We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff”
Review of Gimanhala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gimanhala Hotel
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Nice mid range hotel, limited but good quality menu, good clean and regularly cleaned rooms, with excellent friendly and helpful staff, had a minor medical problem during my stay, and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating couldn't fault them.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gimanhala, Front Office Manager at Gimanhala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Air/Madam,

Thank you for your comment on us.
It help us to improve.

FO Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
There are newer reviews for Gimanhala Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

We liked this little hotel as the service was very friendly (it was the only place where I tried to tip the porter for showing us our rooms but he refused it as he hadn't brought up our bags!), courteous and the food for kids & Westerners in general (their main customer base) was good.

We had 2 rooms 207 (which had hot water & wifi as it was close to the stairs) and 209 (which didn't but we were assured hot water would be sorted soon).

Breakfast was ample and dinner affordable. We swam in the pool and relaxed in between our cultural visits. If I was to take another trip to this part of Sri Lanka, I would stay here again.

My only complaint would be that you have to walk in your swimsuit through the restaurant to get to the pool and once you are wet, you walk back the same way. They should find a more discrete way of getting back to your room. During our visit, they were laying a new terrace and there is a lot of building work going on at the far back of the property but nothing that impacted on the enjoyment of our stay.

Room Tip: If you choose a room near the main stairs, you may get wifi and hot water easier :o)
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Groovybaby18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gimanhala, Front Office Manager at Gimanhala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for your comment on us.
It help us to improve.

FO Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Well actually this hotel has character trying to be chic but not there yet! I personally like old (antique-ish) displays it gives charm to the lobby, walls and stairway but once you go to ur room you'll feel its really old! They have to consider doing a renovation specially the toilet/shower room. Room is big though and the canopy bed with mosquito net looks nice. Super slow wi-fi needs upgrade is just frustrating waiting long to be connected. Breakfast buffet is so-so. The pool area is still doing some finishing touches. The staffs are helpful and nice so kudos to that.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drarthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This was a very convenient hotel while visiting the Cultural Triangle. We had a driver and the hotel provided accommodations for him as well. The hotel is nicely laid out and has a restaurant, pool and bar.

The rooms could use some tender love and care... The room was spacious and the bed and linens were decent. The room came equipped with an aircon unit and a ceiling fan but both made quite a racket which made it a bit hard to fall asleep both nights.

The restaurant offers an ongoing morning buffet and evening buffet. We would recommend you order A La Carte. We did not enjoy the breakfast items, however; the menu options were quite tasty. We really enjoyed the Gilled Chicken with BBQ sauce and the stir fried vegetables with rice.

It's a decent place for the price you pay.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LnCseetheglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Staff, food and room is medicore: for tourists uninterested in Sri Lankan culture; food tuned to foreigners--stale at best. Hot water ran out after 5 minutes; wifi only in the lobby. Buffet breakfast and lunch is unispiring

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cleanandsimple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Stayed one night while transiting through Dambulla to visit the caves there. Spacious hotel with large dining and bar area. Large outdoor swimming pool with good seating area with sunbeds. Room was large with efficient A/conditioning. Very pretty and spacious dining area with nice bar area ( best we found in the area). Food was good and good value for dinner and breakfast next morning was very good. Wifi ok but just worked in reception area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marklucey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed here as part of an intrepid tour. Lovely big pool and nice well stocked bar at hotel. Rooms were average and full of mosquitoes, bathrooms were basic and this is where the mosquitoes were getting in from. Fine for 1 night only

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magoobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
4.0 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 15 in Dambulla
3,590 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pelwehera Village Resort
Pelwehera Village Resort
#11 of 15 in Dambulla
192 reviews
2.8 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,658 reviews
6.1 mi away
Arika Boutique Villa
Arika Boutique Villa
#10 of 15 in Dambulla
119 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sundaras Resort & Spa
Sundaras Resort & Spa
#9 of 15 in Dambulla
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gimanhala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gimanhala Hotel

Address: 754 Anuradhapura Road | 754, Anuradhapura Road, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Price Range: £27 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We, Gimanhala located in center of Dambulla, Sri Lanka since 1988 for last 28 years as two (02) star Hotel. We are capable in catering 150 odd guests meal during the Lunch hour. (12.00 to 03.00 - daily) Daily Breakfast Buffet is also available from 07.00 to 09.30 am. 30 standard guest rooms are most popular among the both Transit & Leisure based guests. Outdoor swimming pool, free push cycles, are available for resident guests. Traveler's cafe, Traveler's Boutique will be also open from 07.00 am to 10.00 pm. We handle Airport transfers, round tours, special events, and many more which meets guests requirement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Gimanhala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing