We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a real jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Amerongen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a real jewel”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We visited Sri Lanka last may and ended our trip at the asian jewel boutique hotel for 4 days. We were the only guests in the hotel and got a very personal welcome from the owner. Our stay was wonderful and relaxed, the food was superb and the staf was very friendly. If only it wasn't an 13 hour flight, we would come more often. We had the luxury room and even got room service on removing a frog (the jumpy one) from the bathroom. We would highly recommend others staying here if you're searching for a quiet and beautiful place to relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eline v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    29
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
77
258
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aluthgama, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

living in sri lanks sometimes its very hard to find a really good place to eat ,on sunday we travelled to hikadua to the asian jewel it was quiet hard to find but was well worth the journey .four of us went , the service was exellent the beer was ice cold (very important) but the food was something else ,the starters were fantastic as were the main courses and desserts we were all so happy with our choice of food it made a wonderfull change from being dissapointed when going out for a meal the lady owner was very nice and we were really well looked after the toilet facility wasjust as it should be perfecttly clean with white towels all together a wonderfull evening and we shall be going back very soon

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mary22y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed at the Asian Jewel for the last 5 nights of our two week trip. Despite going at the end of June we had brilliant weather - blue skies and sunshine everyday! When we stayed we were the only people there as it was off season but this didn't matter. It was like we had our own private Sri Lankan mansion it was amazing. Everything about hotel is lovely. I know everyone in Sri Lanka is really nice but I think some of the nicest people are those who work in the Asian Jewel. I was especially sad to say goodbye to Cyril at the end of our holiday. The food here is brilliant too. We had lots of different things on the menu and spent a good chunk of our time during the day chatting about what we were going to have for dinner. The jumbo prawns were the biggest thing I've seen in my life. The curry and rice here was brilliant and we had a curry making lesson on our last night too. I'm feeling quite nostalgic writing this review now.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth_1619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I spend 7 days in June 2013 with family at the Asian Jewel Hotel. Yes, this was the off-season but the weather is great most of the time . Downpours of rain do occur but that cools the place down and this is the tropics, so look on it as a positive. There are still lots to do this time of the year even though it is not the surfing season.

This was my second stay here, I had previously stayed in July 2012 . What brought me back... The cleanliness of the hotel with the attention to detail. The wildlife including monkeys in the trees that surround the hotel. The lake across from the hotel which attracts bird-life and where you can fish. The hotel facilities are great with a very clean pool and a pool table where many games were won and lost. The staff are accommodating, friendly and excellent at their jobs.

The food was superb. We all would recommend the chocolate brownies for dessert. The Sri Lankan curries were worth the trip to Sri Lanka from Australia for us.

We felt part of the Asian Jewel family during our stay. Thanks to Dale and all at the staff at the hotel for making our holiday so enjoyable and stress -free. An extra thanks to all for catering for the needs of a 3 year old so well.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Not only is this hotel beautiful, it is backed up by a compliment of staff eager to please (couldnt do enough for you), amazing food (generally what i look for in a good holiday), and great prices. I took my 3&1/2 year old son over and would do so again as whilst i was in the hotel i felt as if we were safe. The staff, as i said above, could not do enough. If we were going out on a day trip, the staff would provide fresh fruit, bottled water and fresh alovera without us asking (was not part of the package). And every moment they could would spend time with my Son entertaining him by sitting down and playing with his toys with him, giving him a body board to swim with or organising childrens dvds to watch. Hours and hours of fun he had. I only had the pleasure of Meeting one of the owners, and he made us feel like this hotel was our home. If we needed anything he had it sorted for us. (He even took me down to a local waterhole for a Ice Cold Lion Beer). We were unfortunate that the day we landed in columbo there was a Cyclone which took out most of the power grid, but again even though the hotel was without power for most of the time we stayed over there, our rooms never went without Air Con, our beer (and other drinks) were always cold or hot (depending on what we ordered) and our food always served in a timly fasion, hot and tasted amazing no matter what you ordered. Now onto my favourite part, the food! The food selection is fantastic, in Australia i am a massive meat eater, but could easily go vego at this hotel. I loved every dish they put in front of me (and i think i ordered at least one of everything on the menu) They have a great selection of local and international dishes and will customise to your liking. (i requested every curry made to Sri Lanken Hot, with a side serve of local bread).. Oh and the Cheese Burger, best i have ever had!!!. There is certainly a reason these guys have won multiple awards. I highly recommend that you visit (and take everyone you know). Just be aware that as much as the rooms are fantasticly clean and setup, this is a Indian/Asain Country so matresses are firm (im used to pretty much sleeping in what i call a marshmellow matress) but one of the softest i have felt if you compare to other asain countrys, such as Vietnam.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with family, the family room is fantastic. It is 2 seperate rooms, joined by 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

The staff are the thing that really make Asian Jewel a special place. They are so friendly and accommodating and I would like to thank them for making our stay so pleasant. We stayed 4 nights and ate at the restaurant 3 nights out of 4. The food was really good and I would highly recommend it. My two suggestions to Asian Jewel would be to add real coffee to your breakfast menu - nescafe just doesn't cut it! and secondly to add day curtains to the room to allow for some privacy without having to close the full curtains.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoInSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We spent 5 days at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. Tanya and Dale were very friendly and helpful, and all staff (Anura, Sunil, Cyril, apologies to the others I can't remember the names of including the chefs) were fantastic. The rooms were comfortable and clean, we enjoyed the hotel's facilities (e.g. pool and DVD library) and the food was great. Advice given to us about various things (e.g. transport, logistics etc) were much appreciated.

However, this hotel is not for everyone. As advertised and stipulated on their website, the hotel is located 2km from the beach up some winding roads (around 5 minute ride by tuk tuk which the hotel are happy to arrange). This was perfect for us as this allowed us to enjoy the hustle and bustle of the beach and the main road, as well as the charm of being inland and near the lake. We would often walk to allow us to take in local day-to-day life in these back streets. So if you're solely in Hikkaduwa for the beach and parties, then a stay at one of the beach resorts directly on the beach would probably be more to your liking. But if you're after a little more diversity, this hotel will be right up your alley!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Narlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
3.4 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
585 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
1,541 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#6 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
#2 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
228 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sapphire Seas Beachfront Hotel
1.3 mi away
Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel

Property: Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Address: Field View Baddegama Road | Nalagasdeniya, Hikkaduwa 50820, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to its unique location, the Asian Jewel Hotel, Hikkaduwa - Sri Lanka combines the best of both worlds. Enjoy the tranquility and serenity of the picturesque Bird Lake while being just 2 km inland from Hikkaduwa, one of Sri Lanka's oldest and most established beach resorts. Ever since the very early days of travel, Sri Lanka has been known as one of the world’s most beautiful, diverse and exotic holiday destinations. So, what are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asian Jewel Boutique Hikkaduwa
Hotel Asian Jewel Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing