We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nilketha Villa Eco Hotel
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Anuradhapura
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Nilketha Villa is perfect for me and it was a star class with their very helpful manager & the friendly staff, but I have rating to stars because it may not be everyone's cup of tea. The small hotel located in the ancient city about walking distance to all the ancient places, (can hire a bicycle). The hotel is surrounded by paddy fields, even from the room you will have a view with herds of peacocks walking through the fields. There are some rooms not up to the standard, (had a look while the housekeeping guys were doing). Breezes from the paddy fields blow through the room, which is good because its very fresh. Meals are served in an open but roofed on the 1st floor & the food is spectacularly good fresh vegetables and fruits from the same area, even the fresh lake fish.
nice pool but did not have time to use. This is a good location to visit all the ancient places & swim a little in the pool or read for a while, nap, have a cup of tea or something stronger & eat fabulously.

Room Tip: request a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buddika j, Manager at Nilketha Villa Eco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you very much for the Revive.Be in Touch with us . We have special offers for who are willing to come back again. Take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

This hotel is a bit out of town in a green rural area close to the main sights. The food at the restaurant is very good and reasonable priced so there a little reason to go into town at night. The quality of the rooms varies. We got a good room when we booked through booking.com with a nice view, hot water, balcony, and mosquito nets. Air conditioning was present as well, but we did not need it in the "winter". There is very little noise from the street nearby. We got some noise from the kitchen from 6 a.m. on-wards. The hotel can arrange the renting of bikes, which is an excellent way to go around the archaeological sights of Anuradapura. The clientele were mainly pilgrims from Sri Lanka, when we were there. The atmosphere was very pleasant, but this is definitely not a party place. The management is very friendly and helpful. Alcohol is not always readily available. I suggest you order your cold beer in advance, when you are in to that after a whole day sight-seeing on your bike.

The hotel calls itself an eco hotel, but this is more at the level of good intentions from the new management rather than putting any environmental measures into practice.

Room Tip: If you arrive, I suggest to have a look to the room first, before you check in as there is a huge di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Haelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buddika j, Owner at Nilketha Villa Eco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for wonderful comments. It was nice have as our guest. We have started hiring bicycles for guest from March this year. We apologies if you were disturbed by noise in the kitchen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Very friendly staff, and one of the best rice and curry i have tested. The sri lankan breakfast is also very good. Nice swimming pool. The hotel is located near the main sites of Anuradhapura, and it is easy to visit it by bikes.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I spend two nights in Nilkethavilla hotel and was very pleased. The location is really great close to archaeological sites, you can even see the Jetavanarama Dagoba from hotel. Rooms have a/c with hot water and small balconies. Room rates are very reasonable, when you have also swimming pool and free wifi and breakfast is included.

My room was clean, hot water was available all the time and staff was nice. The management can also give you advice about sight seeings (how to dress) and they rent bicycles, which is handy. Food was good and plentiful and you can have your breakfast early and have all day for sight seeings and after that have some sun tanning or/and swimming.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank VeliKe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We are 3 girls and we spent 2 nights at Nilkethavila hotel. We really enjoyed ourselves there. The staff is really nice, kind and friendly. We definitely recommend this hotel. In top of that there is a great swimming pool (not so many hotels got one in Anuradhapura), which really nice especially when you come back from a day of visits around the great places of Anuradhapura.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Claire Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buddika j, Owner at Nilketha Villa Eco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

We happy hear that
you enjoy stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The hotel is situated close to the railway station and town. The Jetawanarama Dagoba could be seen from the hotel. It has a pleasant, peaceful atmosphere and is surrounded by fields of paddy with a gentle breeze ever present. The garden was beautiful well maintained and even had a swimming pool. There was even a honeymoon couple taking photographs in the garden.
We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The staff were always happy, courteous and always willing to help, but not obtrusive. From the moment we entered the hotel we were made to feel at home. Although it was before check-in time, our baggage was taken into our room and we were given a welcome drink
The room was quite spacious with a balcony, attached toilet with shower, fan and air-conditioner. All of which worked. Meals were offered, but as we were keen on seeing the sacred city and had only 1 day, we opted only for breakfast. Breakfast is offered from 06.30 hrs onwards. The breakfast was delicious and followed by a nice pot of tea.
The night was peaceful, as there were no mosquitoes, as we had the a/c on.
The next day we saw the rest of the sacred city and Mihintale. We returned to the hotel and although it was almost check-out time we were made welcome to use the swimming pool. This was very refreshing after a very hot and hectic one day

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Drahaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

From the moment you enter the Hotel, the focus is on your comfort and relaxation. Service is unobtrusive and constant attention to need is quietly maintained the views and gardens are spectacular and includes a swimming pool. The food was delicious and our requested 'Sri Lankan' dinner was to die for. Delicious with total attention to detail, explanation and service. Would love to have stayed longer. A total delight!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank MaggieDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buddika j, Owner at Nilketha Villa Eco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for very much for kind comments. we are glad you enjoy your time with us. Hope see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anuradhapura hotels
2.9 mi away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#2 of 16 in Anuradhapura
531 reviews
1.3 mi away
Flower Seven Hotel
Flower Seven Hotel
#13 of 16 in Anuradhapura
3 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rajarata Hotel
Rajarata Hotel
#8 of 16 in Anuradhapura
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Lakeside Hotel at Nuwarawewa
2.8 mi away
Hotel White House
Hotel White House
#10 of 16 in Anuradhapura
111 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
#5 of 16 in Anuradhapura
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nilketha Villa Eco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nilketha Villa Eco Hotel

Address: 139 Jethawanarama Road, Anuradhapura 50000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Anuradhapura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Anuradhapura
Price Range: £24 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nilketha Villa Eco Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated just outside the sacred ancient city of Anuradhapura. Surrounded by paddy fields and trees with lots of greenery around it. You see the Jethavanaya and Ruwanvailsaya (ancient Stupa) from the top rooms. There is a river flowing close (100m away) called the Malwathuoya. We are 5 min away from the city center by taxi. We try to make you relax from stressful world you live in and make you come close to nature. Our friendly and smiling staff is available 24 hrs for you. We have a restaurant open morning to late night. We have attractive menus at affordable prices. We have en-suite toilets for all the rooms and all rooms air conditioned on your request. Most rooms are very spacious. We have a lovely pool beside our garden. Our garden is peaceful and full of wild birds. Early morning stroll in the garden is highly recommended and taste kolakeda (herbal drink). We have a conference room with capacity for 100 people. Our hotel is a popular place to wed in Anuradhapura due to surrounding scenes and good food. We are 1 hour from Wilpaththu and Minariya National Parks; we can arrange safaris on advance request. We can arrange for you to hire bicycles to see around the ancient cities and tanks. Come and experience us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nilketha Villa Eco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing