and brightly decorated immaculate room, fresh towels every day. The complimentary litre bottle of red wine in our room was a lovely touch and delicious. We had booked for 5 nights but discovered that the return bus times to Dubrovnik for our flight home would mean 9 hours hanging around at the airport, so we decided to cut our stay here short by a day and stay in Cavtat , a short taxi ride from the airport. We were perfectly happy to pay the full 5 nights but when we paid our bill Tonka had deducted the cancelled night.....how fair is that!

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BeemerF650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in this villa, excellent value, great food, and a very helpful owner. We stayed in room 4 which overlooks the sea and the island. The room was very well appointed with good aircon, fridge, satellite TV and a balcony. Sveti Stefan is a quiet place ideal to chill out, would not suit those who have difficulty in walking as the town is built on the side of a hill,

Room Tip: pay the extra bit for a sea view room, the view of the island and the sunset is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antonyh1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We stayed here from October 8, 2012 for three days for my 50th birthday celebration and were very impressed. We had room 5 which had two balconies with spectacular views, a fridge, free wi-fi and extensive channels on tv- in many five star hotels we have had a lot less amenities. Breakfast was good with great coffee and the staff were friendly and helpful-my only complaint which is pretty standard throughout Europe- is the quality of the mattress- I was glad to get back home to my own bed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nenaghboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We stayed here in August this year on our honeymoon. The view from our balcony was breathtaking. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Short stroll to the beach.The food in the restaurant was really excellent. Our one big fault would be that the service in the restaurant lets the place down. One particular waiter with floppy hair was the rudest person ever. Aside from that we would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawnawakening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sveti Stefan
0.0 mi away
Hotel Adrovic
Hotel Adrovic
#3 of 4 in Sveti Stefan
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Azimut
Hotel Azimut
#2 of 4 in Sveti Stefan
47 reviews
2.0 mi away
Queen of Montenegro
Queen of Montenegro
#3 of 9 in Becici
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort
0.9 mi away
Maestral Resort & Casino
Maestral Resort & Casino
#1 of 4 in Sveti Stefan
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartments Secret Garden
Apartments Secret Garden
#38 of 55 in Sveti Stefan
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Drago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Drago

Address: Slobode 32, Sveti Stefan, Budva Municipality 85315, Montenegro
Phone Number:
Region: Montenegro > Budva Municipality > Sveti Stefan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Sveti Stefan
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Vila Drago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Drago Hotel Sveti Stefan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing