We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
US$270
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/10/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$258
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/10/21
TravelocityUS$270
CheapTicketsUS$270
Orbitz.comUS$270
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
173
42
14
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
173
42
14
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nature walk plunge pool paddy fields nil manel water monitors natural spring upper lake sri lanka bike rides golf buggies bird watching peace and tranquility our honeymoon rice two nights beautiful setting curries
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2019

We stayed for 4 nights and thought that it was a beautiful place. The surrounding paddy fields and lake are filled with wonderful birds and wildlife and we particularly enjoyed a walk with Tharaka the resident naturalist. It was great fun biking about and the swimming pool is in beautiful setting, under trees where monkeys play.

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank whydoigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KManager, Manager at Kalundewa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2019

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for dedicating your valuable time to post a lovely comment about Kalundewa Retreat.
We are truly happy in reading the favorable comments, including our Naturalist--Tharaka.
Glad to note that you have enjoyed the excursions, activities and the recreation facilities.

Once again thank you very much for the positive review. Please do select us when you travel to Sri Lanka again.

Heshan Ranaweera
Manager
Kalundewa Retreat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2019

Kalundewa Retreat is a special place, it is deep in nature, with all sorts of birds, its own lake, monkey friends, and beautiful plants to explore. The food and service are the best I have ever experienced. The villas are beautifully designed!

Room tip: Choose the room with a pool!
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 616renee2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KManager, Manager at Kalundewa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2019

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for selecting Kalundewa Retreat for your holiday package. We are truly happy in reading your favourable comments.
We do love the facts that you have enjoyed the food, services and the design of the property.

Please do visit us again in your future visits to Sri Lanka.
We can't wait to welcome you for another memorable stay

Thanking you
Heshan Ranaweera
Manager
Kalundewa Retreat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2019 via mobile

I loved this place. No light pollution and the only noise was from the birds, peacocks and other local creatures. You could cycle around the grounds and arrive at main reception for a tasty breakfast. Chocolates on the bed every night was a tasty added treat.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Noëleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KManager, Manager at Kalundewa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2019

Dear Valued customer

Thank you very much for the lovely review at Kalundewa Retreat. As you have mentioned we are an eco and Agri retreat where luxury meets nature.
Glad to note that you have enjoyed our surroundings, birds and breakfast.

We hope you would come back again for another memorable stay.

Thanking you
Heshan Ranaweera
Manager
Kalundewa Retreat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2019

The setting of this retreat is stunning! We went for the Water Villa Nil Manel, but all of the accommodation is very well done, with private settings and amazing natural settings. We sat watching an eagle building it's nest for a while. Food is good, but it the setting and the accommodation that you come here for & you won't be disappointed.

Room tip: If you go for the floating villa plan ahead a little as the 24 hour butler / ferry takes a little while to get to and from your villa.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KManager, Manager at Kalundewa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2019

WOW! What a lovely comment.
Thank you so much for your recent stay at Kalundewa Retreat. We are truly delighted by Reading your favorable comments.

We do love the fact that your stay with us was a great holiday experience for you.
Indeed Water Villa is very unique design in the middle of the lake. You can do your own birding with the Panoramic view from the room itself.
Thank you again for the all the recommendations.
We hope you would come back again for another memorable stay.

Thanking you
Heshan Ranaweera
Manager
Kalundewa Retreat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2019 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and it was unforgetable.
There is only 8-9 rooms spread across so you hardly see anyone, which is great if you want to unplug.

The grounds are huge and its great just to cycle around and explore!The sunsets over the rice fields are awesome!
There is a lot of wildlife around so expect to see monkeys, 100's of birds, lezard etc.

Our room was beautiful and extremely clean with a great jacuzzi over looking the lake.

The staff here cannot do enough for you, you feel so welcome and treated like kings!
We are vegan and informed the chef on the first day that we would prefer vegetarian options, he then came to talk to us before each meal to discuss what we would make for us... the food was out of this world!

We cannot say how much we loved staying there and hope to be able to return one day.

To the wonderful staff,thank you for making our stay so memorable

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank clement2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KManager, Manager at Kalundewa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2019

Dear Guest
Thank you very mcu for your recent stay at Kalundewa Retreat. We are truly happy in reading the favorable comments.
Our endeavour is to create happy faces of our guests from the ckeck- in time onward. Our whole team is ready to go for some good extra couple of miles to delight our guests.
We also love the fact that you have enjoyed our food, services, rooms and the surrounding.

We hope you would come back for another memorable stay. We can't wait to welcome you.

Thanking you
Heshan Ranaweera
Manager
Kalundewa Retreat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews