We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New but by far the best in Anuradhapura”
Review of Rajarata Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rajarata Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Anuradhapura
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“New but by far the best in Anuradhapura”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My stay at this hotel was only two nights but would have loved to stay longer.
The hotel is exquisitely renovated and every thing looks new and fresh ,although seem fresh the staff is well trained and very hospitable .Last but none the least ,food is delicious with a continental taste and of cause the cocktails were perfect .There were small mishaps and shortcomings but what more can u expect from a freshly opened place .Hope they will improve with time .I would definitely recommend to any one who visit Anuradhapura .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rasitha w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajarata H, Marketing Executive at Rajarata Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Guest,

I take this opportunity to say “ Thank You” for an excellent review.

We are pleased to hear that, we lived up to your desired expectations and you walked away with pleasant memories of your holiday in Anuradhapura.
Whilst humbly accepting your compliments, we would like to thank you for the constructive feedback given, which in turn will immensely assist us to improve the guest experience in the future.
We would look forward to well come you back to Rajarata in the near future.

Sachini Ranasinghe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    189
    107
    28
    20
See reviews for
239
135
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed at one night in this hotel. Hotel looks nice but staff is non friendly. Our room is lack of dustbins and cloth hangers. One cable is came out and not fixed. Food is bad. dinner is worse and not much selection. BF is said buffet but it is part buffet and part served to table. Bit better than the dinner. Hotel is over price. Leslie From Colombo Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chami S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajarata H, Marketing Executive at Rajarata Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comment on Trip advisor,

We are saddened to read your review in the view that, your stay with us was not to your desired expectation. We have taken your feedback very positively to see, how we could improve on the areas mentioned. Please be assured that, we will definitely work towards the areas that needs attention so that, we could live up to the expectations of our guests.

We express our gratitude for the review & we would love to serve you on your future visits to Rajarata Hotel.


Sachini Ranasinghe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I stayed there for 2 nights. The hotel looks really nice and has been recently opened. There are not all rooms available since the other rooms are still under constructions. In my room, there were still some parts missing (fridge) and some cable came out of the wall (probable for a phone). Therefore a bit overprices. However, when this hotel is completely finished I'm sure it will be a great hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajarata H, Marketing Executive at Rajarata Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are saddened to read that, your desired expectations were not met by us during your stay with us . We have taken your constructive feedback with the intension of, improving on the areas mentioned.

We would love to serve you on your future visits to Rajarata.

Sachini Ranasinghe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This new hotel faces the Nuwara weva and centrally located therefore stands out among the old hotels around that area. I went with two friends and found the food to be of good taste. Staff was new but were trained well. This place will give you value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms above the main entrance will have give you a view of the lake and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank balapas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajarata H, Marketing Executive at Rajarata Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Let me say “ Thank You” for your review.

We were delighted to read your review and very pleased to noted that your experience with us was an exceptional one. Guest reviews of this nature will definitely motivate & help the team to achieve higher standards, which will in turn enhance the guest experience.

Once again we thank you for the opportunity given to us to serve you and would love to welcome you back to Rajarata in the near future.

Sachini Ranasinghe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The hotel was brand new when we stayed there and the attention to detail along with the welcoming spirit was fabulous. The hotel is ideally situated and is aesthetically pleasing. We could imagine that once the textiles/fabrics are installed the place will be stunning, Chris Berenger, the hotel manager, is the consummate professional -- gracious, considerate and attentive.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
9 Thank AbundantTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajarata H, Marketing Executive at Rajarata Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your valuable time to complete the review on TripAdvisor,

We were delighted to read that you were satisfied with the services and facilities offered at the Hotel and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for selecting us for your stay in Anuradhapura.

Once again we thank you for your review and we look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to Rajarata in the near future.

Sachini Ranasinghe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anuradhapura hotels
1.8 mi away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#2 of 15 in Anuradhapura
497 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Lakeside Hotel at Nuwarawewa
2.0 mi away
Avasta Resort & Spa
Avasta Resort & Spa
#13 of 15 in Anuradhapura
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
#6 of 15 in Anuradhapura
187 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel White House
Hotel White House
#10 of 15 in Anuradhapura
99 reviews
4.1 mi away
Palm Garden Village Hotel
Palm Garden Village Hotel
#5 of 15 in Anuradhapura
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rajarata Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rajarata Hotel

Property: Rajarata Hotel
Address: Rowing Club Road, Anuradhapura 50000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Anuradhapura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Anuradhapura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rajarata Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Sri Lanka's cultural triangle and within close proximity to the fabled Nuwara Wewa Lake, Rajarata Hotel boasts of history and elegance. In addition to offering modern comforts, the hotel has a rich history that dates back to the 1970s. It's prime location in the midst of the ancient kingdom of Anuradhapura and surrounded by famous irrigation tanks and religious sites, makes it an ideal getaway all year-round. Our staff are specially trained to ensure all your requirements are met during your stay. We also care about our environment and have adopted eco-friendly policies that promote the use of resources in a sustainable and efficient manner. Moreover, we believe in giving back to the communities we operate in by sourcing produce from local farmers, and providing training and employment to those living in and around the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rajarata Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing