We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Heritance Kandalama
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Amazing Hotel with a great spa. Everything was so perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yapincak T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,592)
There are newer reviews for Heritance Kandalama
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,465 - 2,471 of 3,592 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2012

From the very first minute we stepped into the hotel, staff made us feel like that they were waiting for us. So attentive, professional, speedy responses and the Sri Lankan hospitality at its best.

Amazing architecture (of Geoffrey Bawa) covering the rock, facing the priceless view of Kandalama lake and the jungle. No words to explain the heavenly experience among all the environmental wonders.

Well spacious room(Delux Room), clear and colorful. When open up the door to the private balcony, felt like I am entering into the jungle. It has taken the fullest use of the blessings of the nature. Bathroom was properly cleaned up, well maintained and contained a large jacucci.

Lengthiest buffet that I have seen in a Sri Lankan Hotel so far; that much of variety to choose from. Tastiest hotel foods that I have experienced without any doubt. Simply amazing.

Do not forget to go to the pool side around 5 in the evening. Sceneries of the sun set over the lake were just breathtaking. When the light was shading down, the floot music from the infinity pool side gave a wonderful start to the night.
What more can I ask for!

Key Values: Location, Architecture, Staff, Food
Things to do: Sigiriya rock, Dambilla temple, Wild life safari to Minneriya national park, hot balloon trip, boat ride in Kandalama lake, eco field in the hotel

Room Tip: Sigiriya wing. 4th, 5th and above floors.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ParakramaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We randomly chose this hotel one evening as we were driving through Dambulla. It was a very scary drive there... A dirt track for about 2km and after dark I started getting a bit worried. However the hotel was absolutely beautiful. The staff were very helpful and the food was great! The rooms were excellent; spacious and clean. Waking up to the view of Sigirya and the lake was stunning...we didn't have the time to stay for more than one night...but really enjoyed the little time we did have there.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silmya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

This was my second trip to this hotel and I have to say it has gone from being excellent to being simply outstanding. The quality of refurbishment of rooms (mostly the bathroom fittings) has really added to the enjoyment of staying here along with the outdoorsy elements (monkeys, bats, verandas, infinity pools) and quality of food mentioned by other guests.

As before, the quality of service was excellent. We were initially upgraded to a suite since it was our honeymoon and we were returning guests - however there was some building work going on (on the Western wing of the complex, which is why the third swimming pool is currently out of action). Since we wanted more peace and quiet, we were quickly moved to a lovely room at the other end of the hotel, with a fabulous view across the lake.

It's the small things that make this hotel great. The early evening flute playing out on the rock, the matching of furniture and artwork in rooms and the occasional deliveries of fruit to our room.

We also used Heritance (the parent company, Aitken Spence) to provide a tour guide/driver for our three days in the area - he was both informed and friendly (ask for Harsha if you get the chance!). A very worthwhile investment if you're keen to go to the local sites without too much hassle.

One note - contrary to what others have said below, there aren't abundant mosquitoes at Kandalama. The flies that abundantly flock to the white walls in the evening are in fact tank flies and do not bite - though you probably want to keep them out of your room as there are millions of them.

Room Tip: try and go for a room on the 4th or 5th floors. The views are far better.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

After a long hot filled first day in Sri Lanka, coming around the corer to see this hotel lethally merging from the rocks it felt like a James Bond set, just minus the Aston Martin. Truly a magical moment and a welcome surprise. The attentive staff and hospitality personified was wonderful. The food is exceptional and plenty of choices for all. Clean, open, unexpected. Our room was fantastic and wildlife in abundance. To come from a country of very little wildlife or insects to see monkey at our window, bats flying through the hotel and beetles the size of a child's fist was in feed an experience. As the sun sets on the beautiful reservoir, the open hotel spaces and throngs of music penetrating the night - all just magical. Please add it to your list. To also see Sigria Rock in the distance to know we climbed this historical rock made that wine more rewarding. The people, the views, the jungle, this calm peaceful hotel is well worth a visit

Room Tip: Just soak it all in
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toddy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Wonderful hotel with 3 beautiful, although small, pools. One was closed when we visited.
The rooms were beautiful and the amount of wildlife in the hospital was crazy! There were bats flying around, monkeys outside the window and we even saw a mongoose in the corridor!
The food was a brilliant mix of Sri Lankan food and the spa was nice with a sauna and steam room plus a jacuzzi bath in the room.
Make sure you take insect repellent and cover up as there are a lot of mozzi about.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willos23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

A beautifully designed hotel in the middle of a jungle in Central Sri Lanka. Location is ideal for trips to the "Cultural Triangle". Service is exceptional and staff are very keen to assist. The breakfast and dinner are excellent, in particular the Sri Lankan cuisine.

You need to be prepared that there are inspects and mosquitos. After all, you are in the middle of the jungle. I would recommend the "half board" option - breakfast and dinner. You would be engaged in day trips.

Other hotels can learn from how the Heritance is managed. They have certainly excelled in motivating staff, which is not as easy as it sounds in this part of the World. Congratulations to all the staff and management.

Room Tip: it may be worth paying a bit extra for a room with a view
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RazNe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
3.2 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,658 reviews
4.2 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,494 reviews
4.6 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Kalundewa Retreat
Kalundewa Retreat
#8 of 15 in Dambulla
118 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,604 reviews
11.6 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Kandalama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Kandalama

Address: | PO Box 11, Dambulla, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Spa Hotel in Dambulla
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dambulla
Price Range: £112 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Kandalama 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritance Kandalama is shaped like the outspread wings of a bird, following the line of the cliff from which it seems to emerge. The hotel is a staggering 1km from end to end, and rises up seven floors, yet appears to be a perfectly natural extension of the mountainside. The flat roof and timber pillars support a screen of vegetation that attracts local wildlife. The abundance of real-life animals around the hotel is complemented by wonderful large-scale sculptures within it. A metal owl is suspended outside the main restaurant; wooden elephants inhabit the lounge; a stone cobra uncoils along the terrace overlooking the infinity pool. However, while focusing on highlighting its enchanting natural surroundings, our luxury resort in Sri Lanka gives priority to providing its guests with the finest comforts and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Heritance Kandalama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandalama Hotel Sri Lanka
Hotel Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama Dambulla
Kandalama Hotel Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing