We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value and best view in Montenegro”
Review of Vila Drago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vila Drago
Ranked #1 of 19 Sveti Stefan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We just spent four days in Vila Drago's room 5, having booked it in advance after reading previous reviews. The website does not do Vila Drago justice. The room, and in particular, the huge balcony was fantastic. Tonka was a welcoming host and the team of staff excellent. We really made the most of the spectacular views of Sveti Stephan from our balcony, from which we we able to eat dinner and breakfast. It was very enjoyable to be able to do this - like a private apartment but with room service! The food was also some of the best we had, nothing flashy, but good value homely cooking.
In Montenegro, we travelled to Lake Skadar, Budva and Kotor, but our most memorable and enjoyable times were here at Vila Drago.

Room Tip: Definitely try to get room 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rach0082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

Arriving at this part of the coast mid August is quite something. The streets are teaming with people, the driving is hectic and it's VERY hot. We had just spent 4 beautiful days in Montenegro's interior, trekking through some amazing National Parks. The beach, in comparison, seemed hectic and frenetic.
Thankfully, walking into Vila Drago, everything changed. Tonika, our hostess, warmly welcomed us, showed us about our cool, inviting room (#6) with lovely views of the coastline. We were given a complementary bottle of wine, quickly connected to Wi Fi before heading down the steps to the beach (this time with complementary beach towels and umbrella!). The room was a good size and made up daily. When our air conditioner wasn't working it was quickly and cheerfully fixed.
Breakfasts at the terrace restaurant downstairs was extensive and delicious. The service there was impeccable, friendly efficient waiters quick to see to our needs. Vila Drago deservedly gets a great wrap on Tripadvisor.
The beach is fine, if a little crowded. The water was clean and the swimming itself was good. There was rubbish on the beach and its quite usual to see holiday makers stubbing cigarette butts into the sand. Such a shame as this could be a real jewel. What a missed opportunity to soil such a promising place.
Nothing was out of place at Vila Drago. Our stay there was tops. Having braved the Montenegro drivers we felt safe and happy to be here.
I'm not likely to come back to this part of the world, especially at the height of summer. That said, if you are headed here, avoid noisy Budva and book into Vila Drago. You'll not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Aim for one with a view. Their website has a floor plan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drewmqSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We absolutely loved our stay in Vila Drago. The rooms were clean and quiet. Had free wifi, which was a good connection. We were treated with the highest level of hospitality and this provided a very homely feel. We got complimentary wine on arrival. We booked a room that didn't have a seas view (due to high season) but there was a terrace that we could use to soak in the view, which is just breathtaking. The room had a private balcony, which we could also hang clothes to dry and we had beach towels for us to use and a beach umbrella. The location was great, just a few minutes down the stairs to the beach. Wish we could stay longer!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anabab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Thank you Tonka and her family for an amazing stay in Sveti Stefan. Room #5 was a perfect paradise with stunning views all day and night. The food was the best we had in Montenegro and very reasonable. Tonka and her team showed that extra special care,such as bringing breakfast to our balcony if we chose and beach towels with an umbrella all included in the price. Steps from the beach and Sveti Stefan this place is amazing. Thank you Tonka and Vila Drago.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Crow44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We're here for 3 nights. After the hustle and bustle of Dubrovnic and Kotor this is a haven. We dont have a sea view which is disappointing after our stay in Apartments Marija the night before but the room is spotless,clean towels and room tidied daily, beach towels and umbrella supplied and the staff are so helpful. Great restaurant too.

Room Tip: Number 1 has no sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dubliner2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Even though the weather wasn't on our side, this gem of a hotel was one of the highlights of our journey through Montenegro and Croatia.

Arriving after a long day of travelling we were greeted with warm smiles, a very comfortable room and breathtaking views from our balcony. Not forgetting a complimentary bottle of local wine and surprisingly fast (and free) wifi.

Despite the restaurant not being open yet, they were happy to prepare our choice of dishes from their extensive menu and bring it up to our room for al-fresco dining on our balcony. The dinner itself was superb. Large portions of fresh fish washed down with a well matched local white wine. And at €40 for the 2 of us, this was by far the best value meal we had on our entire trip.

Not forgetting breakfast, which was again excellent, and served to us on our balcony.

Between the great value, wonderful food and friendly, helpful staff, we wished that we had stayed here longer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paddy_OCoogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Brilliant value for money, massive apartment, spotless and had everything you wanted. Beautiful views from the balcony of Sveti Stefan that us mere mortals are not allowed to enter. Breakfast was generous to a fault with excellent staff working in the restaurant. The family who manage the apartments were extremely warm. Although can't say I was a huge fan of the area (gets a bit annoying being told that one pebbled strip of beach costs 75 euros to sit on) I didn't want to leave Drago - best sleep ever on the comfy beds.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiltiejourno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sveti Stefan hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Adrovic
Hotel Adrovic
#2 of 4 in Sveti Stefan
112 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Edelweiss
Villa Edelweiss
#2 of 19 in Sveti Stefan
12 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aman Sveti Stefan
Aman Sveti Stefan
#1 of 55 in Sveti Stefan
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Maestral Resort & Casino
Maestral Resort & Casino
#1 of 4 in Sveti Stefan
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartments Secret Garden
Apartments Secret Garden
#38 of 55 in Sveti Stefan
10 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Sara Guesthouse
Villa Sara Guesthouse
#36 of 55 in Sveti Stefan
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Drago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Drago

Address: Slobode 32, Sveti Stefan, Budva Municipality 85315, Montenegro
Phone Number:
Region: Montenegro > Budva Municipality > Sveti Stefan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Sveti Stefan
Price Range: £46 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Vila Drago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Drago Hotel Sveti Stefan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing