We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice New Hotel - Falls Short in a few places”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Paradise Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
London, UK
Level Contributor
147 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice New Hotel - Falls Short in a few places”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This is a great new hotel. The grounds are clean and the staff are friendly. The food is great. The main members of staff are fully competent, proficient and helpful. The pool is very nice and clean. The gym is good with A/C (but please see below my concern). The rooms are nice, good amount of closet space, although the room was a little small, and generally they are dark as the windows are outfacing into the main courtyard, which makes one dubious about opening the curtains in case people peer inside. The a/c is very quiet! This has a great bathroom with good shower unit and hairdryer. Note, as this is away from the town, the prices are very expensive for food and drink. But this may be the reason why staff do not expect a tip (which is a first!). The support staff are very helpful : Provided blankets and bug assistance very quickly.
The reason i say it falls short in a few places is because:
1) This hotel is in the middle of farm land / forest, which is not a problem. But you must know there will be bugs. They know this, yet all of the restaurant and bar area is open, so it is difficult to enjoy meals/drinks whilst bugs are flying around. If they had some closed areas, this would not happen.
2) They gym is in a glass room in the middle of the complex. I personally don't like this for 2 reasons. The glass makes the room incredibly hot. Secondly, anybody can watch you working out.
3) The pizza restaurant is only open on the weekends. I know that this maybe thier busy times, but i think to have a pizza section for other times would be beneficial as the bar menu is very expensive.
Overall : Nice enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dharm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenparadiselk, Resident Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Darm P.

Many thanks for the review! I am happy to hear that my team has taken a big effort to make your holiday a memorable one! the points/suggessions highlighted in your review is highly taken up!

Looking forward to see you again at Green Paradise!

cheeers!

Susantha Bandara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    167
    57
    16
    13
See reviews for
172
190
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

this was my third visit and I hardly visit a hotel twice. I went with a party of 15 people and received an excellent service from the check in to check out. Staff were helpfull as allways. food was of high quality. Rooms are specious for 4-5 pax and in good condition.

pools is big and located in a very nice place. kids pool is superb. (my kids loving it.)

Good customer service received from all levels of staff and it is real sri lankan genuine type service
this place should get more recoginition than what it is now.

Highly Recommend for family, day or corporate outing.

Room Tip: they have duplex rooms with private jacuzzi bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NishanAbeywardena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenparadiselk, Resident Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Nishan,
Thanks for the Review! Great comments and really encouraging! Your repeat visit tells everyone that Green Paradise is really a worthy place to spend a holiday!

For all of us at Green Paradise," You are a special Guest as always"

Look forward to see you soon!

Susantha Bandara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wennappuwa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

njoyed every bit of the stay!!! the environment is a die for.. friendly staff.. good food :) ideal place for a good relaxation!!! a tad bit of attention needs to b given on da cleanliness.. gr8 plce! even though it was a short stay we had enjoyed it alot :) recommends to any body...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sachie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenparadiselk, Resident Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Sachie,

So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Green Paradise! we look forward to seeing you again!

Thank you for highlighting on the cleanliness! I am sure, we can do better!

regards,
Susantha Bandara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Touring Srilanka this was our second hotel having just left The Cinnamon Grand in Colombo. The place is beautiful, lovely rooms (we were upgraded to a duplex ) The staff were so nice but lacked training. The first night we were the only guests and had to wait ages for our meal. The second night there was another couple, we were in room 801 and they put them in room 802 adjoining us we could hear their tele, why do this when there was the rest of the hotel to put them in, it doesn't make sense. Anyway it was the service, little things like at breakfast I ordered 2 poached eggs, my husband had pancakes both of which were lovely but arrived 10 mins apart. So we sort of ate separately . And this when we were the only ones! They are soon to have the whole New Zealand cricket team to stay, god help them I don't think they will cope. I hope they do though as the place is beautiful with the most wonderful pool .

Room Tip: Order food two hours before you're hungry so it will arrive in time
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenparadiselk, Resident Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Julie,

Many thanks for your review! we always appreciate your honest and genuine feedback about Green Paradise Resort! Please accept my apology for the food delay and the room allocation issue highlighted here!

It is true that we need more and more training for the new staff we have recruited! and for your information, we have taken all the necessay steps to improve our staff's skills and knowledge before the season starts! on the job trainings, skill training work shops by proffessionals, english language trainings are just a few of them! this is an ongoing program.

Also, the management has taken step to upgrade guest facilities further like room aminities, recreations(including horse riding), more dining options/conferance etc.

Please do visit us again! and experience the change that we are bringing in!

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights, and experienced both the best and worst of it. This has the potential to be a superb establishment; it is fairly new, having been opened in April 2012, and has seemingly been designed and built with an enormous budget. The front desk/bar/restaurant area is beautiful; it has a fantastic design, and is well furnished. If anything, it is far to big for the number of guests that they could possibly have.

The room is also of a very high standard. Electronic lighting and AV controls; Italian bath ware, and an excellent shower. Only gripe would be the curtains don't close fully across the door/windows, meaning an early wake up call on a sunny morning.

Sadly however, the level of service provided, in no way matches the level of facilities. Whilst all of the staff are unfailingly polite and give the impression of wanting to be helpful, in reality, they provide no better than two star service.

Several points of note over the two days there...

1.) Nothing on the menu that we ordered was ever available. This took on average 20 minutes for this info to be fed back to us, before an alternative was offered.

2.) It took a minimum of 50 minutes to get any food item, even a sandwich, when there were seemingly no other people in the bar or restaurant.

3.) When we wanted to order drinks and lunch by the pool, the pool bar attendant had gone to lunch (obviously, it was lunch time). Nobody took his place, so I went to the bar (a fair walk) to order. It took 25 minutes for 2 drinks to be brought out, then a further hour for food to arrive. This when the hotel was empty and there were staff everywhere polishing sofas and generally aimlessly pottering about.

4.) F&B is ludicrously expensive. We had the dinner buffet on 1st night as there was no alternative, at 2880 rupees each plus tax & service. As the hotel is in the middle of nowhere, we didn't have a lot of choice. Quality of food wasn't bad, but not worth this money by a long way.

5.) Wifi didn't work.

6.) Checkout took 20 minutes as front desk had no internet connection. they added up the checks manually (and incorrectly), before I added them up and told them what I should pay.

Overall, this was a bizarre experience. It should have been a great experience, but the staff simply do not know how to provide 4/5 star service. We were told that they were in training (all of them?) but nobody seemed to be training them!

This place aims to rival the other resorts around Kandalama, but falls woefully short , which is a real shame because it is an excellent facility, let down by appalling management.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenparadiselk, Resident Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear MJWS,

While thanking for the long but well-intentioned review about Green Paradise, we regret to hear about your sour experience during the stay!

I am sure that we can correct most of these issues highlighted by you! We too have identified the training requirement of the staff and the traiing is already in place for all beginners! also, we have recruited a lecturer for English teaching as most of our staff are from the localty where only local languages are used!

Well, we had a issue with Inernet and WIFI on this day and which caused due to a failure from the main service provider! But we have taken steps now to have two service providers avilable in the facility instead of one. with this change, we have introduced WIFI to all rooms and Public areas!

As my team had mentioned to you, our intension is to become the best Five Star hotel in the area! we all work towards this Goal! Iam so sure that we could achieve this once all this trivial issues are handled!

Please accept my apology for not being able to take care of you well! We are certain that you would give us another opportunity to prove our hospitality and service efficiency!

Thank You,
Susantha Bandara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed for 2nights here at Green Paradise Agro Eco Hotel which is the perfect place for your relaxed stay. We checked in around 1pm, left to visit Kandarama Hotel and Dambulla Temple around 3pm, came back to the hotel around 5pm, and had dinner around 8pm on the first day. Second day, left to visit Sigiriya around 10am, came back to the hotel around 2pm, swam in the huge pool and read a novel at the pool side or the private room balcony (someone will bring you nice comfortable chairs happily if you ask), and had dinner around 8pm again...

The hotel has a beautiful garden and a huge swimming pool, it is a perfect place just to relax. Since the most of their guests are going out during the day time to visit the Cultural Triangle area, you can get really nice friendly personalized services from the hotel staff during the day time. Foods were also wonderful, especially Sri Lankan cuisine. We had both from buffet and a la cart menu.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kanaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenparadiselk, Susantha Bandara/Resident Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Kanaya,

We are very pleased to hear that you liked Green Paradise Resort and enjoyed your stay! We look forward, seeing you again at Green Paradise !

cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Pros: Wide place with beautiful landscape and clean. The pool is pretty. They make an effort to make your stay comfortable. Nice welcome drink during check in. Great shower. Breakfast is great, enjoyed the fresh hoppers.

Cons:
1) The hotel responded in an email that the rooms were fully booked even though I have prepaid and confirmed a room through Agoda. So be prepared.

2) Wifi can only be accessed from their lobby.

3) It takes approximately an hour to get your food served to you even if it was just ice cream.

4) We had food poisoning in their restaurant. I vomited along the walkway to our room and one of the cleaning staff watches me as he walks pass to continue with whatever he was suppose to do.

5) What is poor is the level of professionalism of the service staff.They do not know how to handle issues when we brought up our food poisoning incident during check out. The front service staff were very amateurish by telling us that the manager could not see us as he was busy in his office when we told them that we want to give a feedback to their manager on our condition. All the front service staff crowd around us and ask us to tell them the story of our food poisoning when they clearly do not know that issues should only be handled by one person. We forced them to let us meet the manager who was defensive at first when he said " I am not saying that you are lying" and "why didn't you tell us you had food poisoning so that we can get a doctor?". We are seasoned travellers and we know how to handle and take care of ourselves. We do not want to be charged a hefty amount from doctors on call as we were very lucky that we had hired an amazing driver who was ready to assist us 24/7 should we need his help. All we asked the manager was to remove the charge on the food ( a burger that cost $30!) that caused us food poisoning and to take steps in ensuring that the kitchen practices proper food hygiene to prevent future food poisoning to other guests. Thankfully the manager cooperated and removed the charge on the food.


Basically this hotel is very new so they may have lots of hiccups. This hotel caters to group travellers and not individual travellers. So stay here if you have no other places or choice to stay in Dambulla. It is better to just eat outside as it is cheaper too.

Room Tip: bring insect or mosquito repellent. There are mosquitoes in the room but most accommodations in Sri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MugzyMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenparadiselk, Susantha Bandara/Resident Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Guest,

While thanking you for the positive areas highlighted about the Resort, i regret to note your dissapointment about our service! the duty manager called me and informed about this complain of food poisoning soon he heard it from you! well, I dont say that could never happen in star/Luxury hotels but we as an emerging luxury hotel, food poising is the last thing we like to hear from a guest of ours! because we are very carefull in this area and we make sure all HACCP procedures are followed all the time to assure higenically prepared food!

This complain of yours was brought to our attention at the time of your check out! you have had this food(burger) the previous day evening! next day morning you went on an excursion and did not mention to us of being sick due to the food you have had from us! at the time you brought this complain to us, you have had medicine also from a doctor outside but no remark of a food poisoning! well, if a guest needs a medical attention, we have a doctor on call! It s my responsibility to look after all my guests with care and attention, we dont let our guests to pay medical bills in an incident like this! i really dont understant why this was not informed to the hotel the next day morning before your excursion! so i am not in a position to accept that this caused due to a food poisining from our resort!

Also, i need to highlight here that we do not have WIFI facility in rooms but internet connections are provided to all rooms so on request we could provide a connection cable! (Free) We have WIFI in the lobby, restaurant and bar area only!

Mosquito issue : we are in a place covered by a thick jungle all around! so there are mosquitos! but could not be inside rooms! this happens when Some guests keep their room doors open in evenings so the mosquitos creeps in! you do not have to bring repellent to the resort as we place them in every room as an aminity!

It is true that we get large groups in week ends but it does not mean that we cater only for that segment! we are a luxury boutique hotel which is more in to fine dining! our prices are much cheaper than most star class hotels in this area! we do not recommend all the outside food outlets as better dining options! well you could try them but at your own risk!

I really want this place to be the best in the triangle, in terms of service, quality and stadards! so i take your view very positively and constructively! i should be able to fine-tune all service isues, train staff more effectivly etc. so i thank you for your review! also note that i regret, i could not meet you prior to your departure as i was not in the resort at this hour! Please accept my apology!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
1.8 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,440 reviews
4.8 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,555 reviews
6.3 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#4 of 15 in Dambulla
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Signature by Amaya
Signature by Amaya
#6 of 15 in Dambulla
221 reviews
2.7 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,432 reviews
10.0 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Paradise Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paradise Resort and Spa

Property: The Paradise Resort and Spa
Address: Kubukkadanwala, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka (Formerly Green Paradise Agro Eco Hotel)
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Paradise Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the middle of the Cultural Triangle of Sri Lanka, about 160 km from the International Airport, this hidden gem offering ultimate luxury and isolation is tucked away amongst lush vegetation amidst the mystery and spirit of the past. The resort offers easy access to the nearby historical sites like the Dambulla Rock Temple and other cave temples dating back hundreds of years ago and the Sigiriya Rock fortress and the ancient cities of Anuradhapura and Polonnaruwa, as well as short drive to the East Coast beaches of Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Paradise Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing