We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting stay!”
Review of Amaya Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amaya Lake
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Interesting stay!”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed in Amaya Lake for three nights. The hotel is on the lake and is beautiful to wake up too. The staff are exceptionally friendly! They made are stay enjoyable, specially all the restaurant staff. The food was great too, we had a wide selection of food and great for vegetarians. However, we did have a few problems. There was a group of six of us. We checked in on the first day and were taken to our rooms. They were quite far so we went in a buggy. The rooms were very dull and I didn't like them. In my room The bathroom lights were not working, the A/C was leaking, there were no towels and no hot water! There were lots of insects and lizards which is understandable as we were by the lake and it had rained however I found a lizard on my pillow and lizard droppings on the floor and on the bed post questioning when they had cleaned the rooms. We complained and were moved a few rooms down. Due to all the problems the receptionist that night said we will move you to different rooms tomorrow but tonight they are all occupied. We did not sleep much that night thinking something is going to crawl into our bed. The next day we were moved to the luxury suites and they were absolutely awesome!!! We had a massive room with a lovely bathroom which had a bath too. This room was SO much better I was shocked I was in the same hotel. We were okay for the next two nights and enjoyed our new room. My aunt and uncle who had been moved next to us however had problems. Their A/C was not working, they found a rat one night and were therefore moved to another room again. They slept in three different rooms the three nights. I really enjoyed my last two nights there and the staff are wonderful. However due to all the hassle we had I would not recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Go for the luxury suites if you can! Do not go for rooms 205 to 209!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Priyal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaya R, Public Relations Manager at Amaya Lake, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Priyal S,

Ayubowan!

We thank you for your detailed feedback, as it is the best way for us to understand how we can enhance your guest experience in the future. We are glad to enjoyed your stay at the Luxury Villas and cannot agree more than they are impeccable in luxury and quality.
As we are a resort which blends in with the nature, especially with the beautiful Kandalama Lake on the shores we cannot deny the flora and fauna surrounding the hotel and is working daily on preserving the same.
However, I will relay all your comments to our Room Services Manager and we hope that the next time you visit Dambulla, Sri Lanka you will give us an opportunity to make it up to you and make your stay flawless.

Sincerely,
Public Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    542
    195
    81
    50
See reviews for
433
683
44
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Was a good break. Liked everything except the way the local singers/musicians are treated - almost like beggars on the streets. The authority should show a bit more respect to these traditional artists. They should not be made to sit on the stairs or next to porch on the floor.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pam_ben68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaya R, Public Relations Manager at Amaya Lake, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear pam_ben68

Ayubowan!

Thank you very much for your review! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

As a resort which helps in uplifting the local living standards of people we do treat them with the most respect. However, thank you for sharing this comment and I will be sure to relay this feedback to the Hotel Manager.

Please let us know if you would like our hotel manager to contact you directly to speak further.

Look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Dambulla, Sri Lanka.

Cheers,
PR Team at Amaya Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I would say one of the greatest hotels in Dambulla. Great staff they make you really feel that you are @home. Food As usual always Great .Great spread. Keep it up,the new rooms which we stayed was more an 7 star We have stayed in many hotels I would rate Amaya in the top three with out any hesitation.

Room Tip: New Rooms in the new wing are great other rooms are also fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaya R, Public Relations Manager at Amaya Lake, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear chris p,

Ayubowan!

Thank you for your wonderful review! And we are glad that you chose to stay with us again!

We are extremely happy that our services and facilities exceeded your expectations.

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review and we do hope you will visit us once again.

Cheers,
PR Team at Amaya Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We were at Amaya lake for few weeks, before and it was a stunning destination for Honey moon couples:
With it's excellent view facing to 'Kanndalama Lake' with the spectacular collection of trees which was preserved from the inception of the 'Hotel' and very much excellent cleanliness in the rooms, garden and the other areas of the hotel were maintained:

The friendly staff with broad smiles offer and excellent service in Rooms / Restaurant / Cooks prepared excellent taste of food / and welcoming Reception staff do a great job:
Hope to visit Amaya Lake on our next visit to Sri Lanka.
Good luck to Amaya Lake .......

Room Tip: Chose Lake Side Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaya R, Public Relations Manager at Amaya Lake, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Anne J,

Ayubowan!

Wow! Thank you for the 5 star review!

We do agree on the fact that the hotel gardens are awe-inspiring. We try our best to preserve the greenery and wild life around the resort and is very concerned about our ecological footprint.

Happy to hear our services, facilities and staff were upto your expectations. Yes, please do visit us again and we are looking forward to welcome you back!

Cheers,
PR Team at Amaya Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We were very disappointed with our stay and are surprised that this hotel has a 4 star accreditation. In our room, the toilet was not cleaned and the towels were full of stains. The ceramic commode was not cleaned and the waste of the previous occupier of the room was clearly visible. There were some mice droppings found on the mirror stool. The bed linen had not been changed and I found some hairs in pillow cases of the previous occupier of the room. We had to call room service to clean the mess and after a five-hour drive from Colombo had to wait in reception for another hour and a half for the cleaning to be completed.

The food was disappointing and tasteless. More disturbingly, the food areas of the restaurant were full of flies and no fans were switched on.

I booked the place for three days however, we decided to leave after two days of staying.

In addition, There were 150 local tourists attached to the Sri Lanka Pharmaceutical Corporation who arrived at Amaya Resort on Saturday, 5 October and they made significant noise (singing baila) till 11.30pm. I had to complain to the reception in order to to get attention about the noise. I have photographs and attached some for your attention.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jayantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaya R, Public Relations Manager at Amaya Lake, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Jayantha J,

Ayubowan!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are sorry that we didn't meet your expectations. Your constructive criticism is valued, and it is one of the best ways for us to understand how we can enhance your guest experience in the future.

Your comments will be passed along to each department involved, and please let me know if you would like to talk to our hotel manager and we will make that happen.

We hope that next time you visit Dambulla, you will give us an opportunity to make it up to you and make your stay flawless.

Sincerely,
PR Team @ Amaya Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hidden resort at the edge of Lake Amaya has a marvellous welcome of two ladies drumming upon entrance with smiles of "Ayubowan" on their faces. There is a very large pool with a swim up bar and we were there in the slow season of late February and early March. The room we had was in a little cabana with a very large bed and a second smaller bed in the entrance for a third person. The bathroom had stone underlay for sink and tub. Buffet breakfast of Sri Lankan and western choices. Chipmunks ran about us and there were lovely little shops for jewelry and leather and crafts to purchase. It is very near Sigiriya and of course the Dambulla temple and caves.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorisanna2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaya R, Public Relations Manager at Amaya Lake, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear dorisanna2013

Ayubowan!

Wow! Thank you so much for your amazing comments. We appreciate you taking the time to write such a thoughtful and positive review and are so happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
PR Team at Amaya Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is located in Dambulla (Sigiriya) If you are visiting Sigiriya then this is one of the hotel which located in the area. This has a very nice garden where you could have a walk in the morning or evening. Hotel is located next to Kandalama Lake. If you traveling with a group then ask the hotel to organize a BBQ night next to the lake, they have a beautiful place for the same. Rooms are individual chalets. They are beautifully designed and constructed. No complains about food too. I have attached good amount of photo here for anyone to get an idea about this property. There are lots of attraction close by to this property, so speak to your travel agent and get most out of this place. One important advice, never swim in the lake !!! you mist have to have life guards. Do not take that chance.

Room Tip: Get individual chalets, some has 4 rooms in one (good for a group), if you are a couple get individu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PriyangaCFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
1.6 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Signature by Amaya
Signature by Amaya
#6 of 15 in Dambulla
232 reviews
5.1 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#4 of 15 in Dambulla
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,625 reviews
7.0 mi away
Kalundewa Retreat
Kalundewa Retreat
#8 of 15 in Dambulla
117 reviews
2.9 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaya Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaya Lake

Property: Amaya Lake
Address: PO Box 12 Kandalama Dambulla | Cultural Triangle, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Dambulla
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dambulla
#3 Family Hotel in Dambulla
#3 Spa Hotel in Dambulla
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amaya Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of enchanting Kandalama Lake, discover a lifestyle defined by tradition and natural splendour. Nestled amid 40 acres of lush forest, Amaya Lake preserves the aura of local historical treasures, creating a feeling of old-world Sri Lankan charm matched with modern luxury. Located in the heart of Sri Lanka’s Cultural Triangle, the resort is the ideal base for exploring nearby wonders such as the ancient city of Anuradhapura and the Dambulla cave temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Amaya Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaya Lake Dambulla
Amaya Lake Hotel Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing