We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice old place near the Dambula caves”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heritage Dambulla Hotel
Ranked #41 of 93 Dambulla B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Nice small hotel (4 rooms?) in old building. Recently renovated, rooms are comfortable with A/C and TV, huge bathroom was piece of the art. Staff is always smiling and very helpful. We enjoyed three meals in the restaurant (small as the hotel) and especially our waiter (he served us all 3 times).
Very convenient for cave monastery. For town you should take tuk-tuk. We also went to Sigiriya by tuk-tuk from here, it costs up to 1500 rupees for roun trip.
Located on the busy main road but it gets quiet in the nignt, so no problem with sleep.
It was one of the more expensive places of our Sri Lanka trip (~5600 rupees without breakfast) but worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arvydas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

we stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed it. The rooms are very spacious and clean, the staff is very helpful and the food served is slightly overpriced but good none the less. The location itself is very close to the Dambulla caves bu abit further from the town itself, but close to a bus stop and there is always a tuk tuk around to bring you to town if you cannot bear to walk 15 minutes. For light sleepers this is on the main Kandy road so there is quite some traffic passing by.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinaLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

this hotel has a huge property and facilities.....but ,its located remote away from the dumbulla village..!!!
and getting here from colombo airport will cost you a lot.
beside getting to dumbulla village or even the golden temple is not ,by any mean, an easy task to do by yourself!!!
you always needs to call the hotel info disk to book your hotel taxi or the cheaper choice the hotel tuk tuk ( which is in may times not an available option ).
the chek in /out was very quick and friendly and they have a regular morning welcoming celebrations for new guest visitors with elephans and horses,which was really nice.
the room was decent but i did not meet the usual 5 stars western standards ,the restaurant breakfast /dinner buffet was very delicious with many choices.
the staff were very helpful and friendly .
they have 3 pools...one of them called the natural pool...and my personal advice ...stay away from it..!!!
it seems muddy and greeny ..!! as if , the name of natural means rainy water with infestations of parasites..!
personally , i got goose pumps for just seeing it !
in summery, this is a remote away very very big hotel with alot of facilities which did not have an easy access to village ..!!!
and definitely bad choice and not very suitable for exploring sri lanka for first time visitors..
my personal advise stay in sigiraya village and you can visit the dumball temple from there.
if you wann stay in this hotel..
do not forget to upgrade the room...never ever pick the standard rooms....believe me ,its really worth every pinny.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommy-moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My friend and I decided it would be more convenient to stay in Dambulla rather than out near Sigiriya and we did not regret our decision. The location is very convenient if you want to walk to the Golden Temple (5 minutes walk) or into Dambulla town to get a bus to places such as Polonnaruwa (15 minute walk).
The hotel is lovely. The rooms have been renovated in a modern but not over the top way and were very clean. The shower had plenty of hot water and we were provided with fresh towels everyday.
I was worried about the noise after reading reviews on here, but this wasn't an issue at all as we had chosen what a departing guest referred to as 'the crypt room' (it had no windows and was located behind reception). Also, my friend and I both wear earplugs to bed so that definitely contributed to the lack of noise.
There is a lovely veranda you can sit out on, where you can also get strong wifi. The restaurant serves good food - we ate breakfast and dinner there everyday - and it is not that expensive. The staff were friendly, but when we asked questions about getting from Dambulla to Kandy etc, they seemed not to know anything.

Room Tip: We chose the room behind reception which was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jocelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Previously a government Rest House for colonial officials, it has just 4 beautifully renovated and furnished rooms and is full of character. The staff are very friendly and helpful and they work very well and happily as a team. Nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant though a small menu produces lovely food to meet all tastes. Internet access is possible via the reception computer. And the setting, set back from the main road and within walking distance of the Dambulla caves, is perfect. We didn't find the road noise intrusive,, and enjoyed people-watching from the front garden as the sun went down.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

It is a newly renovated property but it has lots of issues. First the location. Litteraly by the main road and nothing stops the noise. Prices are too high considering what you get. Badly trained staff, one of them very arrogant. They sit all day in front of your room doing nothing. The food also nothing special. The place is nice and well furnished but lacks of basic stuff such as television or reading lights. Overall, I think there would be much better choices for that price. One good thing, after lots of discussion they agreed on changing my reservation. Yet, i would not go there again. Actually you should avoid Dambulla at all. There is nothing much too see there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crikx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Argillaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dambulla hotels
0 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 17 in Dambulla
3,694 reviews
0 mi away
Amaya Lake
Amaya Lake
#6 of 17 in Dambulla
1,586 reviews
0 mi away
Kalundewa Retreat
Kalundewa Retreat
#9 of 17 in Dambulla
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Paradise Resort and Spa
0 mi away
Sundaras Resort & Spa
Sundaras Resort & Spa
#11 of 17 in Dambulla
636 reviews
0 mi away
Thilanka Resort and Spa
Thilanka Resort and Spa
#7 of 17 in Dambulla
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Dambulla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Dambulla Hotel

Address: Dambulla, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Dambulla
Price Range: £34 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heritage Dambulla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing