We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated hotel, might be updated now though”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lakeside Hotel at Nuwarawewa
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Anuradhapura
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dated hotel, might be updated now though”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here for couple of nights, the hotel might have been a great place a long time ago. But when we stayed here, it was a really dated hotel. The staff here is very friendly and try to do everything for the guests. But the hotel did need some updating. The rooms looked like it hasnt been updated at all for the past few decades. Overall, its a good less expensive hotel. Although, this hotel might have been renovated now.

This was back in December 2012.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wscooby77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    79
    46
    25
    13
See reviews for
47
61
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
XXX
Level Contributor
114 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We checked a few Hotels and the pool area convinced us to stay for one night. We needed to rest during the heat of the day 36 Celsius. Room was so so, but pool was fine. Hotel staff very helpful and fiendly. Dinner outside was nice, Food OK. Breakfast below average.
You need to get a room with a mosquito net !!!!!

Room Tip: Room with a mosquito net and lots of Repellent for outside dinning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoachimG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I was a little apprehensive when one of colleagues (who had reserved rooms at this hotel) told me that this was a very old property, newly refurbished but all my worries were quelled when I had one look at the property.

The rest house is located overseeing a lake and has a wonderful ambiance. The lobby was also very simple and well done up. The service was courteous and the place very charming.

The rooms are located on 1st and 2nd floors, and there is no lift/elevator. The rooms are very big and spacious, and since we went on a weekday, the occupancy was low and we were given the lakeside view room. The bathrooms are neat and stock some Ayurvedic bath products, which are not to be taken home, just to be used there (they clearly mention that).

The food at the restaurant, though had an extensive printed menu, has only certain items available.
I would suggest ordering from the rooms and to come down for the meal only when the food is ready, because the preparation takes very long. Nonetheless, the quantity is sumptuous and the food is tasty and reasonable priced. The breakfast, however, is only a fixed menu (not a buffet).

Overall, this place has a charm about it and I would highly recommend this to business travelers, to have some pleasure on an otherwise hectic trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vdivvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

we really enjoyed the stay at this hotel, the food is delicious and the staff is also very friendly and supportive. Nice place to stay!! I should mention that this place is close proximate to the scared city and very convenient for people travelling to Anuradhapura.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lahiru W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We checked in at Lakeside and was received by very friendly and caringly at the reception. Splendid meals and our hats off to the staff.
Keep it up We really enjoyed a very relaxing time at Lakeside. this lovely is very close to the sacred city which was very convenient for us

Room Tip: The Pool side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonali J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Negombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel on 22nd/23rd February 2014 with my wife.Nice Hotel in Anuradhapura.Good Service.Friendly staff.If you are going to visit anuradhapura this is an ideal place to stay.All Atamasthana & sight seeing places are near by.Good tasty food.I recommend this hotel if you are staying in anuradhapura.Its good value for money place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PubuduA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel has been completely renovated. Now known as The Lakeside at Nuwarawewa. Stayed there once several years ago and it was just ok. But this time it is a memorable stay. Very tasty food in the restaurant. Beautiful staff at the reception, concierge and also at the restaurant. Can't wait to stay there again

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpareAnimalsGoVegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anuradhapura hotels
1.1 mi away
Rajarata Hotel
Rajarata Hotel
#2 of 14 in Anuradhapura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
2.6 mi away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#3 of 14 in Anuradhapura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
#6 of 14 in Anuradhapura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Avasta Resort and Spa
Avasta Resort and Spa
#13 of 14 in Anuradhapura
3.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nilketha Villa Eco Hotel
Nilketha Villa Eco Hotel
#12 of 14 in Anuradhapura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Randiya
Hotel Randiya
#7 of 14 in Anuradhapura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lakeside Hotel at Nuwarawewa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakeside Hotel at Nuwarawewa

Property: The Lakeside Hotel at Nuwarawewa
Address: Dharmapala Mawatha, New Town | Near the old bus stand, Anuradhapura, Sri Lanka (Formerly Nuwarawewa Rest House)
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Anuradhapura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Anuradhapura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lakeside Hotel at Nuwarawewa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lakeside Hotel at Nuwarawewa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nuwarawewa Rest House Hotel Anuradhapura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing