We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Amaya Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amaya Lake
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Dambulla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2007

We stayed here in Nov and the stay was arraged for us by Amaya reef for a tour in the second week. The setting is superb and the hotel is excellent. Staff are very good and do their utmost to ensre a good stay. Very well situsted for all the tourist places in the area.
Hotel is to be highly recomended and of the Amaya hotels in Sri Lanks we would rate them as follows
1st Amaya Hills
2nd Amaya Lake
3rd Amaya Reef

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyroo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,122 - 1,128 of 1,585 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2006

We had booked all three Amaya resorts at Hikkaduwa, Kandy and Dambulla. We stayed at Dambulla for 2 days in chalet and it is a large, beautiful resort. I am quite surprised with some of the reviews I saw here-- the resort is actually well-equipped and there is no problem with electricity or areas being well-lit. The room is spacious and has all the facilities that might be needed. Since its right next to the lake and there are regular rains, there might be a few insects- but even these are kept under-control with repellants; each room is given one. If you see some bug you dont like, you can just request the hotel folks to have it removed- they will be more than happy to do it.

We loved the food and went sauntering next to the lake. The location of the resort is also very good in terms of proximity of places to visit - the rockt temple, sigiriya and polonnaruwa. You can go bicycling from the resort to the rock temple - you can hire the bike from the resort folks. And when you return in the evening you will find a fresh fruit basket and a flower arrangement in your room!

In the evening they invite a local classical singer who sings beutiful traditional Sri Lankan melodies making the whole environment romantic. Even the theme and setting of the resort is dedicated to the the tradtional Sri Lankan culture. The ayurvedic health center has a good team. I had a good facial massage here [had already had the full body massage at Kandy- Amaya Hills].

We ended our honeymoon with this resort being the last... It was a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MSBatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2006

A really beautiful well run hotel set in the heart of elephant country

I can't honestly think of anywhere I've been thats better.

  • Stayed: August 2004, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Recrema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2006

I am really surprised to hear of the grumbles of other guests. We stayed here for two nights in April 2006 and enjoyed every second.

Yes the chalets are spread out via winding paths but we found this to really add to its charm, giving us space and quiet and a real sense of relaxation rather than being crammed side by side. None of them are more than a few minutes walk to the main reception, pool, and restaurant area. The torch-lit paths also appealed to us.

We stayed in one of the chalets and our room was beautifully clean and well laid out. In our room there was a welcome flower display and a huge basket of fresh tropical fruits (which was replenished the next day). The bathroom was fairly basic but also very clean and functional - unlike one of the other reviewers we were given a supply of toiletries.

The restaurant serves breakfast and dinner buffet-style. There is a huge selection to choose from and we found it to be of very high quality. If you want a Western dinner you would have to order it but why would you when there is such a varied mix of Sri Lankan treats on offer? The same cannot be said for the winelist which is pretty poor - but then I guess you don't come to Sri Lanka for the wine. Breakfast offers both Western and Sri Lankan options and we feasted for well over an hour each morning!

The pool is lovely with plenty of wooden loungers around it and towels seem to appear from nowhere as soon as they're needed. We didn't use many of the other facilities but there were badminton, tennis, and volleyball courts among other offerings.

If you want a holdiay staying in your hotel room watching in-house movies, ordering room service, and eating Western food, then this is not the place for you. If you want a relaxing base from where to start and finish your day between exploring the cultural sites of the area then this resort has everything you need.

My only grumble would be that the resort does attract a large number of coach parties. However, they tend to to breakfast and dine early and are out on organised exursions during the day so they are easy to avoid if you prefer some peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ghf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2006

Never going back
The Amaya Lake was a very bad experience for me and my newly wedded wife we booked every thing through our travel agent after viewing it through your respectable site it was ok on the reviews but the truth was very far from that
The room was very small and far away from the reception and to make it worse there was not enough light on the way to mark our path
There we were standing socked when entering the room a small dull room with no mosquito net that we had seen on the net and the room was full of bugs that you can name like ants and mosquitoes and a small welcome on the bed (a nice small worm just standing under the pillow) that was nothing comparing to the lizards that we killed around 7 of them in full size
That was very aude sleeping with lizards around you and my wife every time that we encountered one screaming
Our honeymoon being spent with cockroaches
And to make it even worse no satellite connection just a big 29 plasma TV with a small note saying that the satellite for the room and the entire hotel is out, after calling the reception they said we are sorry but we have a TV room that you can share with others showing local TV channels (WOW great right)
We called the operator again after I had to see my wife’s tears asking him for other hotels in the area, so we have only one hotel to call with a five star rating and that was the Kandalama Hotel
Sorry we are fully booked for tonight sir why don’t you try tomorrow and thanks for calling (that was the reply from the Kandalama hotel)
We went for dinner after one hour of saying its ok its only this night that we had to bare
Walking around the dark unlighted path with bugs flying around we reached the restaurant that had a nice band playing local music
Food rating was very poor for what we paid for the whole bill came up to 4500 lkr (47 $) the meet was hard to chew and full of burned fat the salad bar was very poor and the rice smelt in short words it was bad and not up to our expectations
That is one place in Srilanka that I will never think of going to again

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ibnbatouta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2006

Amaya Lake used to be called The Culture Club. If it was still called The Culture Club, or we knew that in advance, we wouldn't have stayed there. Why? Because, far from a romantic destination for couples, the name suggests a 3* budget, family friendly resort. And that's what it is. It claims to be a 4* hotel, but it isn't. They even had a magic show for the kids (in the bar) the first night.

We arrived after a 4.5 hour, gruelling drive from the airport and were looking forward to getting some rest before a busy next day - climbing Sigiriya Rock, riding elephants, walking around the ruins of Polonnaruwa. The room was at some distance from the reception and the dining area, up and down rocky paths that are very poorly lit - the staff all carry torches at night (doesn't that tell them something?), but the guests apparently are left to grope in the dark.

The standard room was abysmal. Poor lighting (at least there's a theme I suppose), old fashioned and tatty furnishings, no door on the shower (perhaps that's what they mean by Amaya Lake?), non-functioning TV, and a mini-bar full of drinks that look and feel like they washed up on shore. There was no extra blanket so we had a choice between turning the air conditioning off or on (varying the temperature clearly requires a PhD in Technical and Applied Sciences). It was too stifling for hot, so we chose to freeze instead.

However, our adventure the first night wasn't over. On an approach to the toilet, on account of stomach aches from dinner (more later), a mouse leapt out of the bin, crossed the floor, carefully skirting around the flood, and disappeared into the faux-rock panel on the side of the bath. We were so tired that we decided to try to ignore it, hoping to refrigerate ourselves into a quick coma instead. Unfortunately, the mouse decided to do that scratching thing where you know it's doing an inventory of everything you left behind.

So, we called the front desk and they said they'd send someone to catch it. Shortly thereafter a man arrives, armed with... nothing. It seems he was going to catch it with his bare hands. That might have been worth the price of admission, but of course the wily mouse went into hiding and the man declared the problem had therefore gone away. Well, we decided it was our turn to move on. The Duty Manager was eager to point out that the room was in constant use and no one else had had such an encounter, before pondering the tough question of how it could possibly get in (it's a mouse?), even asking if we'd let it in ourselves! Fortunately, albeit at 11:30pm, we were moved to a Deluxe Room instead, which was about half a mile away on the other side of the resort. This room is practically identical to the standard except more modern and with upmarket fittings (like a shower door). This time we fell asleep to the soothing noises of what sounded like, and probably was, a trowel repeatedly hitting concrete - workmen presumably working through the night.

Supper is a buffet affair with a wide variety of quite repulsive food, so much so that despite being inclusive we had to order in the following night as we couldn't stomach, literally, going back for the second night. We ordered fries on top of our sandwiches, to find they already came with them; would have been useful if they'd told us that. Then we had to send the extra fries back for being cold - note to staff, if they come wrapped in cling film (especially with no condensation evident), then they can't be warm. We would have cancelled them completely, but it was all too complicated chit-wise and the poor guy almost burst into tears when I suggested it. The replacements were even a different colour (i.e. what they look like cooked).

We chose this place because the Kandalama Hotel was fully booked and we were told this place is on the other side of the lake (Kandalama Lake btw, Amaya is the name of the company). In order to see the lake in the way it is so prominently featured on its website, you have to trek down the hill and emerge from the jungle. There you also get a full view of the Kandalama who in turn must be grateful for the Culture Club having been discreetly hidden away from theirs.

Apparently the hotel has been relaunched after a major refurbishment. Wow, the old Culture Club must have been something really special.

3  Thank HereToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2006

Loved the accommodation at the Amaya Lake - split level detached chalets situated around a vast lake. Driving up to the hotel you are greeted by an impressive reception area and greeted with a refreshing towel and cold drink. The pool is lovely with quality wooden loungers and towels provided and the lake view beyond peaceful. On entering the chalet, there is a living area with satellite flat screen tv and sofa then a couple of steps up to the sleeping area. The room boy had spelt out WELCOME in leaves on the step which was a lovely touch. Off the bedroom is the very spacious bathroom complete with corner bath, separate shower, toilet and even a set of digital bathroom scales.
Very quiet and peaceful surroundings here. We only stayed here one night, and the only complaint was that as the restaurant was open air near the lake, there were several flies about. I was a little put off by this but may have been a one off.
Very friendly staff here.

1  Thank CJsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
1.6 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 17 in Dambulla
3,691 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amaya Signature
Amaya Signature
#5 of 17 in Dambulla
252 reviews
3.6 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#1 of 17 in Dambulla
174 reviews
7 mi away
Kalundewa Retreat
Kalundewa Retreat
#9 of 17 in Dambulla
121 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaya Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaya Lake

Address: PO Box 12 Kandalama Dambulla | Cultural Triangle, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Dambulla
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dambulla
#4 Spa Hotel in Dambulla
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dambulla
Price Range: £70 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amaya Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of enchanting Kandalama Lake, discover a lifestyle defined by tradition and natural splendour. Nestled amid 40 acres of lush forest, Amaya Lake preserves the aura of local historical treasures, creating a feeling of old-world Sri Lankan charm matched with modern luxury. Located in the heart of Sri Lanka’s Cultural Triangle, the resort is the ideal base for exploring nearby wonders such as the ancient city of Anuradhapura and the Dambulla cave temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Amaya Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaya Lake Dambulla
Amaya Lake Hotel Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing