We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Sky Guest House
Ranked #38 of 79 Dambulla B&B and Inns
sinajana Guam
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good value for money”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

The 2 rooms at this guesthouse have strong a/c, plenty hot water, and are roomy. The dinners served by the attentive host Upul are delicious and the portions are huge. While it is not a fancy place, this guesthouse is very convenient for seeing the sites on the ancient cities circuit. We stayed 2 nights and very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    41
    17
    8
    4
See reviews for
6
44
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lviv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Guest house was very nice - good location - near the Golden and Cave temple and at the same time away on the noisy road.
The host was very friendly and helpfully - arranged a trip to Pollonaruwa/Sigiria (must go!) and Elephant riding (the last was not worth spent money).
The food was really tasty - breakfast and also dinner that we ordered from the host.
The rooms were clean, with everything needed, a little old and dark.
Although generally I liked guest house, I find it some overpriced, but still would recommend it for 1-2 nights in Dambulla.

Room Tip: the left one is brighter and bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mekleo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Great location near the Dambulla Caves (a must to see), also close enough to visit Sigiri by taxi or tuktuk. Upul the owner has a great vision for what he wants to do with the place and you can really see that in what he has done with the two rooms that are available. Wifi is free, food is excellent nod Upul is lovely, great value for money and I highly recommend as a base to do the sites in his area,

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Like justgoanywhere (review below) we also stayed for 3 nights. Room was pretty good and spacious for the price quoted (1600 for non ac, 2500 for ac). Driver (not Upul) was very helpful and he tried to accommodate us as far as possible, though sometimes there were miscommunication due to language barrier (we had the hired vehicle for 2 days). We also wondered why the aircon was never switched on - luckily the weather was pretty cooling during day 1 and half of day 2. Be very firm with Upul, and make sure you do some background homework regarding the route and destination. We were definitely overcharged for the string hopper dinners that Upul insisted us to partake. He is after all, a businessman at heart.

Room Tip: Either room is ok, as both rooms are similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eureka_my
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Blue sky guest house is perfect for a budget traveller... cheap and very close to Dambulla's main attraction - The golden temple and rock caves temple. The owner even picked us up from the bus station.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable.. however, they are a little musty.
The food was definitely one of the best tasting Sri lankan food we had during our trip. I especially liked the 'banana flower' preparation.
We hired taxi from Upul for 2 days to go to P'nurawa/Sigiriya and Aukana/Ritigala.
When hiring a taxi with Upul, make sure you have a very good idea of what you want to do as the advice we received was not always the best for us, in retrospect. You also have to be firm in not being dragged to the spice gardens, gem factory and wood carving factories he will surely insist on taking you to. And Trust me, it's not going to be easy to shake him off.

Room Tip: Both rooms are the same. Just be very clear and firm if interested in hiring Upul as your taxi guide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mokshi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penang
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We stayed 3 nights here. Were really happy with the place and the service and our driver. But the funny thing is we thought we were overcharged for the dinner of string hopper that were prepared for us. And the air cond of the car that was never switched on even though it was a hot day and we were quoted for an air-cond car.

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justgoanywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stayed 2 nights here for a great price and were very happy. The guesthouse is around 500m down the road from the Rock Temple and caves so a very easy walk. It is just off the main road, pretty much next door to Samans and Sunderas hotels.The main centre of Dambulla is around 2km past the temple but there isn't a great deal there. Plenty of cheap tuk tuks around if you do want to go.
The room is large, ours had 2 double beds. It has ac that we didn't need and a fan. The bathroom is also good with a decent hot shower. There is strong and reliable wifi both in the room and sitting outside.
The owner is a charming man, he even gave us a free ride to the bus station to make sure we got the right bus when we left.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrenD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dambulla hotels
2.3 mi away
Dignity Villa
Dignity Villa
#1 of 79 in Dambulla
228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shan Inn Dambulla
Shan Inn Dambulla
#14 of 79 in Dambulla
20 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dambulla City Hostel
Dambulla City Hostel
#1 of 52 in Dambulla
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Oasis Tourist Welfare Center
0.5 mi away
Lark Lodge
Lark Lodge
#10 of 52 in Dambulla
35 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sundaras Resort & Spa
Sundaras Resort & Spa
#8 of 15 in Dambulla
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sky Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sky Guest House

Property: Blue Sky Guest House
Address: 44 Mile Post, Kandy Road, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Sky Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened guest house near Golden Temple in Dambulla (about 300 m), just off the main road to Kandy. Rooms include fan and/or A/C, en suite bathroom w/ hot water. Free Wi-Fi internet available.Sat,tv upul taxi dambulladambullaguesthouse com dambulla day tours /dambulla tempal/sigiriya rook /anurada pura /polonnaruwa /kandy visit upul taxi dambulla ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Sky Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing