We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel in the heart of Anuradhapura”
Review of Dulyana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dulyana
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Anuradhapura
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A good hotel in the heart of Anuradhapura”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed in this hotel for a night on transit - generally a good hotel with spacious room and good bathroom. Guest room well lighted. This is not a pricey hotel. Staff friendly and helpful. My room had 5 wall sockets to fit international power plugs - that was wonderful. Even 5 Star hotels often do not consider this small detail. No internet connectivity in the guest room, though. For internet connectivity one has to go to the hotel lobby on the third floor. The location of the hotel is good, it is in the heart of the city and seemed to be fully occupied. Had dinner and breakfast in the hotel restaurant - both good. The television channels in the room need modernization. I found only the BBC in the English language news. The window of my room on the fourth floor opened to a green area - very quiet and pleasing to see. There are mosquitoes in the hotel lobby area.

Room Tip: Fourth floor rooms seem to be ok, no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdebnath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    5
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
6
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We only stayed one night, arriving quite late and leaving after breakfast, so our experience was short, but good enough. Convenient and comfortable for visiting Anuradhapura's ancient city; large rooms, ok bathrooms, no frills. We were asked to place our breakfast request the night before, which was a bit odd, but the food was ok (we all opted for eggs, not the local breakfast).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjinsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed in this hotel one night on our way to Jaffna. Hotel is located in the heart of the city and very close to the sacred city. The hotel is situated on a top of a shopping centre and hence no garden, swimming pool or a walking path which made me to rate the hotel as average for a long stay.
But it has a beautiful view in the evenings with shining top of the 'Ruwanwelisaya Thupa', one of the ancient temples seen from distance under the moon light.

Apart from this great view, there are other positive factors which I liked in this hotel. One of them is the cleanliness of the room and the bathroom with all facilities. There is nothing to complain and in good quality. The other factor is the very good and tasty food which is served efficiently. The added value is the very friendly staff. They are always with big smiles.

The hotel is recommended for a short stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vidya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed here for one night during a four-day tour of northern Sri Lanka. It was by far the best hotel we stayed in during the trip!

Staff were extremely pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. The room was excellent with a great view of the town and everything a tourist needs! The bathroom was modern with a wonderful shower and plenty of hot water, a hair drier and spotlessly clean. The room itself was large had TV, an empty fridge, a kettle with tea and coffee sachets and a good air-conditioner. There were also two comfortable chairs, coffee table and a writing desk as well as the beds.

We stayed on a half-board basis. The food was exceptionally good, beautifully cooked and well-presented, with a choice of both Sri Lankan and Western menus. The restaurant is well-furnished and impressive. Both dinner and breakfast were enjoyable events.

There was free Wi-Fi in the reception area which was a bonus. The only thing missing was a bottle of water in our room!

This hotel is one I would go back to as it was of such a very high quality.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

It has all the facilities you need if your planning a stay for short period of time. Confortable rooms, clean bathrooms, satellite tv. Furthermore it is situated in the ideal location for pilgrims and tourists to visit sacred city. Service in overall was really good. Staff was really friendly and helpful. We had Sri Lankan food and the quality was satisfactory.
But the hotel lack certain conforts such as swimming pool, pool table and at-least a garden to walk around. Its more like a apartment in colombo. But I recommend this hotel for short stay, ideally for a overnight stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sithirarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Hotel Dulyana is an ideal location for an overnight stay in Anuradhapura. The rooms are comfortable and spaciou whilst the toilets are clean and well equipped. The rooms are air conditioned, consist of a mini bar and has a satellite TV connection. The breakfast buffet was great as well. Whilst the hotel does not have a swimming pool or sprawling gardens and is situate atop a shopping centre, it is definitely a comfortable rest for pilgrims as well as sight seeing tourists. Recomandable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rusiru A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anuradhapura hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Randiya
Hotel Randiya
#7 of 15 in Anuradhapura
80 reviews
1.8 mi away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#2 of 15 in Anuradhapura
473 reviews
2.0 mi away
Nilketha Villa Eco Hotel
Nilketha Villa Eco Hotel
#12 of 15 in Anuradhapura
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rajarata Hotel
Rajarata Hotel
#3 of 15 in Anuradhapura
460 reviews
2.0 mi away
Avasta Resort and Spa
Avasta Resort and Spa
#13 of 15 in Anuradhapura
139 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lakeside Hotel at Nuwarawewa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dulyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dulyana

Property: Dulyana
Address: 488/18 Maithreepala Senanayake Mawatha, Anuradhapura 50000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Anuradhapura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Anuradhapura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dulyana 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Email: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Dulyana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing