We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sundaras Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
berlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect stay!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

This nice hotel is a really good place to stay if you want to visit Sigiriya or the Golden Temple of Dambulla. It's just a walking distance to get to the temple. we spend a weekend there and really enjoyed it. the staff made us feel welcome all the time. our room was quite small but really nice, comfortable and clean. in the morning we got a delicious breakfast. all in all: great room, locoation and service!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 30Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    140
    76
    37
    27
See reviews for
90
199
42
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kastrup, Kobenhavn, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Have never felt more comfortable and so welcome as I did here! I lived in a a/c doubleroom. It was clean, bed was comfortable, warm bath and an opportunity to make tea and coffee.
The food in the restaurant was super yummy! Very good breakfast, and for dinner you should go for they fried rice with chicken it was just sooo good!! The people were super friendly. The owner Damien were at the busstation when we arrived to Dambulla, and he tooked me and my friend to the hotel. He also helped us a lot around the things for the tourist attractions we wanted to see in Dambulla. Can only recommend it!! It was awesome....

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nanna162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valmiera, Latvia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed in the hotel after the arrival in Sri Lanka. After the exhausting flight we were tirde, but we were warmly welcomed and we were taken in the hotel even before normal cheeck in time. Wide rooms, nicely cleaned, warm water and delicious breakfest. The location of the hotel is great, next to Dambulla temple. The temple was within walking distance. Also near there is the Sihiria rock. Also the Hotel was our first good impression of Sri Lanka. Thanks to owners of the hotel. Jolanta from Latvia.

Room Tip: I was booked in a Deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jolanta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuwait
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

I would not recommend this hotel. I can't believe the good reviews on this site!!!! Yes, staff are very friendly, but that does not make up for a bad experience. I stayed there for a few nights in February, there were constant blackouts and there seemed to be difficulties with getting the generator started. It rained a lot during my stay and on two nights there were frogs in my bathroom. Don't get me wrong,I am widely travelled and I am from Africa, so I'm not a stranger to creepy crawlies. There are lots of mosquitos in Dambulla and even though there was a mosquito net over the bed it was was too small. My main gripe was that there was no hot water and I had to go to another room to shower where the water was lukewarm . Noise from the private apartment above the hotel filter down into the bedroom below. Further, when I booked the booking said room comes with personal safe, ironing facilities and tea/coffee making facilities, this was not the case. Also their credit card machine was not working at the time.
All in all too expensive for what you get, I checked out and stayed up the road for a quarter of the price, with the same comfort level.
I was booked in a Deluxe room.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundaras R, General Manager at Sundaras Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Thnak you for your review.We are deeply sorry that you came acroos the minority of people who didnt have a plesent stay in at our Resort.
We do appriciate your review ,your review helps us to improve our standards, as we are trying to improve everyday to satisfy our customers comfort and satisfaction to a high level.
In regards to your issues,
Credit card machine out of order / difficulties with getting the generator started / Hot water issues due to a black out , thunder storm - Sri lanka is a fast developing country after a 30 yrs of War it is hard to compare our standards to other countries like Europe. We are fully aware of the issue with the generator and it has been replaced, but it is not possible to stop a black out or a thunder storm.
Thank you for choosing to stay at Sundaras Resort . Hope to provide you a better service next time.
Sorry and Thank you.
Sundaras Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

The staffs were very friendly and ever ready to help you. The resort is located less than five minutes from the Dambulla Caves. The room was very clean and spacious. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Premi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

We would not recommend this hotel. This was the worst (and not the cheapest) room from our trip to Sri Lanka (11 days).

Pros:
- Great location to explore the caves!
- Excellent staff
- Food: had dinner once. Was ok.

Cons:
- Mainly the room: we booked a Deluxe AC room. It was quite bad: not very clean, many blood stains on the sheet (after many mosquitos bites I realized where they came from). Maybe we got the worst AC room... It didn't look like the pictures on the website at all.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 81Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundaras R, General Manager at Sundaras Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Thank you for your review.
We are sorry that you didn't have the best stay ay our resort.
in regards to your review " not very clean, many blood stains on the sheet" this is the first time we were review " Not Clean" cleanliness is our priority. We wouldn't want anyone to misunderstands about the stains you mentioned as blood stains. As we used white bed sheet and every thing white it is very easy to see any type of stains. The stains you called as blood stains is only "rust stains" which came to the bed sheets while we are drying the bed sheets , as we are very Eco friendly hotel , we used the sunshine to dry our bedsheets.
Now we have replaced all bed sheets with little rust makes as our guest might misunderstand about those marks as blood stains.
Once again thank you for staying with us.
and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

The hotel is very close to the cave temples (3 min. walk) and not far away from the bus station (5 min. by Tuk Tuk) in the center of Dambulla, from where you can head to Sigiriya and Anuradhpura. Our room was quite spacious and absolutely clean. Hot water was always available as well as Wi-Fi.
In good memory we'll keep the outstanding service from all the staff working there. You could really see the efforts which were made to please all the guests of the hotel. We were helped with our travel plans and our special requests concerning the food (yummy!) were always fulfilled. All in all it was a perfect stay, where we felt like at home! We absolutely recommend the Sundaras Resort and would come back there again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MEAY128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
4.0 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,372 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#6 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gimanhala Hotel
Gimanhala Hotel
#11 of 15 in Dambulla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
4.4 mi away
Arika Boutique Villa
Arika Boutique Villa
#10 of 15 in Dambulla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
4.1 mi away
Signature by Amaya
Signature by Amaya
#4 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundaras Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundaras Resort & Spa

Property: Sundaras Resort & Spa
Address: 189 Kandy Road, Dambulla 7777, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundaras Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the middle of the Cultural Triangle, Sundaras Resort & Spa offers you quiet and relaxing stay as well as a great variety of activities and tours to many destinations in Sri Lanka. Awarded by TripAdvisor with Traveler’s Choice Award 2016, Sundaras Resort & Spa stands out for its cozy and chill atmosphere, multicultural staff and a great variety of trips, which can be booked in advance or upon arrival. Located just 5-minute walk from Dambulla Golden Rock Temple, the resort is also just 20-minute drive from Sigiriya Lions Rock and a 25-minute drive from Minneriya National Park. Colombo International Airport is a 2.5-hour drive away. An airport transfer can be arranged upon your request. Welcoming guests with outdoor swimming pool, pool bar, gym and Ayurvedic massages, Sundaras Resort & Spa offers air-conditioned rooms with comfortable beds, spacious bathrooms, free Wifi and a patio or balcony overlooking peaceful greenery views. The on-site restaurant serves Sri Lankan and Western dishes, which can be enjoyed at breakfast and dinner buffet or ordered from the menu at any time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sundaras Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing