We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room, Pool amazing!”
Review of Gimanhala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gimanhala Hotel
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Dambulla
Reviewed 27 June 2014

nice comfortable room, 2 cute single beds, if I was taller though my feet would have touched the end!
nice shower and the room is nicely done
tea and coffee, wifi, air con and fan.
clean sheets and bathroom
pool was amazing, swam 3 times in the end, loungers with cushions and pool towels provided in the room. nice cocktails by the pool and food nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mevrouwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

This stay has been awesome and the service and food brilliant
A first experience of Sri Lanka has been awesome. The ambience at the restaurant with the lights and at the pool side with the live musician was absolutely brilliant
Recommended and all the very best for the hotel and the staff

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gopakumar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Nice mid range hotel with clean rooms. Although it does not offer you luxurious stay, it is a good place to stay back. Food served was good and affordable. The best part is helpful and cheerful staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SarathSubash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stopped for lunch and it was not value for money. Restaurant staff is moody & not friendly at all. The selection is very poor & it is one of the worst meals we ever had. When you request for cutlery the staff will take ages to bring it for you. May be its a bad day for them however we had a very disappointing lunch experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suresh_Dissanayake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gimanhala, Front Office Manager at Gimanhala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Mr. Suresh,

We are really sorry for the bad experience you has @ Gimahala.
We also certify that it should not happen again and your valuable comment helped us to improve.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Only stayed here for a couple of nights when visiting Sigiraya - wouldn't be rushing back. There are lots better choices and Dambulla is a bit of a dive! Rooms were quite basic, pool you wouldn't swim in, and right next to the main road, so it's quite noisy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheLuxeTravelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gimanhala, Front Office Manager at Gimanhala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Dear/ Madam,

Thank you for your comment on us.
It help us to improve.

FO Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Nice mid range hotel, limited but good quality menu, good clean and regularly cleaned rooms, with excellent friendly and helpful staff, had a minor medical problem during my stay, and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating couldn't fault them.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gimanhala, Front Office Manager at Gimanhala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Air/Madam,

Thank you for your comment on us.
It help us to improve.

FO Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We liked this little hotel as the service was very friendly (it was the only place where I tried to tip the porter for showing us our rooms but he refused it as he hadn't brought up our bags!), courteous and the food for kids & Westerners in general (their main customer base) was good.

We had 2 rooms 207 (which had hot water & wifi as it was close to the stairs) and 209 (which didn't but we were assured hot water would be sorted soon).

Breakfast was ample and dinner affordable. We swam in the pool and relaxed in between our cultural visits. If I was to take another trip to this part of Sri Lanka, I would stay here again.

My only complaint would be that you have to walk in your swimsuit through the restaurant to get to the pool and once you are wet, you walk back the same way. They should find a more discrete way of getting back to your room. During our visit, they were laying a new terrace and there is a lot of building work going on at the far back of the property but nothing that impacted on the enjoyment of our stay.

Room Tip: If you choose a room near the main stairs, you may get wifi and hot water easier :o)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Groovybaby18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gimanhala, Front Office Manager at Gimanhala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for your comment on us.
It help us to improve.

FO Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
2.1 mi away
Pelwehera Village Resort
Pelwehera Village Resort
#13 of 18 in Dambulla
202 reviews
4 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#4 of 18 in Dambulla
3,759 reviews
7.4 mi away
Fresco Water Villa
Fresco Water Villa
#12 of 21 in Sigiriya
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#2 of 18 in Dambulla
214 reviews
6.1 mi away
Arika Boutique Villa
Arika Boutique Villa
#12 of 18 in Dambulla
135 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sundaras Resort & Spa
Sundaras Resort & Spa
#11 of 18 in Dambulla
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gimanhala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gimanhala Hotel

Address: 754 Anuradhapura Road | 754, Anuradhapura Road, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Dambulla
Price Range: £38 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We, Gimanhala located in center of Dambulla, Sri Lanka since 1988 for last 28 years as two (02) star Hotel. We are capable in catering 150 odd guests meal during the Lunch hour. (12.00 to 03.00 - daily) Daily Breakfast Buffet is also available from 07.00 to 09.30 am. 30 standard guest rooms are most popular among the both Transit & Leisure based guests. Outdoor swimming pool, free push cycles, are available for resident guests. Traveler's cafe, Traveler's Boutique will be also open from 07.00 am to 10.00 pm. We handle Airport transfers, round tours, special events, and many more which meets guests requirement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Gimanhala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing