We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
French Garden Tourist Rest
Ranked #16 of 147 Anuradhapura B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed 4 nights at this hotel while on a promotional program in Anuradhapura. Around 10 of us stayed in 5 different rooms for 4 nights. Rooms were clean n tidy. So were the bathrooms, with hot water.

Me n a colleague stayed in room no 302 which was a bit small room which had a double bed. There is not enough space in the room to keep your goods. But they have additional space in hotel stores if you want to store your extra luggage. All rooms are air-conditioned and no complain on that.

Had breakfast (Sri Lankan style) from them 3 days, and the food was great! Their other food was also good.

The staff was very friendly and helpful and always tried to sort things out to avoid disappointments to the customers. Flexible. The Manager Mr Munasinghe is a very good person.

Charges for the rooms were reasonable comparing with the things you get back! Overall a good stay.. Felt homely :)

Negative points in my view -
They don't keep drinking water in the rooms. If you ask for you will be charged.
Even though book Bed & Breakfast your bed tea won't be included in it. You will be charged for that. Water for breakfast also will be charged. But for our stay I made them not to charge for those. In that way the Management was understanding and I am thankful for them :)

Room Tip: There are only 2 twin bed rooms for the entire hotel.. mention your need on booking to avoid trouble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kumudumalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

My wife and I were happy to have selected this place for our 2-night stay in Anuradhapura (I still cannot pronounce that). The manager is incredibly friendly and helpful, but also respects your privacy. He taught us several phrases in the local dialect while serving us meals. His English is very good, too. The food was always good. Laundry is available here for below standard prices (from what I experienced, anyway). The room was standard for a hostel, comfortable bed, AC available, mosquito net provided but not needed. Seemed like a pretty clean place, too. Pretty high on my list of lodgings during this trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveKeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

I've stayed only one night. The service was friendly, room clean, AC working. Only downside, it is not in the correct spot i google maps. It is further down the road near the police station and library.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank hurkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Perfectly okay for a night or two. The AC worked well, but we didn't need it. The bed was comfortable. There was not much noise although the hotel is very close to the main road. The shower was perfect: hot water and good pressure. Finally a nice shower in Sri Lanka ;)
The location is okay, but you have to walk 10 min along the main road to get to the "centre": shops, restaurants etc.
The Western breakfast is average (god, how I hate Western breakfasts in Sri Lanka!): some sausages, toasts, jam etc. If you share my feelings, order Sri Lankan breakfast in Advance! The guy in the reception is nice and helpful.
The hotel can hook you up with tuk tuk driver-guides. There are plenty of tuk tuk guides everywhere. Good luck ;)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrisKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed there only for one night so we cannot say a lot about this place. The room was nice and clean, with towels
provided. The staff was not very quickly as the breakfast time was delayed and we had to postpone our further plans.
However the food was tasty and the garden in which we were served the breakfast was also nice. Recommended for a short
stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mokry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for 2 nights. Friendly welcome, clean room with A/C and functional bathroom. Good food, quite expensive compared to local places but that is the case in all hotels. Very good bed! We were in room 305, very quiet. All in all would recommend this place if you stay in Anuradhapura!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank boulette870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed two nights in Anuradhapura. The place is nice, with decent breakfast (service little 'slow'), safe deposit and Ac. Not far from most of tourist spots. Good for couples/backacking with friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anuradhapura hotels
0.1 mi away
Rajarata Hotel
Rajarata Hotel
#3 of 15 in Anuradhapura
534 reviews
1.9 mi away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#2 of 15 in Anuradhapura
527 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lakeside Hotel at Nuwarawewa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
London Palace
London Palace
#9 of 147 in Anuradhapura
182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Little Paradise Tourist Guest House and Holiday Home Anuradhapura
0.7 mi away
Milano Tourist Rest
Milano Tourist Rest
#5 of 147 in Anuradhapura
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Garden Tourist Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Garden Tourist Rest

Address: 488/4 Maithreepala Senanayake Mawatha | near Town hall, Anuradhapura 50000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Anuradhapura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Anuradhapura
Price Range: £16 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — French Garden Tourist Rest 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Anuradhapura - The first ancient kingdom of Sri Lanka. We are here at Anuradhapura to make your stay comfortable and memorable. "French Garden Tourist Rest" is always considering with friendly manner to assist you to explore the ancient city and the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your French Garden Tourist Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing