We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the jungle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Sky Guest House
Ranked #39 of 101 Dambulla B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 October 2013

There are only two rooms but both are spacious and clean and can hold maxiumly 3 people. It is located in a small alley and is surrounded by trees and jungles and sometimes visited by monkeys. Very laid-back and relaxing. The owner picked me up at the bus station and made one very nice Sri Lanka breakfast one morning. It is cheap yet A/C and wifi are still provided. I enjoyed my stay there very much.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dyid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

We just spent two nights in the lovely guesthouse. The owner Upul speaks perfect English and picked us up from the bus station. the room was spacias and very clean. The beds were comfortable and there is AC in the room and a fan. The breakfast is excellent. You can have a Sri Lanken breakfast or a western one. The owner and his brother are both so nice an helpful, our bag was torn and in a matter of minutes they brought a women who sewed it up for us, they did everything they could to make our stay pleasurable. highly recommended for couples backpackers and even small families. There isn't much to do in the area but it is nice for the night.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms. Simple but great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamarony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Owner is extremely profit-minded though the rooms are great. location quite far from town though...its a 45min walk to the bus station.
My stay there was plaqued with some bad experiences. I paid upfront for 3days of no a/c no hotwater. On my 2nd night, the owner tried to talk me into staying in kandy for perahera the nxt day but i later found he accepted another customer the next day, who is paying a higher price for his room than i had(he admitted after i said i didnt want to stay in kandy). thus he tried all ways to get me out one day before due n i had to change guesthouse on my third day despite the agreement initially.

He overcharges trips to sigiriya too. His last price is the "opening price" of independent 3wheeler drivers.

Lastly he offered no help when i met with an accident and was only concerned on recovering his lost hammock then.

I wouldnt stay here agn...bt the rooms are no doubt great.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ben_qb_teng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Only 2 rooms bu these are very big but also very dark... Breakdast is included and you get a lot of fresh fruit! Dinner is cheap with fresh fruit and rice/noodles in an enormous amount. It is 10min walking from the cave temples, close to a beautiful lake, 3min from centrum with tuctuc (100-150rs). The owner is very enthusiastic, sometimes too much! We paid 5000 for a safari to kaudulla national parl but it was not worth it so be careful with his propositions!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankygoestoholywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I was staying in this small guest house just for 2 nights, but it was very lovely stay for me. Upul is a great hoster, very helpful and give you a lot of information about the region. Its very close to Golden Tample-7 min. walking. And as well to downtown, nice walk 20 min. or you can take a bus or tuk tuk. Good point to visit Sigiriya. Just take the bus from the bus station, in 30 min. you are there. The rooms are nice and clean. In the morning have a good Sri lankan breakfast, Upul prepars it great. The guesthouse is perfect budget accomodation wiht all you need. When i am in Dambulla again, i will stay for sure.

Room Tip: The guesthouse has just 2 rooms, both are nice and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomm75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Lovely little guest house with a very friendly staff (Upul) made my stay here very enjoyable. Great cook and the best Sri Lankan breakfast I've had. Rooms are very big and clean. Very well located, close to caves and bus stop.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blacktin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

The 2 rooms at this guesthouse have strong a/c, plenty hot water, and are roomy. The dinners served by the attentive host Upul are delicious and the portions are huge. While it is not a fancy place, this guesthouse is very convenient for seeing the sites on the ancient cities circuit. We stayed 2 nights and very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitch T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dambulla hotels
4.1 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#4 of 19 in Dambulla
3,819 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sundaras Resort & Spa
Sundaras Resort & Spa
#10 of 19 in Dambulla
690 reviews
4.5 mi away
Amaya Lake
Amaya Lake
#7 of 19 in Dambulla
1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Paradise Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
Oasis Tourist Welfare Center
Oasis Tourist Welfare Center
#12 of 101 in Dambulla
63 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gamagedara Resort
Gamagedara Resort
#17 of 101 in Dambulla
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sky Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sky Guest House

Address: 44 Mile Post, Kandy Road, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Dambulla
Price Range: £8 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Sky Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened guest house near Golden Temple in Dambulla (about 300 m), just off the main road to Kandy. Rooms include fan and/or A/C, en suite bathroom w/ hot water. Free Wi-Fi internet available.Sat,tv upul taxi dambulladambullaguesthouse com dambulla day tours /dambulla tempal/sigiriya rook /anurada pura /polonnaruwa /kandy visit upul taxi dambulla ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Sky Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing