We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nilketha Villa Eco Hotel
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Anuradhapura
The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Very quiet and nice hotel with their own vegetablegarden and nice but small pool.
The staff is very helpfunctie, especially Sine! He even helped us at nighttime, when we want to watch a soccergame (WK Brasil). He served mangojuice and Bananas. What a service!
The rooms are basic, but allright.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buddika j, Manager at Nilketha Villa Eco Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
thank you for review madam,thank you for your comment on our staff member Sene .He is one of our best staff.It is pleasure to serve you with this helpful staff.Come again soon ! take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    35
    23
    16
    8
See reviews for
39
35
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Nilketha for two nights in July. We were collected exhausted from Colombo airport by the friendly manager Sena & driver after 24 hours of flights and airports from Cape Town. Spent two nights at Nilketha during which time we explored Mihintales and the ancient city of Aunradhapura. The hotel was comfortable, aircon in rooms, mattresses good and fastish wifi. We enjoyed the food and the staff were friendly and tried hard, organizing tuk tuk transport and special birthday breakfast for my daughter. All in all a good reasonably priced hotel from which to explore the sights.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayantha J, Owner at Nilketha Villa Eco Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thanks for you comment Welcome back. Jayantha J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matara, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed last weekend in Niketha Villa hotel It was a nice stay with good restaurant. Very friendly staff and service is excellent. Hotel is located near to the Annapurna ancient city. It has nice view, reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KGNNisansala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buddika j, Manager at Nilketha Villa Eco Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
thank you for review madam,Thank you for commenting on our restaurant.Thank you for stating our location, View from the balcony which many visitors liked our hotel.Thank you very much again. Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Nilketha Villa is perfect for me and it was a star class with their very helpful manager & the friendly staff, but I have rating to stars because it may not be everyone's cup of tea. The small hotel located in the ancient city about walking distance to all the ancient places, (can hire a bicycle). The hotel is surrounded by paddy fields, even from the room you will have a view with herds of peacocks walking through the fields. There are some rooms not up to the standard, (had a look while the housekeeping guys were doing). Breezes from the paddy fields blow through the room, which is good because its very fresh. Meals are served in an open but roofed on the 1st floor & the food is spectacularly good fresh vegetables and fruits from the same area, even the fresh lake fish.
nice pool but did not have time to use. This is a good location to visit all the ancient places & swim a little in the pool or read for a while, nap, have a cup of tea or something stronger & eat fabulously.

Room Tip: request a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buddika j, Manager at Nilketha Villa Eco Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you very much for the Revive.Be in Touch with us . We have special offers for who are willing to come back again. Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This hotel is a bit out of town in a green rural area close to the main sights. The food at the restaurant is very good and reasonable priced so there a little reason to go into town at night. The quality of the rooms varies. We got a good room when we booked through booking.com with a nice view, hot water, balcony, and mosquito nets. Air conditioning was present as well, but we did not need it in the "winter". There is very little noise from the street nearby. We got some noise from the kitchen from 6 a.m. on-wards. The hotel can arrange the renting of bikes, which is an excellent way to go around the archaeological sights of Anuradapura. The clientele were mainly pilgrims from Sri Lanka, when we were there. The atmosphere was very pleasant, but this is definitely not a party place. The management is very friendly and helpful. Alcohol is not always readily available. I suggest you order your cold beer in advance, when you are in to that after a whole day sight-seeing on your bike.

The hotel calls itself an eco hotel, but this is more at the level of good intentions from the new management rather than putting any environmental measures into practice.

Room Tip: If you arrive, I suggest to have a look to the room first, before you check in as there is a huge di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buddika j, Owner at Nilketha Villa Eco Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for wonderful comments. It was nice have as our guest. We have started hiring bicycles for guest from March this year. We apologies if you were disturbed by noise in the kitchen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Very friendly staff, and one of the best rice and curry i have tested. The sri lankan breakfast is also very good. Nice swimming pool. The hotel is located near the main sites of Anuradhapura, and it is easy to visit it by bikes.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I spend two nights in Nilkethavilla hotel and was very pleased. The location is really great close to archaeological sites, you can even see the Jetavanarama Dagoba from hotel. Rooms have a/c with hot water and small balconies. Room rates are very reasonable, when you have also swimming pool and free wifi and breakfast is included.

My room was clean, hot water was available all the time and staff was nice. The management can also give you advice about sight seeings (how to dress) and they rent bicycles, which is handy. Food was good and plentiful and you can have your breakfast early and have all day for sight seeings and after that have some sun tanning or/and swimming.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tuomo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anuradhapura hotels
2.9 mi away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#2 of 15 in Anuradhapura
481 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rajarata Hotel
Rajarata Hotel
#3 of 15 in Anuradhapura
478 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Randiya
Hotel Randiya
#7 of 15 in Anuradhapura
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Avasta Resort & Spa
Avasta Resort & Spa
#13 of 15 in Anuradhapura
141 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Lakeside Hotel at Nuwarawewa
2.8 mi away
Hotel White House
Hotel White House
#9 of 15 in Anuradhapura
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nilketha Villa Eco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nilketha Villa Eco Hotel

Property: Nilketha Villa Eco Hotel
Address: 139 Jethawanarama Road, Anuradhapura 50000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Anuradhapura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Anuradhapura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nilketha Villa Eco Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated just outside the sacred ancient city of Anuradhapura. Surrounded by paddy fields and trees with lots of greenery around it. You see the Jethavanaya and Ruwanvailsaya (ancient Stupa) from the top rooms. There is a river flowing close (100m away) called the Malwathuoya. We are 5 min away from the city center by taxi. We try to make you relax from stressful world you live in and make you come close to nature. Our friendly and smiling staff is available 24 hrs for you. We have a restaurant open morning to late night. We have attractive menus at affordable prices. We have en-suite toilets for all the rooms and all rooms air conditioned on your request. Most rooms are very spacious. We have a lovely pool beside our garden. Our garden is peaceful and full of wild birds. Early morning stroll in the garden is highly recommended and taste kolakeda (herbal drink). We have a conference room with capacity for 100 people. Our hotel is a popular place to wed in Anuradhapura due to surrounding scenes and good food. We are 1 hour from Wilpaththu and Minariya National Parks; we can arrange safaris on advance request. We can arrange for you to hire bicycles to see around the ancient cities and tanks. Come and experience us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Nilketha Villa Eco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing