We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning experience”
Review of Amaya Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amaya Lake
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Dambulla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We were there in mid February. It was a family vacation.
The experience was superb and we are hoping to go there once again...

The blue waters of the pool, greenery of the environment, magic of the silent lake and the peacefulness were charming...And the food was delicious and what's more...served in an open restaurant..

Kids enjoyed the stay thoroughly. We were seated near the picturesque lake in the evening and were there once again in the early morning..the feeling cannot be described in words.

Service was great and the chalets were beautifully and creatively decorated...And the landscaping cannot be forgotten either.

All in all it is the perfect place for eco-friendly stay in the midst of luxuries.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kakanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaya R, PR Team at Amaya Lake at Amaya Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear Kakanch,

Ayubowan!
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It means a lot to us. We couldn't agree more with the surroundings, it's very calm and picturesque.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
PR Team at Amaya Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

893 - 899 of 1,585 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2013

we stayes 3 Nights at Amaya lake Hotel and it was a wonderfull time.hotel staff was very friendly and gave us a Nice room.Food was awsm.they had a good Chef.The food was good with plenty of choice and show cooking. We would certainly recomend this hotel to friends.
although that was nice, the rest of my comments are not coloured by it..this is a truly nice hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaya R, PR Team at Amaya Lake at Amaya Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear Peter R,

Ayubowan!
Thank you for your feedback. Glad you had a great time and enjoyed the food and room. Please do come back soon.

Sincerely,
PR Team at Amaya Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Amaya Lake offers the perfect getaway for those who want to take a rest along their journey. We stayed at Amaya Lake en route to Trincomalee in the East Coast and it was the perfect relaxation hotel for a blissful nights' rest after our journey from Colombo.
Amaya Lake offers the best views of the lake even though the nearby Kandalama hotel outshines it. However, Amaya Lake is less crowded and unlike Kandalama's monkey problem, Amaya Lake has managed to keep monkeys at bay with their hotel's architecture even though some tourists claim to have seen snakes around the property.
The food is delicious and the service is good. However, at meal times be wary of squirrels and chipmunks trying to tempt you into giving them food. They can be agressive when you start giving food and stop it. We highly recommend Amaya Lake as a traveller's stop or the best place to stay if you're visiting the Sigiriya Lion Rock.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nilmadole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaya R, PR Team at Amaya Lake at Amaya Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear nilmadole,

Ayubowan!
Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience with us. We do have some harmless wild life around the hotel gardens which adds to the beauty of our eco-friendly resort and our naturalists are always on call to assist you. Glad you enjoyed the food and service and we will sure relay your comments to the staff. Look forward to having you with us again!

Sincerely,
PR Team at Amaya Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We stayed here on our 33rd wedding Anniversary between 17th to 19th feb. 2013. This is a beautiful resort spread over a big piece of land with cottages laid spaciously & surrounded by lush green plants & trees all around you. One corner of the resort meets beautiful lake. You will feel magical effect when you walk on well laid paths amid mother nature & birds singing around you all the time. This resort & surrounding area is habituated by quite a large spices of birds & bird watching tour is just amazing. It is perfect place to meditate & de-stress in a very beautiful tranquil atmosphere. A magical place for people having stressful life to unwind or to spend a romantic holiday for young couples & honeymooners.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jatintatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaya R, PR Team at Amaya Lake at Amaya Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear jatintatia,

Ayubowan!
Thank you for your positive feedback!! Wow, glad we could make your stay a memorable one.
We’re happy to have been able to make the experience much more wonderful and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
PR Team at Amaya Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

This is our 14th visit to Amaya Lake; we were in room #306, very nice and comfortable.We had a very pleasant stay.

Manager was so friendly and very professional.The staff is one of the most pleasant and helping staff.We have ever come across.From the reception to the restaurant they were with a big smile & help full.

Thank you Amaya Lake for a wonderful stay.

Mr. & Mrs Peter Hofmann

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaya R, PR Team @ Amaya Lake at Amaya Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear Peter H,

Ayubowan!
Wow!! Glad you came back to us for the 14th time!! Thank you so much for your kind comments about our staff. We couldn't agree more! Look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,
PR Team at Amaya Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Amaya Lake is a place you will like to come back to. We stayed there 2 nights on a roundtrip Sri Lanka. If you are near Dambulla take a stay in Amaya Lake, The food breakfast and dinner is very good. The evening dance show is near professional.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaya R, PR Team @ Amaya Lake at Amaya Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear Saabin,

Ayubowan!
Always nice to hear a review as wonderful as yours!! Thank you for taking the time to do so. Please visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
PR Team at Amaya Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Visited this awesome hotel over the long weekend, 23rd to 25th February.

The Welcome: Fantastic! Lit the oil lamp and was garlanded at arrival. I especially liked the Sri Lankan folk drummers playing while we alighted from the vehicle. Nice touch. Delightful welcome by Priyanthi and her front office team.

The hotel : Immaculate! Clean and a large expanse of well maintained estate with a stunning pool.

The rooms : Clean! We checked in to the luxury rooms, well appointed and spacious. The Jacuzzi was superb. Enjoyed the baths, the rain shower and changing lights!!

The food : The best "village style food" we have had in a very long time. The chef's went out of the way to make delightful and mouth watering array of dishes to suit our palette. The buffet's had a large choice of local as well as international food, different theme nights added to the atmosphere.

The service : I read on TripAdvisor some comments about the service hence was particularly interested in this area. I was travelling with family (9 pax in total with 3 kids). The service staff from the front office to F&B and housekeeping were excellent. They were pro-active to our needs although the hotel was very busy and full house! This is an area which defines the culture of the hotel and they have delivered par excellence.

The management : The GM was always visible and driving the team. He was interacting with clients which was good to see and this personal can do attitude does filter in to the team as a whole.

Overall experience : Five star! Ticked all the boxes from cleanliness to service to Food and Beverage. The kids were in tears when we checked out.......We will come back!!

Room Tip: If you book a trip to the Minneriya National Park, don't take the short cut route, the road is q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sugath W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaya R, PR Team @ Amaya Lake at Amaya Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear Sugath W,

Ayubowan!
Thank you, thank you, thank you!! Music to our ears that you were taken care of and your experience was a positive one. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
PR Team at Amaya Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
1.6 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 17 in Dambulla
3,691 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amaya Signature
Amaya Signature
#5 of 17 in Dambulla
252 reviews
3.6 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#1 of 17 in Dambulla
174 reviews
7 mi away
Kalundewa Retreat
Kalundewa Retreat
#9 of 17 in Dambulla
121 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaya Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaya Lake

Address: PO Box 12 Kandalama Dambulla | Cultural Triangle, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Dambulla
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dambulla
#4 Spa Hotel in Dambulla
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dambulla
Price Range: £70 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amaya Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of enchanting Kandalama Lake, discover a lifestyle defined by tradition and natural splendour. Nestled amid 40 acres of lush forest, Amaya Lake preserves the aura of local historical treasures, creating a feeling of old-world Sri Lankan charm matched with modern luxury. Located in the heart of Sri Lanka’s Cultural Triangle, the resort is the ideal base for exploring nearby wonders such as the ancient city of Anuradhapura and the Dambulla cave temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Amaya Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaya Lake Dambulla
Amaya Lake Hotel Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing