We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a countryside retreat”
Review of MPS Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
MPS Village
Ranked #11 of 82 Dambulla B&B and Inns
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a countryside retreat”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

What lovely place and people! I stayed at MPS Village for the last 2 days of my short trip to the midlands in Sri Lanka and it was so great that I decided to cancel my sightseeing afternoon in Colombo just to spend my last day relaxing in their garden, by the pool and taking a bike ride through the countryside.
I'm so glad I chose this resort over the touristy hotel in Sigiriya I was offered by the travel agency, as it really excedeed my expectations: the room (in the new building) was huge and opened up to the lake garden. The bathroom and shower cabin were spacious and the cleanest I've seen in Sri Lanka. You have all the facilities you need, from A/C and plasma TV, to iron and hair drier, and the inscence oil was a nice touch when I checked in. But you'll probably want to spend more time in their well kept garden by the lake or by the pool, which was very clean and just the right temperature to cool off without chilling. Wifi covers the whole premisses, although it does reset randomly and you have to log in often. But you're there to disconnect anyway.
The resort is perfect for families and there were kids around all the time I stayed there, as they have plenty to do: there is a cricket field, volleyball net, swings and playground. The friendly watch dog is more than happy to keep you company. But it is also a great place for a romantic getaway or solo travellers looking for a peaceful and quiet place to relax, as it's a bit far from the main town and tourist routes.
As other reviewers mentioned, the food is not that great and you can only opt for the buffet dinner, but they try to cater for all tastebuds. The kitchen was closed for lunch on my last day there, but they offered to make me a soup and sandwich as I didn't want to drive to the village just to eat. The staff are all very helpful and attentive and the service is comparable to what you'd get in top hotels.
All in all, a wonderful stay and the perfect place for an escape to the countryside without compromising on comfort.

Room Tip: The rooms in the newer building are more spacious and comfortable than the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaraPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    80
    23
    11
    6
See reviews for
53
74
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mechelen, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We travelled for 1 month with a family of 4 through Sri Lanka - staying in as well cheaper guest houses as more expensive hotels. MPS was one of the more luxurious places - a great location, beautiful room (the new ones), and a very nice swimming pool. It is quite isolated - something we liked but maybe not everyone will. Food was not special and rather expensive. In short - we would surely stay there again, but probably eat in another place

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kurtpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed here for 11 days while doing a Habitat build, and it became our home away from home. The pool was fantastic , the porches nice for hanging out. It was super quiet at night. Sri Lankan food is a bit spicy for me, but the variety was excellent and they tried very hard to please us. The staff was very nice and joined some of the athletic crowd for some rousing games of cricket. The rooms were very basic and we didn't always have hot water, but it is so warm there it wasnt really a big deal. They just completed 4 luxury suites at the far end of the property that looked gorgeous! I enjoyed my time there and missed it after I left.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Situated alongside a slow flowing river, this is a great option. Rooms are enormous, bathrooms are new and very very spacious and the location makes for a great night's sleep (request to hotel - please stop the shutters from banging in the wind). Food is quite hit and miss. When we arrived we had an amazing lunch - consisting of seasoned chicken, fish, chlli eggplant, rice, pappadums - delicious (and we ate lots). Dinner however was disappointing with the highlight the bread rolls (our Sri Lankan friends found the chilli pasta inedible). Breakfast was also average (limited local food).

The property is large - and includes swimming pool, cricket oval, swings. I would recommend as I'm sure the friendly owner will fix the inconsistency in meals.

Room Tip: Request room away from main office
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussienando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Our group of six arrived quite late after a Safari, we were greeted by the friendly staff who carried our bags to the rooms. The room itself was very clean, along with the linen. There is a nice balcony in front of the room overlooking a small lake.

We swam in the pool at around 8.00pm at night; the pool was lit up by some cool lights in and around the pool itself. As the accommodation is located outside of the city, it’s really nice and quiet and you can see a lot of stars.

We ate dinner at MPS, the meals were not that big but were tasty enough and reasonably priced. The service was good and the staff were very attentive. They were happy to let us stay in the dining room after dinner and play cards over a few beers after they had left.

Breakfast was very good; a buffet including tropical fruit, eggs, and Sri Lankan curry.

I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZCuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We booked this hotel because it had a pool and we were traveling with 3 young kids. The hotel is located a little out of town, but easily accessible. The grounds are lovely and look out over a small lake. The kids enjoyed swimming in the pool. We stayed in a deluxe room with an extra bed for $59 BB. The room was basic and small, but clean. The best part of the room was the patio out back which looked out over the lake - a great place to hang out. The breakfast was quite nice with fruit juice, fruit, eggs (nice omelette), toast. We also ate dinner there and it was decent. Like another reviewer mentioned, we too were the only guests at the time and it felt a little strange. They have driver accommodation. Owner was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guelph_Dawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This hotel is on the Kalundewa Road, away from hustle and bustle. It is nestled in some hills and right on a lake. It has a very nice pool, also by the lake. The rooms each have a private patio facing the lake, with a magnificent view of the surrounding hills and lots of beautiful birds to watch. The food is good. Rooms are basic but clean. The owner, who speaks excellent English, stated that new construction to the back of the property will be high-end rooms.

Room Tip: The rooms are all on the ground floor and all have a patio facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaDeianira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dambulla hotels
3.5 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#4 of 15 in Dambulla
102 reviews
5.5 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,485 reviews
5.9 mi away
Gimanhala Hotel
Gimanhala Hotel
#11 of 15 in Dambulla
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kalundewa Retreat
Kalundewa Retreat
#9 of 15 in Dambulla
115 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sundaras Resort & Spa
Sundaras Resort & Spa
#8 of 15 in Dambulla
554 reviews
6.8 mi away
Amaya Lake
Amaya Lake
#5 of 15 in Dambulla
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MPS Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MPS Village

Property: MPS Village
Address: Kalundewa Road | Dambullu Oya Junction, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MPS Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the famous Dumbara Valley surrounded by misty mountains with forest cover, fruits and vegetable plantations, the MPS Village Kalundewa is only 10 kilometers from Dambulla off the Kandy Road. This Eco Friendly complex consists of Super Deluxe and Deluxe rooms with A/C facilities,Hot & Cold running water, restaurant and entertainment area.Visitors to Kalundewa are greeted by high misty mountains with lush green forest cover and the unspoilt environment displays vibrant colour full of fresh soothing air to aid recovery. A batsmen friendly cricket pitch is also available with a large well turfed open area for soft ball cricketers. This is an adventurous type of complex with its vast spread area and the lake front, inviting visitors to relax and unwind. MPS Village is the perfect family get-a-way from the hustle and bustle of the city. It is an ideal location for day outings too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your MPS Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mps Village Hotel Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing