We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best accomodation with the friendly and generous staff.”
Review of Grand Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Crown Hotel
Ranked #46 of 145 Anuradhapura B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This really an ideal accommodation to stay if you are going to have your vacation in Anuradhapura, Sri Lanka. The room is clean and comfortable, which is an ideal places for you to having a good rest. All the staffs in this hotel were helpful and generous, they always done their best to fulfill guest's requests. Therefore, do not hesitate to ask them for help because they are extremely helpful. Lastly, the entire environment in the hotel is giving guests the feeling of enclosure and intimacy which you can discover pieces of art in each of the corner of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elyn05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for Grand Crown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

The stay in this hotel was our first upon arriving at Sri Lanka and after 4 hours of bus journey. The manager kindly welcomed us with fruit juice and showed us to our rooms. Rooms are clean and comfy, and they serve traditional Sri Lankan food like rice cakes and string hoppers for breakfast which tasted great!

We didn't get a chance to explore what's around the hotel since we arrived late and had to leave early, but along the way from our bus there are shops and restaurants next to the road.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiamay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Nice garden with indoor and outdoor eating area. Simple, but clean room (could use an extra plug or two for charging your devices). 15 min walk/3 min tuc tuc drive to town centre (Limited shopping if you have left most of your clothes in an other country ...., but New Fashion Corner between the hotel and town is worth a try). Grand Crown Hotel offers friendly service, both when it comes to catering to food preferences and helping to arrange tours. Remember to ask for Pala, the tuc tuc driver who with great enthusiasm shows you around Anuradhapura or takes you to places further afield (Mihintale, Sigiriya ...).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astrid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanthi-Hotel, Manager at Grand Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Sir / Madam,
Thank you very much for your excellent feed back which boost our moral high.
We are very much delighted of your comment because it was a mirror of your stay with us.

Thanks again and we hope your next time visit definitely will be with us.

Wish you all the best!
Samantha Mallawarachchi
Manager of Tourism.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The location of the hotel is very convenient. The rooms are big and comfortable. Ask for the upper rooms and check them before accepting as some of them are located near the restaurant and they might be loud, I suppose. The staff extremely helpful - helped us a lot with the transportation. But the best part of the hotel is food - it was the best in Sri Lanka. We loved everything we ate there. Even if you don't stay in Grand Crown Hotel you should definitely visit its restaurant. In general it was the best hotel we had during our holiday in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanthi-Hotel, Manager at Grand Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Sir / Madam,
Thank you very much for your excellent feed back which boost our moral high.
We are very much delighted of your comment because it was a mirror of your stay with us.

Thanks again and we hope your next time visit definitely will be with us.

Wish you all the best!
Samantha Mallawarachchi
Manager of Tourism.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This was really excellent place to stay. Probably best hotel we visited on Sri Lanka. For that price you get clean comfortable room, which is big enough, with good bathroom. But what was very suprising in good point of view, was staff, i mean manager. It was absolutely excellent how he dealt with his guests. When I asked about adapter, he went to the city and bought one. He offered us several times fruit drink free of charge. I was with my girlfriend and he prepared suprise for us - dinner on the roof with excellent views. In the end of our stay, he took us to the bus station free of charge. Food was also very good, of course not so cheap, but really very good and it was pleny of it. Also excellent breakfast.
Only "bad" thing was, that hotel manager hired tuk tuk driver for us, but we was unable to hangle good price for drive to ruins and Mihintale. We payed 5000 for one and half day for 2 persons., which was absolutely overpriced, but ít was first day of our arrival to SL, so we were unexperienced about prices of tuk tuk drivers. After that, we found, that real price should be much more lower, but we were managed to hangle good prices on our later trips, anyway mostly we did trips by bus (even Sigyria, Elephant orphange, etc.). But this was not fault of hotel manager, it was my fault, that I didnt negotiate harder and that I wasnt aware of average prices.
In overall - I can only reccomend this hotel.

So - I can only reccomend this hotel. it is really good place to stay in all ways, i cant tell anything negative about this place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ondřej H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanthi-Hotel, Manager at Grand Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Sir,

First of all thank you very much for your honest feed back. you have shown your comfortable stay was prefect and fruitful one with us. we are very happy to hear about that.

Here by we would like to highlight an important thing regarding your visit in Anuradhapura & Mihintale. before the arranging Tuk Tuk we have given you options to select best to visit cheep way in Anuradhapura city. 1.by bicycle or by Tuk Tuk (visit in Anuradhapura) 2. by bus or by TukTuk (visit in Mihinthale) finally you agreed to go by Tuk Tuk. So for your request we ask a Taxi to come and we allowed you to discuss with him the price as you expect.finally you have came to a price and then you choose to go by Tuk Tuk. After the end of whole tour you have paid to the taxi man the price which you had agreed before the tour and confirm us every thing was finished perfectly as you wish.

But once your comment published in TripAdvisor we saw that you had worried about the payment which you had already paid to the taxi.by seen this feed back we are so worried the inconvenience which you had faced.If you tell us very early or before check out from the hotel we would have take that issue and do some justification for you.not because any thing but to make you happy and satisfied. as you know by arranging taxi we DOES NOT take any commissions or charge either from you or from the taxi. this is one of our free service.but if that service make you unhappy we are proud to say that we will stand by for you any time.but unfortunately it was not happen and missed.we are very sorry about it and highly worried.

With the intention of giving best service from the hotel I have put my effort as you wish but it was ?. But Any way as a hotel manager I try my level best to keep your stay comfortable and pleasant one.I hope I have done it. if not I am highly apologize for the inconvenience which you were faced.

Any way you made a good point of view about our service and that was great encouragement for us.

So sir, thanks again and we are hopefully waiting to see you NEXT TIME at Anuradhapura and I will ensure on your next visit we will arrange all the tour in Anuradhapura , Mihinthale and Wilpaththu National park totally free from our hotel.

Thanks & Best Regards!

Samantha Mallawarachchi
Manager of Tourism
Grand Crown Hotel ( Formally Shanthi Hotel)
Anuradhapura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Im right here in the hotel now, on a trip to Anuradhapura on the Sinhala new year day. Everything was fine and up to the expectations had when I was reading the hotel reviews.
Room is clean and comfortable, has all the facilities even a 3star class offers. AC, hot water, tv, mini fridge, comfy bed.
Food was okay, we got them to make it without msg.
Overall great value for money!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Chamara_MLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanthi-Hotel, Manager at Grand Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Sir,
We are very happy and highly appreciate about your honest feed back which you have made to our hotel.we are very much happy that you have spent a wonderful stay with us. your great comment shows that your stay was a pleasant one as far as our hospitality and service concern.

Your comment encourage us to uplift our service more and it was a remarkable massage to incoming guests as well.

Thank you again and wishing you to make your next visit and stay in Anuradhapura with us.

Best Regards,
Samantha Mallawarachchi
Manager of Tourism
Grand Crown Hotel
Anuradhapura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I very much enjoyed my stay at Grand Crown Hotel. It´s a beautiful, cosy and clean Hotel with very good kitchen and very good standard of rooms. The price for the rooms is pretty low for what you get. The service was perfect and the staff super friendly, helpful and warm.

The Hotel ist in a more quite part of the town, near enough to the new town´s center. You can rent a bike at the Hotel to easily reach and expore the Temple city!

absolutely recommended! Thanks for the hospitality and see you soon,
Nikolaus

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikolaus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanthi-Hotel, Manager at Grand Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your valuable comment on our service. your satisfaction make us happy and we are proud of our service.
We are hopefully waiting for your next visit in Anuradhapura and wish to see you in our Hotel.
Thanks again and see you soon.
Samantha Mallawarachchi
Manager of Tourism
Grand Crown Hotel
Anuradhapura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anuradhapura hotels
2.4 mi away
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
#6 of 15 in Anuradhapura
190 reviews
2.5 mi away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#2 of 15 in Anuradhapura
514 reviews
0.9 mi away
French Garden Tourist Rest
French Garden Tourist Rest
#18 of 145 in Anuradhapura
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Village Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast
Village Garden Inn Bed & Breakfa...
#28 of 145 in Anuradhapura
70 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Heladiv
Hotel Heladiv
#4 of 145 in Anuradhapura
187 reviews
1.4 mi away
London Palace
London Palace
#11 of 145 in Anuradhapura
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Crown Hotel

Address: 55 Milagas Junction | 55, Milagas Junction, Anuradhapura 50000, Sri Lanka (Formerly Shanthi Hotel Anuradhapura)
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Anuradhapura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Anuradhapura
Price Range: £24 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shanthi was established in 1971 as the first tourist guest house in Anuradhapura district.(RE- NAME AS "GRAND CROWN HOTEL") Sri Lanka tourist board has recognized as an "A" Grade venue & ranked as the best in hospitality by many of the guests. Hotel located at a calm & green place in the city of Anuradhapura town to serve the ultimate relaxation & easier access to all sacred places.Special An Announcement for all global travelers around the world. In TripAdvisor our new name will be DISPLAY AS GRAND CROWN HOTEL INSTEAD OF Shanthi Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Grand Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing