We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil, beautiful, great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nice Place Bungalows
Ranked #7 of 82 Dambulla B&B and Inns
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Tranquil, beautiful, great food”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

What a Nice Place. Our room was really big, clean and a great place to watch the wild life. We stayed 2 nights as part of a 6 day tour. This was really the first place we experienced Sri Lankan food and we weren't disappointed. They laughed at me as I was saying the food was superb whilst blowing my nose as it was slightly spicier than I'm used to. After a week I was asking for hotter, typical Sri Lankan food which I highly recommend as a lot of restaurants cook tourist food. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay for longer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noonoo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    159
    64
    28
    4
See reviews for
107
159
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Great place, amazing staff!
Stayed one night, checked in late -- after touring Sigiriya...
Loved the bungalows: spacious, clean, hot water, wifi in the "lobby"...
and at 7,000 rs a night who could complain?
Amazing pool area... so secluded, feels really private.
Breakfast is included.
Overall -- great place, and would highly recommend!
Definitely a hidden "gem" :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceemack22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

It's a pretty basic place, large rooms, somewhere between luxury and budget, it's a bit of a confused atmosphere. There's a decent sized pool as well. Located quite close to the lake, you can rent a couple of bikes and head out around the area, but make sure you head back before the sunsets as the surrounding areas aren't so well lit.

The rooms are large and AC'd. the showers in the bathroom were not that great though, the initial water that comes out can be quite stinky, so let the water run a bit before taking a shower. Take your own towels if possible.

Food was alright as well. Was ok for the price.

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floors are airier and more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HanimA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Value for money. Nice pool if that's on your list of needs. A bit out of town so will need wheels to get there. The dinner is a banquet for 1000 rupee...ok if you are a big eater...I'm not, and there were no alternate options.
I was bitten by an ant...look out for those nasty critters!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank khamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We loved our stay here and found the staff, the rooms, the pool and the food fantastic!

We stayed for two nights during our travels and it was our favourite hotel on the 16 day trip.
A real plus to have such a stunning pool. We had one standard triple room and one single room for our party of four (aged 14 to 77).

We made friends with the dogs that roam the grounds and were made to feel extremely welcome by the manager!

Only negative was that we had some washing done - it was very expensive but I guess that serves us right for not doing it ourselves!!!!

Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseJB29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in one of the standard rooms for three nights, which costs 5000rps, so for Sri Lankan standards still not very cheap. The room was not very clean, especially not the bathroom. The lock on our door was broken, it could take minutes before we could get it open, we asked them to fix this several times but despite thousand promises they never did. The breakfast and dinner buffets are ok-ish, but we had much much better in Sri Lanka. There are just not many other places around to eat, since this hotel lies very secluded. The manager didn't come off very honest or motivated to make our stay pleasant. All the prices he suggested for day trips were extremely high compared to what you can arrange yourself with for example tuk tuk drivers. The only very positive thing here was the beautiful, big and clean pool.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank anneconijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Tranquil, calm location (though a little off the beaten track!) with all the bungalows nestled amongst the trees. The food was the highlight of the entire experience - we can really recommend the 'Curry & Rice' which is infact a delicious banquet of meat and vegetable curries with all spice requirements catered for. Flavour was never compromised when we opted for milder things, resulting in some of the best curries we have had so far. Even our two daughters thoroughly enjoyed the String Hoppas for breakfast. The staff were lovely and friendly, very willing to cater to our busy sightseeing schedule.

However, some aspects of our stay left a little to be desired: the electric shower had hardly any pressure so in order to actually wash the shampoo out of your hair you'd have to plunge into the freezing cold older shower before retreating back to the warmth of the electric... Also, the housekeeping was fairly poor, so that needs to be improved upon.

The pool, however, was absolutely lovely - very warm and clean, the kids could spend hours in there. You can ask for drinks to be sent down to the pool side and it feels a little like a tropical oasis.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClarevilleTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
2.9 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,440 reviews
4.2 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,555 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#7 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Amaya Lake
Amaya Lake
#5 of 15 in Dambulla
1,487 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sundaras Resort & Spa
Sundaras Resort & Spa
#8 of 15 in Dambulla
542 reviews
3.8 mi away
Dignity Villa
Dignity Villa
#1 of 82 in Dambulla
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nice Place Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nice Place Bungalows

Property: Nice Place Bungalows
Address: Inamaluwa Junction, Bellanneoya, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nice Place Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice Place Hotel & restaurant has been created in a unique design with a vision to blend the accommodations in a natural surroundings of trees,bushes,birds and innocent wild animals.You can select a room with a private balcony overlooking world famous Sigiriya rock and a forest setting or select a seperate private cottage to get complete privacy. You can just relax and enjoy the natural beauty in your own garden setting or go on one of the many excursions on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Nice Place Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nice Place Bungalows Hotel Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing