We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heritage Dambulla Hotel
Ranked #41 of 91 Dambulla B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

The room was big, clean bathroom, nice service. Great Sri Lanka breakfast. Location is great, within walking distance from the caves. There is a nice porch where you can sit outside in the evening. I could see the Heritage network hotels in other tourist cities in Sri Lanka too, on my next visit I will consider booking with them. Good budget accommodation.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

The service in the restaurant was the worst we experienced during our 16 day holiday to Sri Lanka, the staff didn't know what was available from the menu, despite not being busy it took an unacceptable amount of time to greet us, to take drinks and food orders and to bring the ordered items to our table. They failed to display the welcoming and friendly nature that we had become accustomed to throughout Sri Lanka.

Our bathroom was dirty, there were no towels and no hot water, and the room was not serviced - the hygiene paper was not replenished.

It is very close to the road and there is constant traffic throughout the night - earplugs and a sleep mask are essential.

There is nothing to do in Dambulla once you've been to the caves - we recommend staying in Sigiriya instead as there is lots more choice of places to stay and eat, and it looks to be much more peaceful.

Room Tip: We were in Room 103 (there are just 4 rooms) - it is big with a A/C but, as with all the rooms, it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisbrown14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Photos are deceiving. Our last night in Sri Lanka was spent at this roadside stop. We paid 72$/night. I found out later that a friend had paid 18$/night for the same exact room. For 18$/night it is a deal. For 72$ it is a dump. The rooms are musty, the carpets are filthy as are the walls. There is no hot water at all. The staff was very nice but otherwise, unless you are paying the 18$ rate, I would avoid this place.

Room Tip: Make sure that you are not overpaying during high season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank runbunnierun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My wife and I spent 4 nights there. The hotel is located by the road, which is quite busy. However, this provides a authentic feeling for Sri Lanka, and the rooms are quiet at night. Staff was extremely helpful (finding a driver, etc.) and providing excellent service. Through booking.com we were able to book at attractive rates. Due to its location, Dambulla is excellent for visiting Sigiriya, Anuradhapura, Mineriya NP and Pollonoruwa. Don't miss the cave temples, which are just a short walk away from the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geschaeftsmannnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

A small hotel with only 4 rooms and no facility. Room is big, but along the main road.

Food in the restaurant is ok.

However, considering as a hotel under CHC chain, it is not good enough. However, the price is not too high.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shysloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Location is great for going to the caves and Sigiriya. Food at the hotel is reasonable and service ok. You get what you pay for. Rooms are small, has a/c and fan. There are no rooms away from the street and if you are a light sleeper, not the place for you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Team-Scatooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Nice small hotel (4 rooms?) in old building. Recently renovated, rooms are comfortable with A/C and TV, huge bathroom was piece of the art. Staff is always smiling and very helpful. We enjoyed three meals in the restaurant (small as the hotel) and especially our waiter (he served us all 3 times).
Very convenient for cave monastery. For town you should take tuk-tuk. We also went to Sigiriya by tuk-tuk from here, it costs up to 1500 rupees for roun trip.
Located on the busy main road but it gets quiet in the nignt, so no problem with sleep.
It was one of the more expensive places of our Sri Lanka trip (~5600 rupees without breakfast) but worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arvydas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dambulla hotels
0.0 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 16 in Dambulla
3,638 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dambulla Rest House
Dambulla Rest House
#46 of 91 in Dambulla
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thilanka Resort and Spa
Thilanka Resort and Spa
#7 of 16 in Dambulla
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sundaras Resort & Spa
Sundaras Resort & Spa
#9 of 16 in Dambulla
612 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amaya Lake
Amaya Lake
#6 of 16 in Dambulla
1,562 reviews
0.0 mi away
Relax Guesthouse
Relax Guesthouse
#11 of 91 in Dambulla
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Dambulla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Dambulla Hotel

Address: Dambulla, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Dambulla
Price Range: £30 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heritage Dambulla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing