We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heritage Dambulla Hotel
Ranked #36 of 87 Dambulla B&B and Inns
HK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Small hotel”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

A small hotel with only 4 rooms and no facility. Room is big, but along the main road.

Food in the restaurant is ok.

However, considering as a hotel under CHC chain, it is not good enough. However, the price is not too high.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shysloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    23
    17
    3
    5
See reviews for
7
28
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Location is great for going to the caves and Sigiriya. Food at the hotel is reasonable and service ok. You get what you pay for. Rooms are small, has a/c and fan. There are no rooms away from the street and if you are a light sleeper, not the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Team-Scatooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Nice small hotel (4 rooms?) in old building. Recently renovated, rooms are comfortable with A/C and TV, huge bathroom was piece of the art. Staff is always smiling and very helpful. We enjoyed three meals in the restaurant (small as the hotel) and especially our waiter (he served us all 3 times).
Very convenient for cave monastery. For town you should take tuk-tuk. We also went to Sigiriya by tuk-tuk from here, it costs up to 1500 rupees for roun trip.
Located on the busy main road but it gets quiet in the nignt, so no problem with sleep.
It was one of the more expensive places of our Sri Lanka trip (~5600 rupees without breakfast) but worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arvydas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

we stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed it. The rooms are very spacious and clean, the staff is very helpful and the food served is slightly overpriced but good none the less. The location itself is very close to the Dambulla caves bu abit further from the town itself, but close to a bus stop and there is always a tuk tuk around to bring you to town if you cannot bear to walk 15 minutes. For light sleepers this is on the main Kandy road so there is quite some traffic passing by.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinaLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

this hotel has a huge property and facilities.....but ,its located remote away from the dumbulla village..!!!
and getting here from colombo airport will cost you a lot.
beside getting to dumbulla village or even the golden temple is not ,by any mean, an easy task to do by yourself!!!
you always needs to call the hotel info disk to book your hotel taxi or the cheaper choice the hotel tuk tuk ( which is in may times not an available option ).
the chek in /out was very quick and friendly and they have a regular morning welcoming celebrations for new guest visitors with elephans and horses,which was really nice.
the room was decent but i did not meet the usual 5 stars western standards ,the restaurant breakfast /dinner buffet was very delicious with many choices.
the staff were very helpful and friendly .
they have 3 pools...one of them called the natural pool...and my personal advice ...stay away from it..!!!
it seems muddy and greeny ..!! as if , the name of natural means rainy water with infestations of parasites..!
personally , i got goose pumps for just seeing it !
in summery, this is a remote away very very big hotel with alot of facilities which did not have an easy access to village ..!!!
and definitely bad choice and not very suitable for exploring sri lanka for first time visitors..
my personal advise stay in sigiraya village and you can visit the dumball temple from there.
if you wann stay in this hotel..
do not forget to upgrade the room...never ever pick the standard rooms....believe me ,its really worth every pinny.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommy-moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My friend and I decided it would be more convenient to stay in Dambulla rather than out near Sigiriya and we did not regret our decision. The location is very convenient if you want to walk to the Golden Temple (5 minutes walk) or into Dambulla town to get a bus to places such as Polonnaruwa (15 minute walk).
The hotel is lovely. The rooms have been renovated in a modern but not over the top way and were very clean. The shower had plenty of hot water and we were provided with fresh towels everyday.
I was worried about the noise after reading reviews on here, but this wasn't an issue at all as we had chosen what a departing guest referred to as 'the crypt room' (it had no windows and was located behind reception). Also, my friend and I both wear earplugs to bed so that definitely contributed to the lack of noise.
There is a lovely veranda you can sit out on, where you can also get strong wifi. The restaurant serves good food - we ate breakfast and dinner there everyday - and it is not that expensive. The staff were friendly, but when we asked questions about getting from Dambulla to Kandy etc, they seemed not to know anything.

Room Tip: We chose the room behind reception which was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Previously a government Rest House for colonial officials, it has just 4 beautifully renovated and furnished rooms and is full of character. The staff are very friendly and helpful and they work very well and happily as a team. Nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant though a small menu produces lovely food to meet all tastes. Internet access is possible via the reception computer. And the setting, set back from the main road and within walking distance of the Dambulla caves, is perfect. We didn't find the road noise intrusive,, and enjoyed people-watching from the front garden as the sun went down.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dambulla hotels
0.0 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,529 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dambulla Rest House
Dambulla Rest House
#42 of 87 in Dambulla
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sundaras Resort & Spa
Sundaras Resort & Spa
#9 of 15 in Dambulla
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Amaya Lake
Amaya Lake
#5 of 15 in Dambulla
1,524 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Paradise Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Relax Guesthouse
Relax Guesthouse
#12 of 87 in Dambulla
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Dambulla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Dambulla Hotel

Property: Heritage Dambulla Hotel
Address: Dambulla, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heritage Dambulla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing