We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend this Resort”
Review of Fafa Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fafa Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fafa Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This place is divine. From the moment you are transported by boat & arrive at the island the service from the staff is outstanding. We were lucky enough to be there for New Years Eve & thoroughly enjoyed the night. We stayed in one of the fales (Tongan house) which are set in amongst foliage to keep them private. We enjoyed lying on our sunbed’s with uninterrupted ocean views. The fale we stayed in had a big main area with bed, table, fridge & lounge bed. There is a second room with safe & single bed. The lovely bathroom is semi-outdoor with solar hot water with a booster. If you want to have a drink or meal on the verandah of your fale you can walk to the bar & order & it will be delivered. The food is really good & there is a choice of up to 3 options for lunch & dinner. You can walk around the island at low tide & through the island on the bush trail. We spent 5 nights & thoroughly enjoyed & would absolutely stay at Fafa again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CricketGirlDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2013

Fafa Island is a great place to come and chill out and do as little as possible. All the fales are a short stroll from the beach and surrounded by swaying palms and tropical foliage. The fales strike the right balance between comfort and tropical fantasy. The design and sea side location means theres no need for air con and all the fales are TV free so it's good to disconnect from the outside world. The hammocks, sun chairs and 2 balconies give you plenty of options to relax while you take in the sea view. Pack a few good books and your swimmers and you are set for a great relaxing week.

One thing that is lacking is a pool. Apart from absolute high tide the sea is often a bit shallow for swimming and can be a bit rough if its windy. An infinity pool near the bar would be my suggestion for improvement.

Room Tip: All the fales are well located. The more expensive ones are best if traveling as a family or as a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelDude747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed at Fafa for three nights in the Kaute Fale. The staff had very kindly upgraded us when i asked them to find something close to the restaurant due to me not being able to walk to far.

The good things about Fafa:
- friendliness of both the German hostesses and the Tongan cooks.
- fantastic menu's - the food was excellent
- beautiful dinner setting, next to the water etc
- beautiful fale - had everything we could want except air conditioning
- library
- lovely surroundings
- free access to the snorkeling and kayak gear
- the bird life
- the open air but very private bathroom - very invigorating
- Hot water and a lantern delivered to your room each day
- The boat trips over and back - the staff accompanying us on the boat were friendly, helpful and really lovely. (Skipper, boat hands, cooks etc)
- Great fun snorkeling. Make sure you snorkel around the south part of the island, facing Tongatapu as the water is calmer there and their is good fish life everywhere.

The things the need improvement with Fafa:
- the unfriendliness of the bar and restaurant staff - but they warmed to us after a day or so.
In the beginning we felt very unwelcome, almost like they didn't want us to be there.
Tule was an exception. :-)
- the bar staff watered down every non-alcoholic drink I had (unless it was in a bottle). I thought that seen as we were paying over NZ$1000 for three nights, that they could at least give us real fruit juice that wasn't watered down. I did try to say something (nicely) about it, but I wasn't listened to.
- no air conditioning, but having said that, the Fale's couldn't have air con installed as they are thatched, which I loved. So we tried to rely in the fan but the generator shuts down at night, so no fan. Thank goodness for lots of wind while we were there, otherwise it would have been awful.

Overall, we had a wonderful time, and definitely would go there again. We loved, loved, loved the Fale we were in and felt very spoilt. Our most memorable thing was the outdoor bathroom! :-)

Room Tip: Our Fale, the Kaute, seemed to be one of the best from what we could see: It had two rooms, so we co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank journeyexpressions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My husband and I had a week at Fafa in September 2012 and we loved it! The perfect holiday for a complete relaxing break....we wanted a rest from work, to do nothing but lie on the beach or under a tree reading, swimming, snorkeling etc and got exactly that! Wonderful. The resort is a lovely clean Eco- friendly facility, the fales gorgeous, outdoor bathrooms fabulous (nothing like having a shower outside amongst tropical plants), and the staff so friendly and welcoming...felt like old friends. The food was great too. Basically we couldn't have picked a nicer place for a relaxing break, and we have been to quite a few Pacific Islands. Loved it and would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Fales on mainland side of island face beach on sheltered side, away from prevailing winds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom657215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

I agree with most of the other reviews on here. There are certain things that people find more important and I think that is reflected in the ratings.

We are a couple in our 20s so not rolling in cash like the other couples that stayed here, who were all very nice I must say. Therefore, the cost of things, and value for money, was a significant issue for us. We wanted to indulge ourselves for the last night of our trip and this was a great place to do that. The night's accommodation was about $NZ450 which for the beautiful room and private area we had was definitely worth it; an amazing place to just sit back and relax. The buildings are ageing a little bit; we wondered whether they might be waiting for a cyclone to claim insurance to reclad the fales.

The cost of airport transfers was exorbitant however. It cost nearly $200 for return transfers for the 2 of us, and the ferry trip part of it is unavoidable so should really be built into the cost I think.

The meals were expensive, and variable, and obviously there is a captive audience. The components to our dinner were reasonable, but very poorly matched. The cream of lobster soup entree looked like dish water and didn't taste much better unfortunately.

As someone else has mentioned, some of the staff were very disinterested and didn't make you feel particularly welcome.

Overall a great, relaxing place to stay and spend some time away from it all, but only if money is not an issue.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Brochures don't always tell the truth, Fafa however was everything it promised to be.... and some.
We did nothing,( which was exactly what we wanted to do) in style and comfort,and enjoyed every minute of it.
We stayed 10 days....could easily have stayed longer. Fale's were excellent, staff was friendly, service was perfect, food was very nice,fresh and reasonably priced.
Will happily go again. Great relaxing holiday, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awayatc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Being alone is exactly how we felt, when we wanted to that is. Fafa Island is a Eco friendly resort with spacious fales and private lawn heading down to your own piece of beach paradise. A magical outdoor bathroom is the most enchanting way to spend time doing whatever one does in there.
A small island that can be walked around in less than 1/2 an hour. There is snorkling gear and kayaks to use at your leisure. With safe swimming and snorkling at the end of your garden it makes for a great time. The reefs are going to be getting better and better with the future goals of Fafa to become a marine reserve. Fafa prides themselves on being Eco friendly and this becomes very apparent when talking to the Island hosts.
The restaurant has lovely food, as there is only limited fales there is not a huge selection but enough choice to cater to one and all. The staff make you feel like you are part of their family.
A great place to set up, kick back and just relax.
We went with bucket list dream of swimming with humpback whales which we achieved and can not recommend enough to do. There are 3-4 whale watch/swim operators in the area to use. We used Whale Swim and Dive tours who were fabulous.
So if you want a magical time you will love Fafa Island.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fafa Island
4.1 mi away
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
4 mi away
Waterfront Lodge
Waterfront Lodge
#3 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
166 reviews
4.4 mi away
Loumaile Lodge
Loumaile Lodge
#10 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Tonga
Scenic Hotel Tonga
#1 of 1 in Fua'amotu
188 reviews
4.3 mi away
Little Italy Hotel
Little Italy Hotel
#4 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
252 reviews
4.2 mi away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#2 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fafa Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fafa Island Resort

Address: Fafa Island, Tonga
Region: Tonga > Fafa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fafa Island
Price Range: £148 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fafa Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fafa Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fafa Island Hotel Fafa Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing