We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,182)
Filter reviews
4,182 results
Traveller rating
2,643
1,008
361
103
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,643
1,008
361
103
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolgeoffrey bawasigiriya wingrock faceunique hotelsri lankapanoramic roomelephant ridelarge hoteloverlooking the lakestunning locationa la carte restaurantour honeymooneco parkkandalama tankeco friendly hotelluxury room
Filter
Updating list...
2,149 - 2,154 of 4,182 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This was my 3rd visit in a span of 15 years, and i had a lot of expectations especially when it came to the food as this hotel was so well known in the past for its tasty food and the many awards it won in SL. But it was a big let down for me as the buffets which had nice cooking stations were not living up to the hotels past reputation. The restaurant staff was present and very helpful but the chefs and the cooks at the cooking station was discriminating amount the clients and some of them had a huge chip on the shoulder.. the hotel is a bit run down and needs a good renovation as the last renovation was done almost 9 years ago.

The reception staff was very friendly so were the room attendants. IF they improved on the food quality which was quite bland for my liking (which was not the case during my past 3 visits over the years)... Its an iconic structure done by the most famous architect Sri Lanka has ever produced.

Room Tip: ask for a room what overlooks the lake. on a higher floor. lower floors have creepers and trees that are overgrown.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roshan_Withanage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Customer service - fantastic and friendly
Food - Outstanding and value for money (approx $35 USD for international buffet)
Room - We had the superior room with a Jacuzzi. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the room large. The rainwater shower head was a real highlight, so were the monkeys watching our every move from balcony.

Room Tip: Make sure you keep the balcony door locked or the monkeys will get in and make a mess of your things.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Damian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

have been visiting many times always have been having good service good food everything is good even the location something out of this world if on vacation in
Sri Lanka and you love nature a resort you must visit

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank lakshmanisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Out of all the hotels we are staying at on our grand tour, this was only one of two that we specifically selected. After reading other reviews we expected a long check-in. We were seated and given a welcome drink. We were then given another table, but no drink. Our guide eventually went and chased the staff up. The hotel has two wings, both 500m long. Typically we were in the end of one. After the trek we arrived at our room to find the spare bed dumped in the middle of the room taking all the floor space. We asked the staff to sort it our, and walked back to the bar. When we got there we were told no alcohol as it was Poya day. As I stormed off, the staff then thought to mention we could have in the room. However on our way back to the room we noticed that our luggage still had not been delivered, so we took it ourselves.

The hotel is famed for its stunning views over the lake, we were one of three rooms out of the 152 to have stunning views of the rear service yard. As we enjoyed the beer on the balcony, the monkeys came to visit. We repelled the first attack, but on the second, one of the blighters got into the room and pinched the sugar.

We decided to treat ourselves to the Ah La Carte menu which meant we had the go to the Kaludiya Room. The room has no atmosphere what so ever, and we got the feeling that staff prefer couples, rather than a family unit. However food was delicious.

We returned to our room to find the a/c was either on full blast or off, and combined with the rock hard beds, I would say our overnight flight into Colombo was more comfortable.

Although there is a WI-Fi connection it's so slow that it's a waste of time.

We have a complex breakfast rating based on choice and taste, this hotel scores 100%

Only the good food gave this review a poor rather than terrible. Let's hope our stay next week at the Heritance Tea Factory Hotel, Nuwara Eliya
is better.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Wow terrific location. Reminds me of the lodges in Serengeti National Safari Park. This place is amazing with stunning views. Mischievous monkeys add to the whole amazing ambience .
Warm, friendly welcome on Arrival .
We were bit disappointed with the rooms as we had booked two double bed , rooms and we got two single bed pushed together. We complained and Mr Wasant was very helpful and upgraded us to panoramic view rooms with double beds the very next day as on our day of arrival the hotel was full. Please note , the superior room is classed as a standard room in this hotel. However all rooms are clean with good quality toiletries and thick soft fluffy towels. Shower is sooo good with stunning views. All the food in this hotel is of high quality and delicious . Breakfast buffet has a very good selection. This hotel has 3 swimming pools , we preferred the infinity pool the best. As the views from here are beautiful and is near the bar area , much more going on. The musicians are very good . Indian classical music played at lunch time was very enjoyable and the very talented flute player, played his flute in the evening as the sun set. Live band was very good on the 6th floor after dinner. There is a snooker table in this area as well. We spent two nights at this hotel, I wish we had booked three. The gym is well equipped . Very friendly and polite staff. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Lake Kandalama view rooms are stunning.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mirchew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews