We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Amaya Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amaya Lake
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2009

Stayed at this hotel for one night in Sept 2009. Georgeous setting, nice room, huge bathroom, nice turndown service, fantastic staff, are only a few of the pluses of this place.

Teenage daughter and I had facials at the spa in the morning prior to departure, very pleased with the service. Just ry to schedule treatments in the evening or late am after the lawn is mowed, etc.

Dinner and breakfast buffet: plenty of food, good quality and quantity, and an amazing setting by the pool and garden. Reasonable prices indeed.

Strongly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fasttrackDxB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,542)
There are newer reviews for Amaya Lake
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,054 - 1,060 of 1,542 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2009

A chaotic check out procedure meant that the staff got confused and made a mistake with our payment, leaving me out of pocket and then refusing to rectify it. They were argumentative, rude and even accused us of being dishonest and failed to listen or check that it was in fact their error. The most incredibly terrible experience which spoilt the trip - will never stay with this chain again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilyDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

This hotel was a great disappointment. We had booked it over the web and it looked fantastic however, the buffet offered every night was luke warm and poor quality. My wife was ill after the first evening meal. The following mornings breakfast we had something which smelt like coffee but tasted like dishwater.
When went out visiting sites our room had not been cleaned and was not checked during the day by the management to ensure it had. On our return we complained to the management who could not give a satisfactory answer as to why it had not been cleaned. We also reported ants crawling across the bathroom floor and up the wall and through the towels-nothing was done. They wanted to offer us 10% discount off the bill (we were staying two nights) or $20 off the breakfast. we accepted the former and then the general manager took two hours to come to this decision and then renaged on it. We were not the only family to not have our room cleaned , another family paid for three nights but only stayed for two, because of the very poor service. The management were incompetant of managing and the staffing were incapable of giving good service. We would not recommend this hotel to you.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sillysasha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

Such a relaxing place. I enjoyed every bit of my stay - the rooms, the pool, the lake, the gardens, the staff, whole setting was superb. Though we went for a meeting and our retreat, all the staff had a wonderful time at the end of the day. I need to go back there to enjoy. Only sitting on the balcony of Ayurvedic Reflexology, the brain becomes cool. Such a beautiful surrounding. And to talk about the Echo village, I wonder where they got such beautiful ideas! Brilliant, just brilliant.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaniz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

My general review of this hotel would be, that it is a nice 4star hotel in the middle of nowhere with single bungalows(where you even get guests in the other room, if the hotel is not half full), with an ok breakfast and dinner buffet,very nice pool, rustic bar, BIG lobby and incredible staff- incredible bad, especially the one in the restaurant.
Reception staff is ok, not wearing name tags, but ensuring the guests, that SPA will also do treatments at 10pm and showing you the room.
Bell boys are fine too, showing you very easily how the TV works and bringing you very quickly adapters.
But the staff and the lack of service in the restaurant is incredible!! it was not busy and still i had to wait for my coffee for 15 minutes... Then again in the evening,i was not even asked for my bill to sign, so of course I refused to pay in the morning my drinks- even the FO Manager agreed with that.

Lovely room, very nice turndown service and the bathroom is heaven!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maCurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2009

Lovely setting beside the lake. All up to date and kept clean.
Stayed in a semi detached cottage which was lovely, very quiet and beds turned down each evening with a message in petals and leaves.
Food was good but service poor despite there being so few guests.
Pleasant pool area.
Good location for cultural visits in the area..
Very expensive internet access.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knightyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2009

we stayed here for 3 nights whilst doing the cultural triangle tour. its a lovely hotel set in beautiful gardens/surroundings. theres a lovely pool, you can walk up to the lake or even just around the gardens. you can easily relax in this hotel. food was great with lots of variety. only thing that bothered me were the evident creepy crawlies, (we saw a snake in the garden aswell) but this would be expected considering its in the hill country, apart from that, can' really fault the place. they also had a mini cultural dance show put on one evening as it was the festival of Vesak.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b_5London_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
1.6 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 15 in Dambulla
3,592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Signature by Amaya
Signature by Amaya
#5 of 15 in Dambulla
244 reviews
5.1 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,658 reviews
7.0 mi away
Kalundewa Retreat
Kalundewa Retreat
#8 of 15 in Dambulla
118 reviews
2.9 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaya Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaya Lake

Address: PO Box 12 Kandalama Dambulla | Cultural Triangle, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Dambulla
#3 Family Hotel in Dambulla
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dambulla
#4 Spa Hotel in Dambulla
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dambulla
Price Range: £67 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amaya Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of enchanting Kandalama Lake, discover a lifestyle defined by tradition and natural splendour. Nestled amid 40 acres of lush forest, Amaya Lake preserves the aura of local historical treasures, creating a feeling of old-world Sri Lankan charm matched with modern luxury. Located in the heart of Sri Lanka’s Cultural Triangle, the resort is the ideal base for exploring nearby wonders such as the ancient city of Anuradhapura and the Dambulla cave temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Amaya Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaya Lake Dambulla
Amaya Lake Hotel Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing