We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our best place in Sri Lanka”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our best place in Sri Lanka”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We agree with our children: Asian Jewel was the best hotel we visited on our lovely trip to Sri Lanka. We would have appreciated, if it was possible to get a boat trip in the lake right beside the hotel. Friendly staff, clean pool, lovely view.

Room Tip: Kingfisher suite is the biggest. The view is even better from the ther rooms
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank logihouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    29
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
77
258
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melton Mowbray Leics
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We were here for 8 nights on our recent trip to Sri Lanka and are of the opinion that this is the nicest place we have stayed at both upon this trip and our previous visit to Sri Lanka 2 years ago.Dale and Tanya have a great small hotel and everything is done to an excellent standard. The rooms are spotless, the pool clear and clean, sunbeds for everyone and with a lovely garden and the location is so much better than being on Main St in Hikkaduwa.We felt that everything was done to a great standard with no silly penny pinching. The staff are great and really make you feel welcome and valued. Chaminder the tuk tuk driver is great and reliable. All in all a great place to stay. Just read the other reviews and you will know exactly what to expect.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Momelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

This was our second stay at the Asian Jewel and we're really glad we went back. We stayed for a week and saw in the New Year with Dale and Tanya, the amazing hosts. They make all the difference to the small hotel, which really is a gem. Organising trips or tuk-tuks, nothing's too much trouble. Tanya even popped into town to pick up colouring pencils for my little girl after overhearing her say she didn't have any! Dale also kept our children entertained for an evening (and I think was a little entertained himself) and it really made for a great atmosphere - the care and attention the duo pay is genuine and makes the guests feel really welcomed.
The hotel is set back from the hustle of Hikkaduwa but within easy reach by tuk-tuk (always an adventure). The staff are extremely attentive, friendly and go out of their way to help (the gardener presented me with freshly cut aloe vera, to apply to my sunburn for the first two days, without being asked!) The food was delicious and the restaurant has grown in popularity since our last visit but luckily, the guest take priority. Breakfast was delicious, and much nicer than most of the other, more expensive hotels we'd stayed in across Sri-Lanka.
The rooms are clean, spacious and have all the amenities you need, A/C, fridge, TV, DVD and satellite. The beds are a little on the hard side but that is probably a question of preference and definitely wouldn't stop us staying again. We thoroughly enjoyed our second stay and was really sad to leave. It's no wonder this place has glowing reviews and continues to please, we hope to return again soon.

Room Tip: Rooms are all lovely, but if you can, request a lake view - it's stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonHolidayBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We had an amazing stay at this hotel, and all the positive reviews are so well-deserved. What truly sets it apart is the service and the welcome. Literally nothing is too much trouble and everything is about ensuring that sure you enjoy your stay. Dale and Tanya are natural born hosts, but also all their staff are delightful- that perfect balance between never being in your face but being there in flash whenever you feel a cocktail calling or your sun lounger needs moving or, well pretty much anything you could ask for and they would do everything to make it possible! We were in Sri Lanka for 2 weeks in total, travelling all over, and found the best curry in Sri Lanka here. Literally, the best. If I close my eyes, I can still taste it now! Thanks alot for a great stay

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

My wife Christine and I stayed here for nearly three weeks in January and returned home totally refreshed and relaxed. Looking back, we would have seen more of this lovely country if we had a few days in different hotels but there is always next time. Asian Jewel is a lovely hotel, and we can only echo the words of so many others in the earlier reviews. Tanya and Dale both offer wonderful service in their own special ways, Tanya adding the culinary delights, and Dale being the very practical gent who arranged a few trips for us.
The overall standard of everything was first class, delicious food, excellent room, warm friendly attentive staff, sparklingly clean swimming pool. We could not have dreamed of a better way to spend this holiday. Flowers on the bed, decorating the breakfast plate, and all around the hotel were lovely touches. Without exception, everyone was so friendly.
When we return to Sri Lanka ( which we undoubtedly will ) we'll not hesitate to return to Asian Jewel. Fantastic !

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

Asian Jewel is definitely the place to stay if you want to enjoy your time in Sri Lanka. The hosts Dale and Tanya are lovely people and make you stay at their hotel worth while. The hotel is in a fabulous location with beautiful surroundings and not too far from the main town of Hikkaduwa and the beach!! The pool is a good size and very clean with plenty of space to sunbathe, the rooms and excellent and spotless with plent of space also. The restaurant is also very clean and the food is outstanding!! There is plenty to choose from and all dishes are to perfection. Been coming to Asian Jewel for over 8 years now and each year gets even more amazing there is something for everyone!!!! 100% recommend

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAURAKING123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

WE stayed at the Asian Jewel during January 2013 after reading all the reviews on trip advisor and believe me these reviews are all correct.
Dale and Tanya could not be faulted, they did everything possible to make our stay as near perfect as it could be.
The hotel is small and friendly, the rooms are very tastefully decorated with all the facilities that are needed on holiday, the swimming pool and gardens excellent for relaxing, all the staff were attentive and very friendly while the food was superb, especially the breakfasts.
If I have one concern though it is Dales allegiance to a certain football team from Manchester.
Never mind we all have a weakness.

.

Room Tip: Try for one of the two rooms overlooking the lake it is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnschoManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
3.4 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,581 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#5 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
#2 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sapphire Seas Beachfront Hotel
1.8 mi away
Lavanga Resort & Spa
Lavanga Resort & Spa
#14 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel

Property: Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Address: Field View Baddegama Road | Nalagasdeniya, Hikkaduwa 50820, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to its unique location, the Asian Jewel Hotel, Hikkaduwa - Sri Lanka combines the best of both worlds. Enjoy the tranquility and serenity of the picturesque Bird Lake while being just 2 km inland from Hikkaduwa, one of Sri Lanka's oldest and most established beach resorts. Ever since the very early days of travel, Sri Lanka has been known as one of the world’s most beautiful, diverse and exotic holiday destinations. So, what are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asian Jewel Boutique Hikkaduwa
Hotel Asian Jewel Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing