We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for first night in Sri Lanka”
Review of Amaya Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amaya Lake
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Dambulla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We travelled from the airport straight to Dambulla which took less time than we feared. Its a big hotel but the grounds are beautiful and the rooms were comfortable and pleasantly spacious. Although we were not that impressed by the massage it was a nice thing to do a after a long journey. The restaurant serves buffet style food but on the whole it was very good, particularly the breakfasts. Every night there is some entertainment which we quite enjoyed. We were very near Sigiryia and Dambulla Temple and enjoyed a walk through the local wholesale market. We had 2 nights and really enjoyed going back there after our first days' sightseeing and jumped straight into the lovely swimming pool.

Room Tip: Its huge and we were pleased to be near the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claret1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

709 - 715 of 1,582 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

Do not pay in cash, especially dollars, worked out much more expensive.
The reception staff, some of them seem to be just spectator, don't do to much specially when you have problems. but the cleaning staff and the spa are very good people.
I had bad luck with them on two occasions:
First: I ordered a bottle of wine and the young man brought another wine that cost $ 20 more, he opened it and I had to call the manager, his response was : The waiter will have to pay the difference, not the bottle ... Obviously it touched me and paid it . After the waiter told me that he would give me two glasses of complimentary wine: the wine was bad, it was very bad.
Second bad experience : We rented bikes and were not many but new bikes . My bike the chain broke, but the bike looks new! Answer: possibly made ​​in China. In the end they did not charge me for it.

But It is a beautiful boutique hotel where comfort and elegance are endless. All the room are cabanas with full of details. It is a Dambulla lake a few meters , where I recommend getting up early to watch the sunrise.
They have a luxurious spa where people who care are extremely friendly and good at massage. I recommend including the full massage with aromatic steam bath essences .

Room Tip: Rooms close to the lake to wake up and watch the sunrise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent_car
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This was my 2nd visit to the hotel after 15 years (formerly Culture Club). Everything was the same, including color schemes of the buildings but the service was not up to our expectation.
I was asked to talk to a restaurant staff, when I requested a glass of warm water at dinner by a staff member who was also at the restaurant; amused ! may be bad timing!
All in all its a treat to a nature lover. Plenty of trees and space by the lake. Variety & spread of the buffet was okay. Nice swimming pool.

Room Tip: Rooms are separately located as individual units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chamara_MLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This was the first time I visited Sri Lanka, and opted to go to Dambulla first since it was closer to the mountain than the other cities.

It took us roughly 4 hours to get from Bandaranaike International Airport to Amaya Lake by car, as there was a bit of traffic, roads were only one lane, and it was raining in April. By the time we reached, it was almost late afternoon. We were a bit tired from the flight and the long drive, but we were rewarded by the most mesmerizing view of the hotel!

Located next to Kandalama Reservoir, an agricultural zone on its own, Amaya Lake is secluded, well preserved within natural surroundings, and is vast!

Staff were very friendly, and hospitable. We got a room that was close to the reception area & the pool. They have one dining restaurant Samara Restaurant, and Amaya Lake Bar.

The rooms were very clean, have buildin a/c, with full facilities in the bathroom (including hot water), a mini-bar, and kettle with coffee & tea. Rooms come with complimentary water as well. TV was very small, but not that you are there to watch much of TV!

You will love to walk around the area, specially during sunrise/sunset. Perfect getaway from the city.

There is free wifi at the lobby. Bring your camera as there is a great photos opportunities everywhere you go.

It's in the middle of nowhere though, so you need to make sure that you got a driver to take you everywhere.

We stayed for 2 days, and just loved the place!

Room Tip: Choose rooms that are close to the hotel, as some as very far you need to ride the golf cart (unless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We took a trip to Sri Lanka and we chose to spend 3 nights at Amaya Lake hotel when we arrived. Very well located geographically, we visited many sites for Dambulla. The hotel is on the edge of a lake, lodge in comfortable bungalows, a comfortable bed, a large bathroom. There is a great pool. Meals buffet is excellent. I recommend this place as for his performances for his situation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruchika007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We were very disappointed with our stay at Amaya Lake. Check in was very slow, and service was very poor throughout the hotel, particularly at reception and at the bar. Our room was quite nice although the tv was poorly located and our couch was made of wood. English standard of staff was poor, the rooms are far from the reception and lighting at night is not good enough. Towels were 1 star standard, there were few tv channels and the phone in the room didn't work well. The pool was nice, plenty of loungers and some nice touches with housekeeping. The lake view is nice but not spectacular. It is also a poor location for Sigiriya Rock and Dambulla Caves unless you have your own driver.

Room Tip: All rooms are far from the reception but not all wings have buggies provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMcK23_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Location at the lake is nice, same as garden. We recommend to wake up and watch sunrise.

If you want to travel to Dambulla, Sigiriya or else, try to manage drivers somewhere else. It's not close to get anywhere and hotel charges much more (we needed to go to Kandy and hotel offered us driver for 14000 rupees but it's possible to get very good a/c van for 8000 rupees. This is inappropriate.)

Pool is nice and clean and big enough.

Food (we had only breakfast) was very good and a lot of choices.

Prices for drinks are higher than it should be.

Staff is ok, but we had to urge 3 times to fix the safe in our villa. Not very warm welcome, but decent.

Room is dark. We like more light. And the room and furniture remember old days. They should modernize - what was probably nice 10 years ago, now looks as not appropriate to the price.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank davcz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
1.6 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 17 in Dambulla
3,686 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amaya Signature
Amaya Signature
#4 of 17 in Dambulla
252 reviews
3.6 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#1 of 17 in Dambulla
174 reviews
7 mi away
Kalundewa Retreat
Kalundewa Retreat
#9 of 17 in Dambulla
121 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaya Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaya Lake

Address: PO Box 12 Kandalama Dambulla | Cultural Triangle, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Dambulla
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dambulla
#3 Family Hotel in Dambulla
#4 Spa Hotel in Dambulla
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dambulla
Price Range: £69 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amaya Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of enchanting Kandalama Lake, discover a lifestyle defined by tradition and natural splendour. Nestled amid 40 acres of lush forest, Amaya Lake preserves the aura of local historical treasures, creating a feeling of old-world Sri Lankan charm matched with modern luxury. Located in the heart of Sri Lanka’s Cultural Triangle, the resort is the ideal base for exploring nearby wonders such as the ancient city of Anuradhapura and the Dambulla cave temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amaya Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaya Lake Dambulla
Amaya Lake Hotel Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing