We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly there”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Anuradhapura
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Forest Rock Garden Resort
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Anuradhapura
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
431 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Nearly there”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Arrived to a barrier down and our driver asked too many questions before we were allowed in. Then the silence ... A lovely long driveway to our drop off point which was a little confusing as to what to do neck.. A decent walk up lots of stairs through what looked like ancient ruins. A bit like Raiders of the lost arc..to an open building with a large stone relic settee where we were asked to sit...no hotel in sight at all . Forms filled and escorted to our room ,we'll say suite as very large ,up in the tree canopy on stilts as was the walkway to get there ...still hadn't seen anything that looked remotely like the "hub" but did pass by the large swimming pool on the way. Our room was great but a few things will have to happen before the "amazing and magnificent" accolades. Technical issues meant no internet and most of the time no phone (they provided a mobile in case of emergency). Simple things....no information available anywhere telling us the history of the place.no prices for the minibar , only one key per room , TV only 1 English Channel . Afternoon tea was great but would have been better if it had all arrived together.. But pool great and needed as hot
.. Dinner and breakfast were excellent but waiters need to speak up , we couldn't hear them.
Not much to do to make for an incredible experience

Room Tip: Get one near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    78
    26
    9
    4
See reviews for
71
155
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I have been traveling all around the world but first met such an environment with peacefull glamorous hotel. Staff is very friendly and helpfull, the most I attracted by the environment theme music it's help us to relax ur mined physically and mentally feel like we are in heaven, such a great choice and we really enjoyed our stay, excellence Vegetarian food comfortable rooms with amenities.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaxctl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Location 9/10
Architecture/design 10/10
Room 9/10
Bed 8/10
Bathroom 7/10
TV 6/10 (if you don't speak Sinhalese)
Wifi 9/10
Staff 10/10 (Asian hospitality at its best!)
Dinner 6/10 (A pity food is not up to standard! We were really looking forward to the whole Sri Lankan vega experience! The Lipton bag tea at the arrival was actually a tell-tale sign...)
Breakfast 6/10
Swimming pool 10/10 (like swimming in the twin ponds in Anuradhapura!)
Hotel website not working! Not easy to book!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fujike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The hotel is very nice and so is the staff. Except for the managing director who needs to keep an open mind to suggestions when guests voice their opinions. The management needs to realize that they should not insult the local religion by putting Buddhist chanting in different formats as piped music while serving alcohol. I hope they change this attitude.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank SDs123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband and I spent our first 3 nights in Sri Lanka in this magical place. The architecture and design are breathtaking and every single detail is well thought to provide a unique experience. It is such a big place that makes you feel alone and gives you the feeling of being in a retreat. Tension, worries, anxiety all disappear as soon as you walk in. The peaceful music played everywhere adds to this amazing atmosphere. The staff is just incredible and kind. By far this will remain our most beautiful stay in Sri Lanka. It hard if not impossible to compete with such a place. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to spend 4 days in complete serenity and peace.

Malika-France

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbeww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

my only regret is that i stayed here for one night. the facility is only 5 months old, spread across 50 acres and is in the middle of a jungle. getting up in the morning amongst nature was truly incredible. the room, pool, dining area & meditation center were amazing. though the walk to meditation center was long, but enjoyed every minute of it. you can have the pleasure of doing some bird watching. the entire facility is built on stilts (not wooden) and so are the pathways connecting the various rooms or other areas of the propert. since this is in the middle of jungle there is no fencing done to isolate the property; however everything is built on a height for wildlife to roam freely below and us on top. Shehan (i hope i got the name right), the facility manager ensured we had a wonderful & comfortable stay. a very pleasing and a calm personality. Dhanushkar, our dining area manager, made sure that our bellies are amply stuffed and we get a taste of authentic vegetarian lankan cuisine during dinner as well as breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aarohiLath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I have been in many hotels all over the world, but this is really exceptional, not seen anything similar like that. When visiting the pagodas araound there I realized that is the rebuild of the old palace. So that is the great thing there its design, and also the spread araound villas, connected by gangways in the sky, some 3-5 m above the earth.
This is a must if you are visiting Lanka.ok not cheap, but an experience.
dinner and breakfast is vegetarian, but you dont realize, as it is a lot of varity and really good taste.

its new, so staff is trained well but need some more experience.
wifi weak signal, should be improved, at pool there is telephone missing to call restaurant, myabe the "forest winery would need at least a small selection of wine and not only 1.
oh and its nature and even in theroom some mosquitos, so the net at the windows should be repaired.

Room Tip: any, but do it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anuradhapura hotels
7.3 mi away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#2 of 15 in Anuradhapura
495 reviews
8.9 mi away
Rajarata Hotel
Rajarata Hotel
#3 of 15 in Anuradhapura
492 reviews
4.8 mi away
Palm Garden Village Hotel
Palm Garden Village Hotel
#5 of 15 in Anuradhapura
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
#6 of 15 in Anuradhapura
187 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Lakeside Hotel at Nuwarawewa
10.3 mi away
Avasta Resort & Spa
Avasta Resort & Spa
#13 of 15 in Anuradhapura
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Rock Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Rock Garden Resort

Property: Forest Rock Garden Resort
Address: | Grama Niladhari Division: No 341, Andarawewa, Anuradhapura 50000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Anuradhapura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Anuradhapura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LUXURY BOUTIQUE HOTEL in Andarawewa, Anuradhapura. On elevated platform. The hotel is built similar to an ancient city, it is extend on a 50 acre land .Unique feature of the hotel is that it comprises 25 in total six ultra luxury rooms with a individual pool, kitchen and a large sitting area.These rooms have modern security systems which includes cameras to monitor the entrance. Forest Rock Garden hotel is the living masterpiece gives its guests the once in a life time experience to go back into the golden days of the Anuradhapura Kingdom in this 21st century with utmost luxury and great sense of royalty, serenity and peace ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing