We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location”
Review of Amaya Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amaya Lake
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The location is the only thing that is commendable. They really need to clear their messed up on line booking system. They are yet to figure out how to take online payments! Plus, they charge extra for in room dining!!? Pathetic that is since it's not even 1/8 of a kilometer from the kitchen to the room that we stayed! I have never had this bad experience in any other hotels that I have travelled. I felt that the stay was a total ripper and was no value for the amount of money we spent. The buffet spread was quite pathetic too compared to certain other hotels in dambulla.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayaniKa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,541)
There are newer reviews for Amaya Lake
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

664 - 670 of 1,542 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

It was a lovely getaway for me and my wife. Travelled with our 3 year old kid. The entire property of resort is well maintained and well attended to every single detail.It has clean well kept Chalets and you would definitely love the stay with a good bath tub ..The food was really great and the swimming pool ambience was very appealing at night with a pool bar in the middle of pool..Would definitely recommend to others and it wouldn fail your expectations...Would definitely Love to Visit this Resort again..

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matx00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My self and wife stayed one night here on June 2013. That day Hotel was not crowded and very calm. Environment appeared as pretty relaxing and the lake area is very nice in the evening. Hotel has a large area to walk. We stayed at standard room. Room and the bathroom are seems like old. “WELCOME” decoration was nicely arranged.

Room Tip: Choose a room near the lake
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thiranka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

From the first minute it was a very cozy place - nice greeting at cool open lobby, nice staff, good pool, very cozy bungalows, friendly bartender, good food and extra point for the most beautiful lake view.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmorFati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Location 10/10 (the lake is beautiful!)
Architecture/design 7/10
Room 9/10
Bed 7/10
Bathroom 10/10
TV 9/10 (no BBC or CNN, only Al Jazeera!)
Wifi 9/10
Staff 8/10
Buffet dinner 10/10 (expensive but the best we had in Sri Lanka! Don't miss the langoustine and the ice cream parade at the end!)
Breakfast 9/10
Swimming pool 8/10

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank fujike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

A nice hotel above the lake close to Dambula. We got there directly from the airport and it took 4 hours. It is a nice place with good location to get to some of the famous history attraction of Sri Lanka. The service there was too good to be true, but they to their best to got as many tips as possible, which might be annoying. We had there very very big room with bath and jacuzzi and definitely felt it was a five star hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Uric170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

located near a lake and practically in nature. the grounds are well persevered and the rooms are comfortable. you can see monkeys wonder around the grounds. the food was OK however it is better to order a la carte than to get a full buffet

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yfarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
1.6 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 15 in Dambulla
3,592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Signature by Amaya
Signature by Amaya
#5 of 15 in Dambulla
243 reviews
5.1 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,659 reviews
7.0 mi away
Kalundewa Retreat
Kalundewa Retreat
#8 of 15 in Dambulla
118 reviews
2.9 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaya Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaya Lake

Address: PO Box 12 Kandalama Dambulla | Cultural Triangle, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Dambulla
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dambulla
#3 Family Hotel in Dambulla
#4 Spa Hotel in Dambulla
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dambulla
Price Range: £67 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amaya Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of enchanting Kandalama Lake, discover a lifestyle defined by tradition and natural splendour. Nestled amid 40 acres of lush forest, Amaya Lake preserves the aura of local historical treasures, creating a feeling of old-world Sri Lankan charm matched with modern luxury. Located in the heart of Sri Lanka’s Cultural Triangle, the resort is the ideal base for exploring nearby wonders such as the ancient city of Anuradhapura and the Dambulla cave temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Amaya Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaya Lake Dambulla
Amaya Lake Hotel Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing