We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dirty hotel with surly staff”
Review of Sun Ray Inn

Sun Ray Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sun Ray Inn
Ranked #62 of 93 Dambulla B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Smile guys guests love it.Clean the muck off the bedroom walls and clean the filthy bathroom tiles.
Find someone who can cook good food and you are going to see improved business.
The hotel has potential being within walking distance of the temple and caves.

Room Tip: Until they get their act together avoid it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013

Well, we selected it because of its price, cheap and location. Thats exactly what you get. Nothing more nothing less. I agree with other reviewers and all what they have said its correct. If you have no other choice and if you are very budget conscious then Sun Ray may be your choice..

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Niel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

This place was abysmal! The absolute worst place we stayed in the whole of Sri Lanka. The rooms were filthy. There was black fingerprint smudges all over the walls (and the roof!) and the bathroom was really grimy. Our room had no hot water and no toilet paper provided although I believe other rooms did - not that we wanted to take our chances in the dirty shower either way. Our room also stank of cigarette smoke

The air con was broken in our room and the fan barely made any difference in the sticky heat. The restaurant was also not very good, although edible. The mosquito net was full of holes. There was noisy traffic as it was on a busy road. The atmosphere was incredibly depressing and we couldn't wait to get out of there.

We booked this place because there seems to be little else available in Dambulla for a budget price, so my advice would be to skip staying the night in Dambulla and continue on to somewhere else for the night. Dambulla cave temples are lovely though and worth a stop in.

Room Tip: We had the room directly across from the reception desk and it was appalling, other rooms may be bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QiTian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Previous reviewers have complained of this place being dirty etc, however you must keep in mind how much money you are paying per night. For example, we paid 1500rs a night, hence we understood that the hotel was not going to be perfect, but for the price I was impressed and would recommend it. The room was clean enough, the water was hot, the wifi was free and fast and the staff friendly. The only down fall was that the room was a bit damp. They also have a reasonable resturant on site. Check it out, you could do a lot worst.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Orwellwasright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We stayed on the 19th of Dec,2012. They have nice Pub and Restaurant but the rooms need to be cleaned vey badly. Wall-paint gone, not enough light bulbs, wet and bad smell, toilets are falling apart and so dirty, found the used soap in the shower. Price is not so bad, good for one night sleep only. We stayed in this hotel in 2004 and was very good that time. Roomboys did not clean the rooms properly but did not forget to watch TV! They need training to clean the rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaywithanage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Just avoid this place! Dirty, very expensive when you book online and not helpful. It was awful for us! Water noise in the bathroom, room smells awful (pee!!) and the road noise never stops! AC doesn't work, and when we asked to change they said no!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wafasl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We booked a room in Sun Ray Inn online, a day in advance. It was amongst the cheapest rooms available online in Dambulla. From the outside the building looks absolutely fine, there is also a restaurant and a bar attached. Reception staff is very friendly and confirmed our online reservation and prepayment without any issues. The room itself was clean in a sense that the stuff that could be cleaned was not filthy. Bathroom featured a power shower and the AC worked as well. The only furniture in the room was three beds and a small table. The walls, however, looked like someone started plastering and painting them, but them didn't finish. One wall had a massive mould problem - it was very damp. The parts that were painted had stains on them (although they were not filthy). It was only lit by one lightbulb. Overall, despite the fact that it was clean, it was a pretty depressing experience. It basically needs to be painted from scratch. Restaurant serves acceptable food at acceptable prices. In a nutshell - the cheapest place in Dambulla available online - you get what you paid for (or to rephrase that, you don't get what you didn't pay for). We slept in hotels in Sri Lanka where we paid twice as much and the hotel was not any better and on the other hand Stratosphere Hotel in Las Vegas costs twice as much as Sun Ray Inn in Dambulla but it may as well be in another dimention and on another planet in another galaxy in terms of quality of the room.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sugarfr33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dambulla hotels
4.1 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 17 in Dambulla
3,691 reviews
4.2 mi away
Amaya Lake
Amaya Lake
#6 of 17 in Dambulla
1,584 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kalundewa Retreat
Kalundewa Retreat
#9 of 17 in Dambulla
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Paradise Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
Sundaras Resort & Spa
Sundaras Resort & Spa
#11 of 17 in Dambulla
635 reviews
2.9 mi away
Thilanka Resort and Spa
Thilanka Resort and Spa
#7 of 17 in Dambulla
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Ray Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Ray Inn

Address: 156 Kandy Road, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Dambulla
Price Range: £14 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 6 rooms at this hotel are tailored to satisfy guests' needs. All rooms have ironing board, air conditioning, shower as well as other amenities. The hotel boasts restaurant, 24hr room service, family room, laundry service/dry cleaning as part of its superior facilities and services. Those looking for first-rate sporting and leisure facilities will find garden. With a full range of popular amenities and a friendly, caring staff, it's no wonder guests keep returning to Sun Ray Inn. Sun Ray Inn Sigiriya / Dambulla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sun Ray Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing