We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a peaceful and cosy hotel”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arika Boutique Villa
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Certificate of Excellence
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“a peaceful and cosy hotel”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

When booking, I tried to search for some comments about Arika Villa, but could not find almost anything. Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised to find a nice and modern-looking small hotel in a quiet location. We learnt that it was opened just 6 months ago. Villa has a great ambience and the staff is helpful and friendly. They told us they didn't have a room for drivers there, but the receptionist helped us out and accomodated our driver during our stay.
Our room (#102) was really spacious with an exit to the backyard. The bathroom was big too and its open roof gave me the impression of taking a shower outside (a very interesting design solution). There were also a swimming-pool, garden and a bbq to use. There was no problem to get a socket adaptor from the reception. The hotel offers Continental, English or Sri Lankan breakfast and the menu for dinner is well thought-out.
We stayed in Arika Villa for 2 nights and we truly enjoyed the quietness, relaxing environment and being surrounded by nature. In the morning you could hear birds singing which was lovely!
A couple of things to improve: the wifi was only accessible from the reception and there was no signal in the room. The frigde was so loud we had to switch it off at night. There were too many switches in the room and to find the correct one for the lamp you needed patience trying all of them in a row until finding the right one :)
Despite these small drawbacks, it is a highly recomendable place to stay with children, friends or for couples at an affordable price.

Room Tip: to avoid waiting I would suggest to order your dinner menu in advance during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w4nd3rluster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    41
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
24
59
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights recently.

The villa is a great idea and location is lovely however I think some things have been overlooked.

Our room on the ground floor had an open roof over the shower which is nice until it rains!! It was unbelievably loud one evening.

there are fridges in the room with nothing in them but they are incredibly loud. I switched ours off.

Also there are only comfy seats in the very small reception area, could do with some in the rooms perhaps which are easily big enough.

Another thing to note is that they don't sell alcohol at all and apparently you can't buy lion lager anywhere in the area. Not that it's a big deal but its nice to have a beer when it's so hot and there's nothing else to do at night - the tv in our room didn't always work either!

However, the staff are attentive and will usually do what they can for you. Good location for the tourist sights also.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor in rainy season
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanabe_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California City, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

I want to give this place an excellent review but two things stop me from doing so - firstly, our room had a cockroach each night I was there, and secondly, the first night we waited more than an hour for the food, although the two breakfasts and other dinner we had here came quickly.

On the plus side - we had a huge and rather nice bathroom in our ground floor bedroom with a skylight that extended beyond the first floor. (I suppose our location on the ground floor was the reason for cockroaches and other insects, and thus we didn't make a fuss about the cockroaches.)

The location was also off the beaten track, so it is extremely tranquil and great for a relaxing stay.

The staff we interacted with also tried to be very helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My two daughters (23ys & 2yrs), housemaid, my wife and myself checked in to Arika Boutique Villa, Dambulla, Srilanka on 11th October 2013 for 02nights but loved our experience that we cancelled our visit to Nuwara Eliya and stayed an extra night at Arika.

Arika Boutique Villa is an hideout, hidden in greenery, in a village. Staying at Arika will give you a quite, serene, peaceful and relaxing stay at an affordable price. A river stream passes one side of Arika and water from four rivers flow here.

The Architecture, colours both exterior and interior are amazing. The rooms that we stayed in and the bathrooms were excellent . The bathroom was the best . I have never stayed anywhere where the bathroom is so big and gives you a view of the trees and the sky. Staying on the ground floor, we had the swimming pool in front of our main door and the garden at the back door.

From the time we entered we were pampered by the staff; each of them very professional and would cater to our every need and were very friendly. They made the atmosphere so homely that I sometimes felt that I was staying in my own villa. I knew each of them by their names.

The food was excellent. The Chef who has international experience cooked anything that we asked him. He was excellent. Most of the other staff too have worked outside Srilanka in various hotels.

In a few months fruits and vegetables will be available from Arika’s own organic farm.

I highly recommend Arika Boutique Villa for families, honeymooners, and anyone who is looking for peace and quietness.


Freddy D'Cruz
Dubai.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I booked for two nights here but ending up staying for four! I was lucky to be one of their first guests and was warmly welcomed. The hotel is in a quiet location and surrounded by nature and wildlife which makes for a very relaxing and peaceful stay. The pool is lovely for a proper swim and right in the middle of the hotel so it's nice to get pop out of the room.The staff are wonderful: very professional and cater for your every need along with being geninuely friendly. The food was great and the chef has worked abroad so can cook you both Sri Lankan and European dishes - I was very impressed by all of it.
I would recommend this hotel for couples and families. I would also recommend it for people, like me, who are on their own and want some peace and quiet for a few days.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
6.2 mi away
No photo provided
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,489 reviews
3.4 mi away
No photo provided
Jetwing Lake
#4 of 15 in Dambulla
102 reviews
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Kalundewa Retreat
#9 of 15 in Dambulla
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
No photo provided
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,591 reviews
7.3 mi away
No photo provided
Signature by Amaya
#6 of 15 in Dambulla
226 reviews
10.3 mi away
No photo provided
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arika Boutique Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arika Boutique Villa

Property: Arika Boutique Villa
Address: Puwakattawala Road, 40th mile post | off Matale Road, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arika Boutique Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deviating from the long scenic route of the A9 road which connects Matale and Dambulla, one comes across a path surrounded by a wild, lush natural forest leading to one of the most unique and secluded getaway spots in the serenity of rural Sri Lanka. The Arika Luxury Villa, evocatively named after the intricate water lily; is located in a heavily landscaped area at the confluence where the stream meets the local river. With a part of the hotel facing the stream and merging with the tranquility of the natural surroundings, its strategic position in the remarkable location highlights its environmentally friendly ethos and makes it the perfect private hideaway. The alluring aura subtly brings you to an inviting stairway which leads to an age-old door from the culturally rich city of Jaffna; embedded on the seemingly raw, but environmentally friendly, brick wall which holds the key to your luxury stay within. Following the concept of the water lily; after which the hotel is named after; Arika is a complex two-floored architectural marvel that is built around an indoor swimming pool overlooking the passing stream beyond the open deck. The hotel boasts of facilities such as a glass-walled multi-cuisine restaurant to enhance a welcoming feel and a steam room for relaxation. Having avoided damage to the surrounding environment as much as possible, the hotel also has a local Karandha tree indoors emerging from the courtyard. Most of the furniture is purely cement based thus giving it a natural perspective. Going along the lines of a green concept; solar panels are used for water heating and recyclable materials for other aspects, thus making it a seamless eco-friendly experience. Yes ... Arika prides itself as the perfect secret escape for those who seek pure tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arika Boutique Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing