We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great vistas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritance Kandalama
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,238 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 586 helpful votes
“Great vistas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We had accommodation for 2 nights in a superior room. If staying here, there is nothing nearby, 8km to nearest town. However a lovely location in middle of a national park. The outlook across lake and to mountain ranges from rooms and various areas within the hotel are superb. We were at the far end of one corridor above one of the pools and had to listen to pool pump going all night. It was annoying, especially given they brag about their green credentials. There was no need for the filter machine to go continuously. Rooms were comfortable but not large. Very nicely decorated and space for suitcases. You have to keep balcony doors closed so that mischievous monkeys do not enter rooms. It is marvellous to have them sitting on your balcony and climbing vines while you shower and dress (for once we are the ones in a cage!) If you have any problem walking, can be up to 400 metres to dining area and reception from extreme ends of corridor, make sure request rooms that are more convenient. If going there not on a tour, will need car with driver. Lovely shower with large rain nozzle above. Food in restaurant, while buffet style, was excellent. Restaurant has plenty of food stations where food is freshly cooked which in all cases was an excellent alternative.

Room Tip: Don't accept room at end of Dambulla wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emanpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,098
    854
    291
    77
    52
See reviews for
869
1,625
110
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (827)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Nice nice nice . Very relaxing vacation . Animals all over the place . I highly recommend the hotel . Monkeys running all over, elephant ride is a life time experience. Sri lankan hospitality is just anazing

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank asgerally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed at Kandalama Hotel during a weekend. Though the hotel was crowded its visible only at the buffet times. The hotel is designed in a beautiful and magnificent way where the large crowd will not create any harm to your relaxation.

Food is superb compared to other hotels in the same area. Staff is also very nice and quick to serve you.

The only negative aspect i found is i wanted to get a baby cot and even after more than 5 calls i didn't get that. So we had to keep our baby in middle of us and sleep.

Any way its must visit hotel in Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Rooms in top floors have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajeeva_SL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

An excellent place with a very friendly atmosphere and courteous service. The food and buffet were great with a large variety of delicious food to select from. The rooms were comfortable and nice but a curtain to the shower window would be helpful, especially for the rooms in the lower floors. The location is very good and gives a nice view of the surroundings and the lake, but not exactly by the side of the lake. Superb location for a clam and quiet vacation...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indra555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had been to Kandalama for our honeymoon. We had planned our itinerary such that, from Maldives, we will spend some good 3 days here. Maldives as all know, is truly heaven, so we were thinking what Kandalama would offer us. But believe me guys, the place has its own charm, and it will surprise you in many ways.

We had opted for Jacuzzi room. The room was perfect. Spacious enough for two of us, and bathroom with Jacuzzi was real Royal.

Our day used to start with breakfast, which is superb. The staff is friendly and very attentive. You might have morning visitors in your balcony.... yes... Monkeys.... they are harmless if you will ignore them :) The staff will surely give few Do's and Don'ts about them.

We had booked a cab from our tour operator, who took us to Sigiriya on day one, and to Dambulla Buddha Rock temple on day 2. Which are quite close by.

The best part about the Hotel is the way it has been conceived and created. You are so close to nature with a perfect luxury and comfort.

We enjoyed the food here. And believe me, every order placed, surprised us. The food was perfectly presented, and it was deliciously tasty!! We had Ordered Jumbo Prawns, Clear Veg soup, Sandwiches etc and we were literally high on the food there. (Sounds Kiddish but its true!!) because of last day rush, we couldn't meet the chef as we were planning to. But we wanted to meet him / her personally and give our high regards for his/her craft. If the Hotel Management reads this review, please convey this to the Chef!! he is truly and artist!! (Our stay was from 4-6 June '14)

The Jacuzzi rooms were excellent. We used to spend hours together in Jacuzzi sipping champagne in candle light :)

In short, we had perfect stay here. I never felt like checking out in 3 days. If I get an option, I would love to be here again and again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhananjay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mawanella, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Our first impression went down the drain being a honeymooner expecting a wonderful surprise for me & my wife in the room. There was nothing done even a basic honeymoon setup calling the hotel reservations team for many times. They just informed me "everything is ok sir". Giving nice hopes and talking big things about Heritance Kandalama with my wife on our way was a nightmare when I reached my room. Though everything was coming perfect afterwards as like our room upgrade and so on, nothing made up our mind sets happy with the things happen in the arrival. By the way special thanks goes to Mr. Prasanna for making our stay a bit meaningful with a nice show a round with giving us a personalizing service. This is my second stay in this property and the second review. Sorry to say the first once was an excellent rating from me and as a result of that I choose this hotel for my honeymoon and Unfortunately it was not at this time. Apart from everything the breakfast, Lunch & dinner was marvelous like everytime.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dinesh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was without doubt the most unique hotel I have ever been to. The views are breathtaking and I spent the first few hours with my mouth hung open in amazement. My husband and I stayed here as part of a trip around Sri Lanka for our honeymoon, and we had been driving for a good few hours by the time we arrived, and were very hot and tired. We were greeted on arrival by lovely staff who sat us down outside overlooking the infinity pool and the amazing views, and we were suitably wowed. They bought us a refreshing drink and a flannel, before taking some information to check us in - the most relaxing check in experience ever! We had been given a free upgrade to a room overlooking the reservoir and Sigariya rock, which was just stunning. We had a rainfall shower with a floor to ceiling window so that we could gaze out at the view whilst in the bathroom. The buffet food was very tasty and there was a wide selection. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful - one even nearly fell over in his haste to make it to the table before I did on my way back from the buffet just so he could pull my chair out for me! We had also put our names down for a Michelin star dining experience that was meant to be happening but it got cancelled at the last minute, so the staff arranged for us to eat at the a la carte restaurant free of charge as an apology, which was totally unnecessary s we hadn't even complained, but very nice. The food was amazing and there was lots to choose from there too. The hotel was very quiet and peaceful, and when we went to the lounge after dinner we were often the only ones there. They had live bands and dancing most nights which was a nice backdrop. The infinity pool was amazing, and the pool attendant took lots of fantastic photos of us (and some wildlife!). A very peaceful, relaxing experience with wonderful staff. Definitely a place you won't forget in a hurry. The only downside is there are a lot of flies due to the location, but not a lot you can do about that. When we left, the staff even all stood by the security gate (a good walk from the hotel) to wave us off in a line!

Room Tip: A room facing the reservoir at the front is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eloise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
3.2 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
4.2 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
1.5 mi away
Signature by Amaya
Signature by Amaya
#4 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#6 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
11.6 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
5.7 mi away
Kalundewa Retreat
Kalundewa Retreat
#9 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Kandalama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Kandalama

Property: Heritance Kandalama
Address: | PO Box 11, Dambulla, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Spa Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Kandalama 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritance Kandalama is shaped like the outspread wings of a bird, following the line of the cliff from which it seems to emerge. The hotel is a staggering 1km from end to end, and rises up seven floors, yet appears to be a perfectly natural extension of the mountainside. The flat roof and timber pillars support a screen of vegetation that attracts local wildlife. The abundance of real-life animals around the hotel is complemented by wonderful large-scale sculptures within it. A metal owl is suspended outside the main restaurant; wooden elephants inhabit the lounge; a stone cobra uncoils along the terrace overlooking the infinity pool. However, while focusing on highlighting its enchanting natural surroundings, our luxury resort in Sri Lanka gives priority to providing its guests with the finest comforts and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritance Kandalama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandalama Hotel Sri Lanka
Hotel Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama Dambulla
Kandalama Hotel Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing