We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nice Place Bungalows
Ranked #7 of 82 Dambulla B&B and Inns
Varkala, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It's a nice place”
Reviewed 26 March 2012 via mobile

I stayed here on a 15 day budget tour that i took solo. It's a clean place with A/C which you need at the heat of the day. If your looking for something a little out of the way with serenity and within the cultural triangle this is the place. There are places to walk around here down roads and you will be greeted friendly by the locals.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    159
    64
    28
    4
See reviews for
107
159
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

The guide told us it was a guesthouse rather than a hotel and he rated it as one star. When we got there we saw a really NICE PLACE sinking in jungle, friendly and professional staff, free wifi at the lobby, we realized it could be rated as a good three-star hotel. We had a balcony with a marvelous view of mount Sigiria. The room was very clean and cosy, lit with Lankan sun and well-conditioned. The linen was new and clean and we were not disturbed by mosquitoes. If you think which hotel is best among the cheap ones in this area, do not hesitate and stay at this one.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G0Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Its name should be changed to terrible place.it was very difficalt to find the place in the night. with my kid, it was a horrifing journey to find the place. we had 2 rooms and one was terrible with broken ac and a dirty bathroom.hospitality of staff was really disapointing.meals were not good at all.our jouney was spoiled by this place, it was a just waste of money.and never ever we will be back.try find out a better place than this.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayamalee j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colombo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Everything looked alright on arrival. Although it is a little out of the way and rather difficult to find, we had our own car and managed to reach in the late afternoon. We were a small group and had booked two rooms (a single and a double) for two nights.

After having spent an enjoyable first night at Nice Place, we were informed by staff that our rooms were doublebooked, at which point they asked us to move to a couple of small, dark and sweaty rooms on the edge of the property. No thanks, we promptly packed our bags and found a better place down the road. On checking out, the inept desk staff at Nice Place attempted to overcharge us by nearly 30%.

Overall, I think it is best to pass on this place and stay somewhere closer to the monuments. You would think that, given the difficulty in finding the hotel, Nice Place would make more of an effort to keep the customers who actually arrive there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank challelovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

there is very nice nature and historical places, you must see it and very delicious food

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chika19821008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

I traveled with my fiance to Dambulla and stayed at Nice Place for two weeks. We thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality and natural surroundings of this outer district in Dambulla. Our room was spacious with large bed, air conditioning, hot water and balcony. The courtyard is well tended and restaurant is decorated an and Old West motif which reminds me of campgrounds where I stayed as a kid. The radio station even played old American songs which I heard many years ago. Natasha compared the compound to dacha villas which are located on the outskirts of Moscow. We enjoyed many good meals in this restaurant as well as the raised dining area at the back of the grounds which overlooks the creek.
The owner of Nice Place was an attentive and hospital host. He organized excursions in the surrounding area, a picnic with his friends at the nearby lake, and dinners which were attended by his driver, Lall. Natasha and I took long walks through the surrounding countryside and swam at the lake which is about two kilometers from Nice Place. We were always accompanied by the owner's dogs who enjoyed the outing as much as we did. We were also entertained by the pet mongoose, Kiri, who lives on the grounds and plays with the dogs.
Natasha and I have fond memories of the time which we spent at Nice Place. I recommend this establishment to anyone who will visit the area around Dambulla.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEW_1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2011

I enjoyed my stay in this guesthouse, it is a great base for travelers to visit both Dambulla and Sigiriya, because the guesthouse is situation in between them. The location is in a lovely rural area and the guesthouse has a large and nice garden. I stayed in the cheapest room, which was quite ok for me, but nothing particularly good or bad. The better rooms have hot water and AC. The owner and the employees are very friendly and helpful. The rice and curry is one of the best I had during my 3 months in Sri Lanka. And generally the service is really good.
I can really recommend this nice place.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mart3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
2.9 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,440 reviews
4.2 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,554 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#7 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Amaya Lake
Amaya Lake
#5 of 15 in Dambulla
1,487 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sundaras Resort & Spa
Sundaras Resort & Spa
#8 of 15 in Dambulla
542 reviews
3.8 mi away
Dignity Villa
Dignity Villa
#1 of 82 in Dambulla
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nice Place Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nice Place Bungalows

Property: Nice Place Bungalows
Address: Inamaluwa Junction, Bellanneoya, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nice Place Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice Place Hotel & restaurant has been created in a unique design with a vision to blend the accommodations in a natural surroundings of trees,bushes,birds and innocent wild animals.You can select a room with a private balcony overlooking world famous Sigiriya rock and a forest setting or select a seperate private cottage to get complete privacy. You can just relax and enjoy the natural beauty in your own garden setting or go on one of the many excursions on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Nice Place Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nice Place Bungalows Hotel Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing