We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Staff and Service”

Kandalama Lake resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dambulla
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kandalama Lake resort
Ranked #35 of 80 Dambulla B&B and Inns
1 review
“Excellent Staff and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this beautiful hotel and we experienced an excellent service from all the staff. They went out of their way to look after our needs. Hotel itself is beautiful and gives excellent views across the region (specially when you look from the 07th floor).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    4
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Driving up to the hotel I had mixed feelings about the design but having spent 2 nights I realise how well it works in its environment. The service was efficient, the food reasonably good with a wide selection at buffet breakfast and dinner although there is an a la carte restaurant which we didn't try. The rooms are clean and functional with a side show of monkeys and a "loo with a view!" Spa treatments are good and room service is efficient. Elephant safari ride at 6am was enjoyed by the more adventurous family members and was good value.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms have views through the vines
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at Kandalama Lake resort for only two nights, however we wish we had booked it longer. The second we drove up to the entrance, I was stunned that such a place existed on this planet. It was truly a paradise in the middle of the jungle and the perfect start to our honeymoon. If the stunning sites of wildlife and nature don't get you, then their food and top service will. There was not a second there I did not gasp of excitement over its beauty and relaxation that surrounding us.
My husband and I can not wait to go back again and share the same experience with our family.

A note for travellers, if you hate bugs and lizards then avoid this place as they are everywhere!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaima S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The Bawa designed hotel is a beautiful example of modernist architecture done in sympathy with the local environment. It's worth booking a stay just to enjoy the details of the design and the flow of spaces. Unfortunately, the hotel service does not measure up to the architecture. The staff are friendly but, for the most part, barely competent. Getting the luggage to our room from the reception turned into a major, time-consuming effort. We could have rolled our own bags to the room, but the staff insisted on "helping" us which then meant that the bags disappeared for a long time. The corridor cleaners hosed down the corridors as everyone was getting up for breakfast which made the corridors into streams with slippery, soapy water. Why not do that chore at night when people are not trying to walk along the corridors? The upstairs dining room was pleasant and the service, as well as the food, was good but mostly "international" not local. The buffet on the second level was expensive (which is why we chose the a la carte restaurant) but the buffet seemed to be designed for the large tour bus groups who made up almost all of the guests. Breakfast, which was included in the room rate, was in the buffet room. The offerings were good but getting to them was rather like trying to get the ball from the midst of a rugby scrum as all the tour groups seem to converge on the dining room at the same time. If you are with a tour group, then this hotel is probably fine, but if you are travelling as a couple, then go to enjoy the views and the architecture but do not expect to be treated as if you were in a luxury resort.

Room Tip: Choose a room that overlooks the lake, but beware of the monkeys! They will climb onto the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I love Geoffrey Bawa hotels. Stunning place in a breathtaking location. Sustainability and blending in with nature are key. The amazing wet edge pool is a highlight. Watch out for monkeys though! Delicious Sri Lankan fare. Architecture not opulence is the focus.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citta di Castello, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

This was our return visit after a few years at the end of a month in the country and indeed made for a fitting climax to our trip. The building and its setting are simply gorgeous. Yes, we had rooms in the Dambulla wing quite a long way from the public areas of the hotel, but the walk to and fro was a part of the pleasure, through the jungle, as it were. The buffet restaurant is outstanding, dining outside magical. So are the infinity pool and the bar area close to it. The service is almost impeccable. The shop is excellent. The bedrooms' 'modern' furnishings may not be to everyone's idea of 'luxury' but we find them beautiful and the bathrooms with their views out over the jungle and the lake just lovely. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Rooms in the Dambulla Wing are slightly smaller and cheaper than those in the Sigiriya Wing whose se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cedric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

The hotel itself I think is very good. The bathrooms have a beautiful view of the lake. The drive up to the hotel and its surroundings gives you a good view of the lake and Sigirya Rock in the distance.

The food quality is also very good and they serve continental breakfast buffet in the morning which for me is a winner.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dezyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dambulla hotels
0.0 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,374 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sundaras Resort & Spa
Sundaras Resort & Spa
#8 of 15 in Dambulla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amaya Lake
Amaya Lake
#3 of 15 in Dambulla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Paradise Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Milano Grand New Rest House
Milano Grand New Rest House
#46 of 80 in Dambulla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dignity Villa
Dignity Villa
#1 of 80 in Dambulla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandalama Lake resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandalama Lake resort

Property: Kandalama Lake resort
Address: | Kep-Ela, Kandalama, Dambulla, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Dambulla
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing