We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wondeful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amaya Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amaya Lake
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Certificate of Excellence
Focsani, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wondeful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, good food, friendly staff. Hotel is for those who love nature. Peaceful oasis, a huge wonderful garden, wonderful landscapes: mountains, lake, tropical garden a small heaven corner. Rooms are very nice and clean. Corect price for good services. I think it is not for families with small children.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Dragos H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    507
    186
    78
    50
See reviews for
401
647
44
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed at Amaya Lake in Dambulla for 02 nights in October 2013. Although we expected the hotel to be a nice and a beautiful place, it turned out to be "not nice" from the very beginning of our stay. Except for the local women playing the "Raban" to welcome the guests at the very entrance to the Hotel, there was no man or woman who greeted us at the Hotel lobby. No body from the Reception either greeted us or acknowledged us or requested us to take a seat.There was no smile or a simple "hello", which put us off in the first place. After nearly ten minutes passed, we were served with a welcome drink and thereafter we were taken to our chalet by a bell boy. The Hotel staff looked bored and uninterested in the guests and did not care at all to give a smile.

The chalet was smelly when we entered and we had to ask for an air freshener. The bathroom of the chalet was disgusting. Every thing in the bathroom was old and crumbling and we felt that the bathroom has to be totally redone and refurbished with new taps, wash basins and showers. The TV was extra ordinarily small and old and we felt that the Management of the Hotel should consider replacing it with at least a 32 inch flat TV. The bedding and the furniture too were old and we felt depressed to be inside a place of that nature on holiday.The closet doors could not be opened and closed easily and to reach the closet, one had to remove the lampshade by the bedside. During the entire 02 days, our chalet was not cleaned and we were not provided with fresh towels.

The only nice things about the place was the lush lawns and the beautiful Kandalama Lake, where one could gaze at for hours on end and enjoy the peaceful surroundings. We certainly enjoyed being by the lake side and having the opportunity of seeing so many varieties of birds.

The Management of the Hotel should take note of the complaints seriously and should try to give the guests their moneys worth.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thushani D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We were supposed to stay 3 nights, but left after the first one (even if that meant losing the money for the final 2 nights) after we tasted the food (absolutely terrible - greasy and smelly) and had a short plunge in the swimming pool where leaves, dirty papers were lingering at the bottom. I even got a rash after swimming in it. Our bath tub and shower cabin were also dirty and a swing fro children in the playground was broken. The hotel was incredibly noisy and crowded when we were there and the staff didn't seem to bother that some of the guests were spitting in the pool..... Overall, by far the worst (and only bad) experience in our lovely holiday in Sri Lanka - DO NOT GO there, it's not worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mimi77154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed in Amaya lake for one night. It's a great hotel by the beautiful Kandalama lake. The staff was friendly and helpful. Although there are so many interesting things to keep you occupied, I must say that the room TV provided was disappointing! It was very small/out dated with a cheap local cable connection. The food was great; we had a good time..

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aweejas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Seamless blend with the tropical landscape, on the catchment area of Kandalama Lake, the hotel offers truly Sri Lankan village hospitality atmosphere with "Raban Drummers" welcoming you. Excellent Sri Lankan food among other eastern and western culinary cuisines, courteous service and spacious well furbished rooms. With less than 45 minutes journey to Minneriya reserve you can take a very close look at hundreds of wild elephants.

Room Tip: should be prepared to walk a bit as the premises is vast and cabana style rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sithira_thinula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful place to stay. Lovely attention to detail. Food and service was excellent. Lovely people. Bed a little too hard for us but that is personal preference. Should be up there with the front runners as a good place to stay to visit Dambulla caves and Sigiriya rock. We visited a workshop for carving and batik centre in the area. I wouldn't say they are only interested in your money but you do feel obliged to buy. Also a short elephant ride which was a disappointment as the 'jungle' part of the ride was through an assortment of plastic bags and other rubbish. For 70 usd they could spend a couple of hours picking the rubbish up which would make the experience much nicer and they would get a bigger tip !!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KristaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matugama, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

The Hotel is stretched over a vast area and you may have to walk a bit to get to your room. beautiful place near Kandalama lake. you can get seasonal discount prices up to 50% by using Sampath bank or Seylan bank credit cards. So watch out for promotions.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RavinduRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
1.6 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,303 reviews
0.0 mi away
Signature by Amaya
Signature by Amaya
#4 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
3.6 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
7.0 mi away
Kalundewa Retreat
Kalundewa Retreat
#9 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
10.3 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaya Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaya Lake

Property: Amaya Lake
Address: PO Box 12 Kandalama Dambulla | Cultural Triangle, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Dambulla
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dambulla
#3 Family Hotel in Dambulla
#3 Spa Hotel in Dambulla
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amaya Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of enchanting Kandalama Lake, discover a lifestyle defined by tradition and natural splendour. Nestled amid 40 acres of lush forest, Amaya Lake preserves the aura of local historical treasures, creating a feeling of old-world Sri Lankan charm matched with modern luxury. Located in the heart of Sri Lanka’s Cultural Triangle, the resort is the ideal base for exploring nearby wonders such as the ancient city of Anuradhapura and the Dambulla cave temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Amaya Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaya Lake Dambulla
Amaya Lake Hotel Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing