We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Renovated and new” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sanctuary At Tissawewa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Anuradhapura
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Renovated and new”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Stayed with my family and friends for two nights. Good large rooms with nice bathrooms. The fittings are new and working. The new manager a pleasant person who took time to talk with guests. No alcohol as it is within the religious zone. Excellent staff friendly. Booked rooms 6 and 7. Sleep quality is poor as you can hear people walking upstairs. The rooms are close to the wooden stairs and to the dinning hall. You will wake up early morning to the sounds of cutlery being sorted out.

Room Tip: Do not book the rooms 6 and 7. You will be disturbed constantly till late night and early morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    56
    26
    16
    19
See reviews for
40
88
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Tissawewa has always been an exceptional property - the building, the grounds, the location. For years though its been neglected and a little rough around the edges so I was pleasantly surprised to find it thoroughly and thoughtfully restored on my last visit. The ancient mahogany floors and fittings have been burnished, the bathrooms are virtually 5 star and the food has been given a much needed overhaul.The property, finally, seems to be heading in a promising direction and with its unbeatable setting - is once again the best place to stay in Anuradhapura.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms on the second floor by the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

This was our first visit after the renovation and was looking forward to a comfortable stay , since we have been there before the renovations & it was horrible - particularly the inefficient staff & horrible food. We were informed by Quickshaws that the place was renovated & was a 'boutique' level hotel now! The staff efficiency seem to have improved but not the food. We were given a room which was renovated but it did not have a toilet table nor a mirrior , no closet to hang clothes - not even clothes hangers; No table only a small stool with one chair. The bathroom --- water was leaking from under the toilet seat & the toilet seat was shaking ; the hot and cold water shower was not working properly & there was no door or shower curtain for the shower cubicle and the water splashes all over the bathroom when you take a shower.
At night we had no sleep with mosqitoes. On complaining the following day we were given another room which was far better than the one we were on the first night - had a toilet table mirror , and a clothes rack & we were given mosquito repellents - but had the same problems with the bathroom.
We only had breakfast ( since we knew that the food was not good) - requested for western Breakfast which they said consisted of eggs , bacon , sausages etc. but when it was served - it was only the egg ; on inquiring they said they will bring the rest if we want !!!
It is a pity that this Company has neglected such a beautiful property built in the colonial style with a beautiful verandah and it is situated in a very good location , convenient to visit all the major attractions. The only plus factor for this hotel is its location ; otherwise would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GPJ1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devan D, General Manager at The Sanctuary At Tissawewa, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your constructive crticism. We will certainly take on board the shortcomings you've taken the trouble to share with us. Please do keep in mind the property has gone through a major refurbishment, after many years, and we are still in soft-opening mode. Where such teething problems are in the process of being resolved- in the shortest possible time.

In view of your detailed feedback please contact the GM at Nuwarawewa at 025 222 1414, he will be happy to respond to your complaint directly. We value this heritgage property immensely and are making every effort to make sure that on your next visit it will exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Anuradhapura hotels

Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

I went this place at 12 May 2013 13.30pm for lunch and they came with food at 14.50pm.
Worst hotel experience ever... They took more than one hour to serve lunch and food is so bad. My advise is don't go there to waste your money.

If anyone need to get any information about this call me on 0777 042045

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nirmalfernando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

This well located, former British Governor's house is an architectural delight set in beautiful gardens. The staff are friendly and efficient. A major renovation is happening soon and then our experiences of non-flushing toilets and a leaking roof will be part of its history which is best left behind. Recommend hoppers for breakfast.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a modernised room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nesta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
367 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We had 2 downstairs rooms & whilst some features were a bit dated overall they were very comfortable & atmospheric. I understand they are soon to close for a major update.
As the British Governors house it has extensive gardens away from everything else. Watch the monkeys as they steal anything left unattended.
Our A/C, fan & mosquito nets were excellent as was our hot water. The beds were comfortable so we have nothing to complain about.
The staff were also very good, especially the waiters who offered suggestions & were generally interested in chatting. All of the food was simple but very good.
Pre dinner drinks on the veranda made one feel relaxed in the style of yesteryear.
A very pleasant 2 days, we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: It would appear that the downstairs rooms have been renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ealing, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel in 1992 and enjoyed our stay very much. Returning to Anuradhapura for the first time since that visit, we chose the Resthouse partly for sentimental reasons.
We were quite prepared to move on after one night if it was disappointing.

However,nothing could be further from the truth,and we ended up staying longer than originally planned.

The room we had (downstairs) was large with a high ceiling and 2 four-poster beds. Also very efficient A/C and ceiling fan to keep the room cool.
The beds were comfortable and complete with mosquito nets.
Large bathroom - very clean and good hot shower over the bath.
The room opened onto the beautiful verandah with a view of the large gardens,which have monkeys,peacocks and several other birds roaming around. A great place to sit and chill.

The restaurant serves nice breakfasts with fruit,eggs e.g Sri Lankan omelette (highly recommended),toast,butter,jam and tea or coffee.

In the evening they do really good rice and curry, and Western food is also available.
We had curd and treacle for dessert most nights which was wonderful.
Unfortunately they do not serve alcohol due to the proximity to several sacred sites.
Soft drinks and pots of tea etc. can be ordered and drank on the verandah almost any time, and everything is always served with a smile .

All the staff from the manager to the room boys were very pleasant and helpful. The waiters speak excellent English and probably 2 or 3 other European languages !

The nights were very peaceful and it was no problem getting a good night's sleep.
The location is very convenient for several major sites including the Sri Maha Bodhi. The staff will call a tuk-tuk for you if you do not feel like walking, or you can easily find one by walking to the end of the drive, to the main road.

The rate is quite expensive ($97 inc.breakfast) but on the whole,fairly good value I think.
I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a downstairs room facing the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anuradhapura hotels
1.6 mi away
Rajarata Hotel
Rajarata Hotel
#2 of 14 in Anuradhapura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
1.3 mi away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#3 of 14 in Anuradhapura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Lakeside Hotel at Nuwarawewa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Avasta Resort and Spa
Avasta Resort and Spa
#13 of 14 in Anuradhapura
3.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nilketha Villa Eco Hotel
Nilketha Villa Eco Hotel
#11 of 14 in Anuradhapura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
3.6 mi away
Palm Garden Village Hotel
Palm Garden Village Hotel
#4 of 14 in Anuradhapura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sanctuary At Tissawewa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sanctuary At Tissawewa

Property: The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
Address: Old Puttalam Road, Old Town, Anuradhapura, Sri Lanka (Formerly Tissawewa Resthouse)
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Anuradhapura
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Anuradhapura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sanctuary At Tissawewa 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Colonial hotel dating back to 1907, Built with luxury, the only hotel within the Sacred city of Anuradhapura. nestled in a 14 acre block of land which is a home to many species of birds and not forgetting the monkeys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Sanctuary At Tissawewa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tissawewa Resthouse Anuradhapura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing