We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the jungle”
Review of Hotel Sanda Diya

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dambulla
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Sanda Diya
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Pine, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A gem in the jungle”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We were pleasantly surprised upon arriving, when we were greeted with smiles and glasses of cool tropical juice. Our room was located by the pool and had a nice seating area outside. Very clean and modern with a lovely bath. The staff were eager to please and took good care of two weary travelers. Many thanks on yet another wonderful choice by our guide, Bhathiya, of http://www.toursinsrilankabathiya.com

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    33
    38
    13
    9
See reviews for
26
54
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

This is a pretty new establishment, 200 metres down a narrow concrete track off the main road about 5 km from Dambullah. There is a bit of a local feel to it, the staff live next door and it is in farming country. Most of the staff have rudimentary English skills & struggle with any questions. All the rooms have single beds and they are a bit stuffy although the balconies are a nice touch. Wifi is only available in the reception/restaurant area which is a bit restrictive. The menu has quite a bit of variety; I would recommend the club sandwiches at 500rupees they are great value. Electricity supply seems to be intermittent so the a.c does not run properly. There is a well looked after swimming pool in the centre of the complex. All in all quite good.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I went with high expectations over a long week end. The service is very slow, check in not very efficient. Meals tasty but very repetitive if one stays for more than one day, lunch menu and dinner menu and the buffet fare are identical without variety or imagination, but tasty.

Pool is OK. Rooms very Spartan, bathrooms with excellent fittings but emanating a pungent smell.

Room Tip: Ground floor overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prevessin Moens, France
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

It is a beautiful property, the room was very clean. Their rice and curry was the best we had in Srilanka. The waiters are really professional dispite of their age, the service is excellent. The owner was very kind with us, she served us the dinner at 9.30PM after the closing of the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank szire85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halen, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. Really great place! Superfriendly owners, new buildings and rooms, very clean, nice pool. Ideal place to visit things. If you have any requests, they are always open to help you. I had the chance also to see weddings and inauguration of the house. Loved it and would stay here again! If you like a personal, real sri lankan experience, please choose this over a 5 star hotel. It's worth it!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed there july 2013, after 2 nights they sent us the Bill with a more expensive night raté than the one agreed upon. The manager was for the first Time during our stay now here to be found and she was the only one Who talked english. Pompous hôtel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimboelbimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dambulla hotels

colombo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

New Building is very comfortable and pool was fantastic. garden and staff service was excellent. my clients who visit there on 18th of june 2013 and wanted to extend his stay for one more night.

this location is convenient place to visit anuradhapura or sigiriya or polonnaruwa all locations withing easy reaching distances.

Room Tip: select deluxe room that is in new building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank explorsrilanka123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dambulla hotels
5.2 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#4 of 15 in Dambulla
121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pelwehera Village Resort
Pelwehera Village Resort
#12 of 15 in Dambulla
190 reviews
2.8 mi away
Gimanhala Hotel
Gimanhala Hotel
#11 of 15 in Dambulla
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Arika Boutique Villa
Arika Boutique Villa
#10 of 15 in Dambulla
118 reviews
3.4 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,529 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sundaras Resort & Spa
Sundaras Resort & Spa
#9 of 15 in Dambulla
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sanda Diya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sanda Diya

Property: Hotel Sanda Diya
Address: Polonnaruwa Road | Palwehera, Dambulla, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing