We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Time Visit with Family & Friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Paradise Resort and Spa
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Dambulla
Reviewed 29 January 2013

It was a long weekend ( 25th/26th& 27th Jan ) and was my anniversary as well as one of my friend's, so I recommended that we take both families and visit Green Paradise.
I only told him it was a nice hotel and he left early. I got a call from him on my way and told me it was simply "Outstanding " !!!

After my arrival there!! my wife and daughter immediately started commenting on the hotel, Of cause I had told them about it earlier.

Simply the best HOTEL they've been in Srilanka with clean rooms, nice garden and architecture!

Even we found a Cake " Happy Anniversary " in our room !! How wonderful!

However after a nice cold Draft beer we settled for the Dinner which was simply a treat!
At the dinner there was an Oriental band playing some of Sri lanka's finest songs which we thoroughly enjoyed !
Also complements must go to the service!!

The next 2 days went by, us being treated like Kings & Queens ( so close to the Sigiriya Rock Fortress )!!
Kids: Had the most enjoyable time spending time mostly unsupervised.

Simply when we were leaving everyone was asking? << When are we coming Back to this lovely Hotel ?? >>

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kanishka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenparadiselk, General Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear Kanishka,

It was a pleasure to welcome you back to Green Paradise together with your family and friends. We were really pleased that you chose us to spend your anniversary and happy to hear that everyone has a wonderful time during the stay with us, not to mention the kids slumber party.
It gives us great confidence to hear that the team has made your anniversary holiday special and memorable. We look forward to your next visit to Dambulla and look forward to welcoming you to Green Paradise once again.

Kind regards,

Michael Armstrong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

448 - 454 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2013

Its a very pretty recently built hotel in a nice location and surroundings .Rooms are pretty comfortable and clean.Its a very good place to relax and escape city life.But all credits are shaded by restaurant services and lazy stewards.They take hours to bring the dishes to the table.They mainly target foreign customers than locals.So if you are local think twice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kumaran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenparadiselk, General Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear Kumara,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, it is much appreciated, we are happy to hear that you have enjoyed the facilities and that you found the location of the hotel relaxing, however we are sorry to hear that our team in the restaurant have not met the required service standards and we are also sorry to hear that you have felt that the restaurant staff were only dealing with foreign guest and wish to assure you that this is not the service standards that has been set by us as we always take efforts to treat all our guests alike with no distinction between local and foreign. This matter has been taken up very seriously with the team and we have taken steps to correct this for the future. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Armstrong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Stayed in this hotel on 2 & 3 Jan 2013 for 2 nights the hotel is very good.
It has beautifully design hotel very good location of Dambulla. The food was it very best and the staff were brilliant.Would highly recommend this hotel to others.
Great place to stay.

Room Tip: Any room they give you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PATELMILAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenparadiselk, General Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear Patel,

It was a pleasure to meet you during your stay at Green Paradise and thank you taking time off from your busy schedule to give us your feedback. We are really happy to hear that you have enjoyed the food variety on offer and that our team have made your stay a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Kind regards,

Michael Armstrong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This place is new, so the snags we ran up against have a chance of fixing. It's gorgeous, one. Compare to the Elephant Corridor close by, and the grounds and open-air common areas are virtually the same for a lower, less-exclusive price. The breakfast features local and non-local foods and stays open a wee later than announced to accommodate sleepy travelers. There's wifi in the lobby/lounge, which is an easy place to pass many hours if you happen to be there in a rainy spell. Two complaints: little hot water, and lots of mosquitos. I couldn't sleep at all with those little beasts munching at me. We later found out they have something to provide to help rid your cabin of them. Word to the wise: if you don't like being in the wild, you might not like it here. You will be woken up by loud birds, you will see lizards, squirrels, and peacocks if you're lucky. If that's your thing, it is paradise.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mixchel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenparadiselk, General Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear Mixchel,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we are please to hear that you have enjoyed the facilities and the food as well as the extra time we offer our guests for their mealtimes. We are sorry to hear that you did not have enough hot water and were not informed of the mosquito repellent units we have available in all our rooms, both matters have been taken up with our team for correction in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back when you visit Sri Lanka again.

Kind regards,

Michael Armstrong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Had stayed at this brand new property during my Dec business meeting stop over. The property is located in a very serene location in Dambulla and it is not far from the other iconic hotel in this part of Sri Lanka. I was pretty impressed by the design and hats off to the Italian company who has put this together. Every part of the property you have that bit of the Italian smart design touch. It was raining non stop during our entire stay and this did not permit us from using the beautiful pool and the Spa facility.
The dining experience on all occasions was very personal and well serviced. The Food was just perfect and served hot. The dinner experience was a PIzza affair and they did have the Italian touch on this one as well. Would loved to have had this dining session around the pool. The rains again spoilt that part of the experience.
The cricket ground which is part of the property is again a beauty. This could easily be a touring team hotel when there is a international game in Dambulla.
Great place and great staff. Would love to go back any given time.

Room Tip: The suite rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vivek V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenparadiselk, General Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2013

Dear Vivek,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and we are really happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our team has made your stay a memorable one. Your comments have been passed on to the entire team. We are also happy to hear that you have enjoyed the food selection, menu's and service we have on offered in our restaurant.
Yes we did have a lot of rain during the month of December and I am glad to say that we are experiencing good weather these days. We also look forward to the re-opening of the Dambulla cricket stadium for international games as it will be a great boost to the local economy.
Please let us know when you next plan to visit Dambulla and we look forward to having you back with us, also an opportunity to taste the Italian Pizza's.

Kind regards,

Michael Armstrong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

I generally lazy when it comes to writing reviews but this one deserves the effort.
My wife and I stayed in this hotel in November 2012 for 2 nights. It was a brilliant choice. Its a beautifully designed hotel with warm and helpful staff set in the heart of lush green forested environment. The main reception and dining area is a lovely open space and lets you feel the nature. The cottages were nice. The pool was big, clean and fantastic. We especially enjoyed their buffet food. In our opinion the Sri Lankan cuisine was perhaps the best that we tasted in in our 10 day stay in SL. The manager as well as the staff were warm and welcoming and did not hesitate in approaching the guests and tending to their requests. We really enjoyed the hospitality and would love visit this place again. If you are planing a visit to Sigiriya, we would highly recommend Green Paradise.

Amit and Anuj
Edinburgh

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anumit3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenparadiselk, General Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2013

Dear Amit & Anuj,

We are really glad to hear that your have enjoyed your holiday with us and we appreciate the time taken give us your feedback.
I am happy to hear that our team has taken very good care of you and that you have enjoyed the food in our buffets as well as the Sri Lankan food. We are pleased to hear that you have also enjoyed and appreciated the environment the hotel is situated in as well as other services and facilities we have to offer.
Do keep us informed when you plan to visit Sri Lanka in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back to Green Paradise.

Kind regards,

Michael Armstrong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

A new hotel, a great infrastructure but unfortunately not well taken care. In addition a service which might be OK for a cheap backpackers place.
The hotel is only open since six month but the really made it happen that the rooms already wheren't clean when you had a sharper look. Dirty entrance to the shower and so on. No description package in the room. To rach reception you had to try your best to dial one number after the other because it wasn't written anywhere.
The best pool I have ever had in a hotel (maybe some 40m long) but you needed to be very locky to find somebody bringing a pool towel. Bar area was there but no staff there and not equpied with anything to order.
Finess center OK but every day some other equipment didn't work. Staff not around and not interested at all.
Then the restaurant area. White chars and so dirty that you didn't dare to sit down with anything of lighter color because you felt it spoiled.
The service overall not at all meeting expectation for the price you pay. Seemed they never worked in service before and their limited ability of speaking English didn't serve to make us feel better.
Wouldn't go back again although the place looks good but the rest..........

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Horst2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
1.8 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#4 of 18 in Dambulla
3,759 reviews
6.3 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#2 of 18 in Dambulla
215 reviews
4.8 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Kalundewa Retreat
Kalundewa Retreat
#10 of 18 in Dambulla
126 reviews
1.7 mi away
Amaya Signature
Amaya Signature
#6 of 18 in Dambulla
259 reviews
8 mi away
Arika Boutique Villa
Arika Boutique Villa
#12 of 18 in Dambulla
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Paradise Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paradise Resort and Spa

Address: Kubukkadanwala, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka (Formerly Green Paradise Agro Eco Hotel)
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Dambulla
Price Range: £61 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Paradise Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the middle of the Cultural Triangle of Sri Lanka, about 160 km from the International Airport, this hidden gem offering ultimate luxury and isolation is tucked away amongst lush vegetation amidst the mystery and spirit of the past. The resort offers easy access to the nearby historical sites like the Dambulla Rock Temple and other cave temples dating back hundreds of years ago and the Sigiriya Rock fortress and the ancient cities of Anuradhapura and Polonnaruwa, as well as short drive to the East Coast beaches of Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Paradise Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing