We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Gwangju
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Gwangju
Certificate of Excellence
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
389 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Modern and fabulous”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I spent only one night in this new, modern architecture creation. Everything was top class, the room was spacious and well equipped, breakfast plentiful with good variety, gym excellent and service came with a smile.

The hotel is located outside the city center so it is not within walking distance of anything. But if that is not a problem, you are bound for a good and relaxing stay.

I definitely would recommend this hotel to anyone and I surely would like to go there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinngwanju, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Gwangju, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Pepics,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments and we are very glad you had pleasant stay with Holiday Inn Gwangju recently.

We all look forward to welcoming you back not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    94
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
42
14
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kearney, Nebraska
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Absolutely enjoyed staying at the Gwangju Holiday Inn and it far exceeded my American standards of what a Holiday Inn should be. The entire staff was extrodinary and made our trip entirely comfortable. The rooms were very nice and the bed was extremely comfortable. We purchased the advanced rate room and were given complementary brreakfast. Their resturant's breakfast was a pure delight with a large selection of both western and korean style dishes. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. The only two possible negatives of this hotel was the ac system which seemed to have some issues and our room's temperature was never quite what I had hoped it would be and the other is the location of the hotel which is within a 10 minute walk of the subway but is a decent distance from most businesses and attractions that people would want to partake in when they are in Gwangju. Neither of which would persuade me from staying here again. This is truly a high class establishment and they care for their facilities and guests equally.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank izbo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinngwanju, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Gwangju, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Izbo25,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay. We are very glad our employees were able to help you to have comfortable stay.
We continue to focus on providing a great product support by great service. We find by far the majority of our guests feel this is the most important matter which makes our location a minor consideration. Furthermore, we have escalated your comments about our air-conditioning system to respective department and we will take immediate action in order to prevent any inconvenience to our guests.

Thank you again for your comments and we all look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Kind regards,

Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I stayed 3 nights in the Hotel for Business as I was attending business convention in the across the street Convention Center. Hotel service, staff, rooms, restuarant, elevators, ...etc are excellent, the only negative issue was the Air Conditioining system, which was turned hot all of the sudden during the last night of my stay, so I requested them to fix, the front desk officer informed me later that they have to Switch ON again, so it was switched off, they gave no reason if they switched it off or the system was down by its own? Therefore -and since I can not stand the Heat or Hot Rooms, I requested them to bring me an Electrical Fan for just in case, aside from that the A/C took about 1 hour to cool down the room back to 18 degree cent after reaching 27.

Room Tip: I stayed at the 5th floor, non smoking room, Select Higher Floor overlooking the Main Street (will h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hzorkany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinngwanju, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gwangju, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Zorkany......
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment and review our Holiday Inn Gwangju.
I do apologize for the inconvenience caused when the air conditioning ceased causing the temperature in your room to rise.
Otherwise, we very are delighted you enjoyed the Hotel and its facilities.

We all wish you well and hope some day you will return to Gwangju.

Most sincerely
Michael Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Well this hotel is new (3years) and that's how all facilities are. Everything is modern, the free of charge LAN(wired & wireless) is everywhere available and fast. The breakfast buffet is outstanding and offers a lot of choices. The sauna and the swimming pool are spacey and clean. The rooms are modern style and clean. You can select whether you like a smoking or non-smoking room. Nearby you can find a convenience store. Subway is about 30m away. That why i call this a well balanced hotel. For my next business trips to Gwangju i will come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kai A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinngwanju, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gwangju, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Seal_00007

Thank you so much for providing us with your comments and review of our Holiday Inn Gwangju.

We all look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Gwangju in the not too distant future.

Most sincerely

Michael Wilson
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Welcoming faces, staff with good English and a quiet location all made our recent visit to Gwangju such a memorable one. Our children loved the pool & buffet, we loved how easy it all was to get transport, recommendations & all sorts of help. In particular when I had an allergic reaction to something at dinner, the chef was very concerned & he called the duty manager who was very helpful & even took me to the hospital nearby to get help. Whilst it was an experience that I am not recommending(!) having the manager so interested and with me all the time to deal with the hospital & my ignorance of the Korean language was such a relief. Many thanks - we look forward to a return visit in a few years.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FussyTravellerfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinngwanju, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Gwangju, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear FuzzyTravellerfromOZ,

First of all, thank you so much for taking the time to share your review and we are all glad to hear that you and your family had enjoyable stay with Holiday Inn Gwangju.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in Gwangju in future.

Most Sincerely,
Song Ju Young
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Its a brand in a suburban sector of Korea and it sticks to its reputation of good service, quality food and cleanliness.
Here for a business trip and it serves my purpose.
Value for money, good alternate options for global cuisine, in case you get tired of the korean one.

Room Tip: You wont get a great view from which ever floor you're stationed on, as there isn't much aro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itravel4work_luckyME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinngwanju, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gwangju, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest.........many thanks for providing us with your review. We very much appreciate your observations which I pass on to all our Employee Teams.

I hope I have an opportunity to welcome you when you next visit Holiday Inn Gwangju.

With my best regards.........Michael Wilson, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
150 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

A brand new hotel with modern design, the rooms were spacious and flawless. It has a relatively good location, just USD 15 cab ride away from the Gwangju KTX station. What left an impression was the friendly concierge service. We arrived in Gwangju late and asked for recommendations, The concierge staff happily recommended us a pub street just 3 minutes taxi ride away, which was an awesome location for hanging out at night. Taxis in Gwangju are really affordable.

The next day, we had arranged for a call-van to pick us up at the hotel to travel to somewhere else, but the driver couldn't understand English at all. The reception staff were so kind to help us with the translation, and told us we could call the front desk if we encounter any communication problems during our trip. We really appreciated the helpful and friendly service!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nemrac_coco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gwangju hotels
0.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Gwangju
Ramada Plaza Gwangju
#2 of 26 in Gwangju
98 reviews
4.7 mi away
Geumsoojang Tourist Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel B
Hotel B
#3 of 26 in Gwangju
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Firenze Hotel
Firenze Hotel
#9 of 26 in Gwangju
15 reviews
0.8 mi away
Benikea Hotel Art Hall
Benikea Hotel Art Hall
#12 of 26 in Gwangju
18 reviews
6.0 mi away
Shinyang Park Hotel
Shinyang Park Hotel
#8 of 26 in Gwangju
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Gwangju? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gwangju

Property: Holiday Inn Gwangju
Address: 55, Sangmunuri-ro, Seo-gu, Gwangju 61955, South Korea
Phone Number:
Region: South Korea > Gwangju
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Gwangju
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Gwangju 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, IHG, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Gwangju reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing