We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic and peaceful”
Review of JC's Village

JC's Village
Ranked #9 of 30 Restaurants in Dambulla
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: Please keep an option for Sri Lankan/Sinhalese food!
Restaurant details
Description: Please keep an option for Sri Lankan/Sinhalese food!
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Idyllic and peaceful”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed here for one night on our honeymoon - after a day of visiting Sigirya and going on elephant safari we were shattered. They welcomed us warmly and showed us the room, where there was a honeymoon heart display on the bed!! It was dark but we still managed a swim before dinner. Room was simple and airy and could have had more in it, but was cool and that's all that matters! It was such a perfect setting we would've liked to stay longer but had to leave for a busy day to Kandy. The food was ok, nothing to write home about, but the little restaurant where we ate the food was lovely. Maybe a little overpriced compared to some other places, but the service was great. One particular member of staff was very helpful and looked after us our whole stay.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank libpixie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    18
    12
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Rice and curry!!”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

If you want rice and curry for dinner and are having trouble finding it in the evenings... come here!! Only place we found authentic and decent Sri Lankan food in the evening!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ShikhaAnup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Accomodations”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Received excellent service throughout our stay.
Food in restaurant is superb. Rice and curries are some of the best I had.
Used location as a base to see other sites in area (Dambulla, Sigiriya, Polonnaruwa).
Rooms are extra clean with comfortable beds; super shower/bathroom facilities.
They offer many services (car pick up, room service).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place with bad value”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

This place is the perfect example of a tourist scam: place is nice, bungalows are nice but definitely not great, it's very calm and green: you just want to stay. And yet, they charge you twice the price of its real value.
We had to pay 7000Rps, most expensive night I had in Sri Lanka for a non-international place.
I recommend rice & curry, which is indeed good but as well expensive...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Feel_the_air
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Location”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

excelent service by staff members. good food in nice location. its colse to dambulla temple and sigiriya as well.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank prasanna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed JC's Village also viewed

Dambulla, Central Province
Dambulla, Central Province
 
Dambulla, Central Province
Dambulla, Central Province
 
Kegalle, Sabaragamuwa Province
 

Been to JC's Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing