We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Gwangju
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Gwangju
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst hotel I ever stayed in”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I was in Gwangju for 2 weeks, Firtly I stay a few days at the Holiday Inn nearer to the airport. This is good hotel, only disadvantage is the location is a bit quiet. Later I move to Ramada. This is the worst hotel I stay in for the price paid. The only thing going for the hotel is the location, nearer plenty of resturants (you can tell, as you can smell the smell of cooking in the room even.
The hotel have very very limited amenities. Restaurant and bar is in one location, on 17 flow. Food is not really good.So you might as well eat outside.
The internet connection in hotel if atrocious. No way to download my company mail in room, as too slow. Can just about connect to internet. But then once you vpn. Not able to download. Even if you go to lobby, connection is not easy. The connection cut off on and off. Sometimes not connectable. Ask looby, then they move wires around a bit then it connect.
So I would not recommend to stay in this hotel. The Holiday Inn is a thousand times better.

Room Tip: I would not stay in any room in this hotel. Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    49
    17
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
11
5
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

On my third visit to Gwangju for a business trip in a span of almost 1.5 years, it was my first time to stay at Ramada Hotel. The location is very strategic as it is near several restaurants/eateries and it is just a few steps away from a Lotte Mart, where you can buy groceries and a bit of shopping. The restaurant where breakfast is served, on the 17th floor, has a very elegant look and offers a good view as you enjoy your meal, if you are seated near the glass walls, of course. The room is huge, for me as the one I stayed in had a long walkway to the area where the bed, table and sofa is located. Basic amenities are available, but the toothbrush and toothpaste carries additional cost. Room cleanliness is good, the bed and pillows are comfortable. I had a problem with the aircon as it took a while to work, making it very stuffy when I just walked in and I had to wait close to half an hour before it stabilized and the room became comfortable. The staff are not very conversant in the English language so I felt a bit of frustration when the aircon was again "off" when I returned from dinner. Coming from a long flight, the situation was disappointing as my time was wasted having to wait for the aircon to work consistently. After the staff went to the room and had it checked telling me it was OK, but was warm for my standard, the aircon stabilized. After pressing the buttons on the control panel near the bed, I realized that at a certain temperature, you cannot change the air flow, hence it was very warm for me, even if the indicator at the guest services' end indicated that the aircon was working. When I figured this out, it was a much better stay for me. For someone who does not speak the Korean language, I'd say the other hotel I was previously staying in, was much better in terms of staff service as they were more conversant in the English language, no offense meant. Anyway, this hotel's location is a big plus factor as the one I stayed before is in a more remote lovation though just a few minutes away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inaliel79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel is very near to Lotte Mart, shops and restaurants. The hotel room is not as impressive as shown on the website but still consider acceptable. The room is quite dim and the conditions of hotel is not very well maintained as I saw holes on the wall and sofa seat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is located in the center of Gwangju in a lovely plaza area. There are several businesses and restaurants in the area, as well as a nearby “flea” market. The hotel is very modern and caters to Western tastes, despite being in South Korea. Check-in was very simple. The room, although small, was very comfortable. There was nothing terribly modern about the decor. It was just ordinary. The bed was comfortable. There was nothing very distinguishing about the hotel, but it was nice and located in a safe area.

The restaurant at the top of the hotel was great for breakfast. They had a wide variety of both Western and Asian offerings, all of which were presented in a very appealing manner. The one thing I found interesting was that I asked for hot chocolate one morning as I do not drink coffee and II was there in early March when the weather was very cold. The hostess looked at me and said, “No chocolate!” The view from the top of the hotel was spectacular as one could look out on the entire area. This hotel gets 3 ½ stars, because of the size of the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunyah, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

the ramada hotel in gwangju was a perfect location for us - close to many shops and eateries necessary for tourists and a short taxi ride to lotte department store, intercity bus terminal and most historic attractions.
front desk staff very efficient and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridian, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Hotel is showing it's age. Room was very dark and was dirty when we checked in. Stains from a business or art project on the cushions of the chairs. Something sticky on one of the walls and holes in the comforter. Not impressed with the stay or service. Colleagues at the Holiday Inn had a better stay. Breakfast doesn't open until 7AM which makes it difficult to get in and out for 8AM meetings across town. Avoid the Outback steak house across the street. Possibly the worst steak I've ever had.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chambersohana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Located right in the middle of Gwangju City the Ramada Plaza is a clean and easily accessible business hotel with good quality rooms and friendly reception staff.

I didn't want to be leaving the building with snow falling and the streets deserted the nights I was in town. The hotel restaurant was good quality as was the bakery next to reception and inside the hotel.

Good speed on the hotel WiFi together with a spacious bathroom and bed - what more can one ask for.

Not the cheapest option in town I'm sure but reasonable for a regional city in S Korea.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liquidseal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gwangju hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Gwangju
Holiday Inn Gwangju
#1 of 27 in Gwangju
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel B
Hotel B
#3 of 27 in Gwangju
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
3.9 mi away
Geumsoojang Tourist Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Benikea Hotel Art Hall
Benikea Hotel Art Hall
#12 of 27 in Gwangju
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
5.2 mi away
Shinyang Park Hotel
Shinyang Park Hotel
#8 of 27 in Gwangju
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.1 mi away
Firenze Hotel
Firenze Hotel
#9 of 27 in Gwangju
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Gwangju? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Gwangju

Property: Ramada Plaza Gwangju
Address: 149, Sangmujayu-ro, Seo-gu, Gwangju 61949, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Gwangju
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Gwangju
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Plaza Gwangju 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Gwangju reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Gwangju Hotel Gwangju

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing