We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dilshan W”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Heritance Kandalama
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Dambulla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

what a fantastic hotel , this was my second trip to Kandalama and had no words to express , from the start to end everything was very professional , the rooms are excellent , the food was excellent , and the staff too , was well trained and very courteous , no second thoughts of going again on my third trip to this fantastic hotel. Cheers.

Room Tip: try to get a room facing sigiriya.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dilshan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,782 - 1,788 of 3,632 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

Really Excellent Hotel...This is a best ever holiday I had..(We stay during Vesak (15-17 May)..Unforgettable experience...Kaludiya Pokuna A Natural pool with beatiful view..Very Friendly staff & Their service means real hospitality.specially Mr Clive(Front Office),Mr Pushpakumara(Room Service),and Ftness trainer Chatura...
I think hotel staff is really good asset to Heritance Kanadalama.Good Food, Good Combination..Vareity...Action Stations(Freid Hadello..Sea Food..Real Tasty)

Thank you For everything...Well Done & Keep It up We Had a Nice Holiday.We got much more & more more than we expected..

P.S. I had some bad expeirince about Aitkenspence Hotels B Coz of Hotel Hill Top...But After this Holiday ( At Aitkenspence Kandalama)its changed totally)

Room Tip: Lake View upper floor rooms will give you beatiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakmal234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at the Heritance for 3 nights during our honeymoon in early May.

From start to finish the staff were brilliant, friendly, helpful and very professional. Everyone speaks great English and are always smiling.

The room was just lovely, we got upgraded as we were on honeymoon which I thought was a lovely touch and exactly what we wanted to hear after such a long journey from the UK. The view over the lake and surrounding mountains was breath taking and I couldn't wait to open the curtains every morning! There were a few ants in the bathroom but we had no complaints with this, after all the hotel is located in the middle of a rain forest!

The food was delicious, plenty of variety, and curry at every meal! My husband certainly enjoyed this! Oh and the puddings! Just delicious!

Although we did a lot of travelling about we did manage to relax one afternoon in the pool, we swam to the far edge and could have stayed there forever! The view is just incredible! Beautiful, beautiful location! The pool attendant was great, bringing us towels and even covering them up when he noticed the black clouds appearing overhead.

Overall we had an amazing stay, my only wish is we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor have the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Food is good. Big Buffet. Nice view. I have been there with my tour group. very close to Sigiriya (Lion Rock) and Dambulla Golden Temple. Friendly staff, Fast check-in and checkout. I would recommend this once again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rasika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This was one of our honeymoon destinations & the best among the rest. Why i would tell that is because of the food, service, picturesque surrounding & the comfort it gave us throughout our stay. We were bit anxious about the the whole monkey stories heard about the place but was no harm or disturbance other than untimely entertainment given by them. Should talk about the lovely spread they have in their buffet & the a-la-crate lunch menus. The 03 pools they have are tremendous. This stay gave us much more & more beyond what we expected & we left telling "wanna come back" to ourselves... We are coming back to see you soon.

Room Tip: Get a room in middle of the Sigiriya Wing to experience a great view of the Sigiriya rock above the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harshaka_Kushan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is a very nice hotel, with a beautiful view on the valley.

The room was very confortable and nicely decorated.

Service in the restaurants is really good and there is a fabulous curry in the a la carte restaurant.

There is 1 fabulous pool with a view on the valley, the 2 others are not so nice.

We were greeted by monkeys on our balcony.

Truly a great place.

You can read my full review (in French but you can google translate it) here: http://www.gate-41.com/wordpress/?p=2943

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philie4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My best hotel experience to date! The view and the feeling of one-ness with nature was the best...at the same time not having to sacrifice on self-indulgent luxury! The pool visually extends into the lake and another pool is made using the natural rock formation in the hotel. The pool staff were wonderfully helpful and very knowledgeable about the locality. The corridors span the edge of the forest and groups of monkeys frequently occupy the trees along the corridors and rooms. The food is fantastic too. The breakfast was awesome, but there could have been a better variation between lunch and dinner (but neither was disappointing at all!) I loved the body lotion in the Superior room/Dambulla wing and would love to know where I can purchase some in Sri Lanka!

Room Tip: Air conditioning is better in the middle of the Kanchana restaurant rather than the far ends near th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelindaC101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
3.2 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,679 reviews
4.2 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,505 reviews
4.6 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#1 of 16 in Dambulla
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Kalundewa Retreat
Kalundewa Retreat
#8 of 16 in Dambulla
119 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,620 reviews
1.5 mi away
Signature by Amaya
Signature by Amaya
#5 of 16 in Dambulla
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Kandalama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Kandalama

Address: | PO Box 11, Dambulla, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Spa Hotel in Dambulla
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dambulla
Price Range: £117 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Kandalama 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritance Kandalama is shaped like the outspread wings of a bird, following the line of the cliff from which it seems to emerge. The hotel is a staggering 1km from end to end, and rises up seven floors, yet appears to be a perfectly natural extension of the mountainside. The flat roof and timber pillars support a screen of vegetation that attracts local wildlife. The abundance of real-life animals around the hotel is complemented by wonderful large-scale sculptures within it. A metal owl is suspended outside the main restaurant; wooden elephants inhabit the lounge; a stone cobra uncoils along the terrace overlooking the infinity pool. However, while focusing on highlighting its enchanting natural surroundings, our luxury resort in Sri Lanka gives priority to providing its guests with the finest comforts and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritance Kandalama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandalama Hotel Sri Lanka
Hotel Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama Dambulla
Kandalama Hotel Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing