We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't get enough of it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Can't get enough of it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Yet another memorable stay at the Asian Jewel. I've been going there a few times a year for the past 8 years and I've never been disappointed. The food was excellent as always and the service has only got better over the years. Make sure you order hash browns for breakfast... they're the best! Also their curries are better than any other I've had. I've driven down from Colombo, just to have lunch at the Asian Jewel. During my last visit I realised the free wifi was 3 times faster than the average connection in Colombo. So while it feels like the middle of nowhere, you could still stay connected to the world. That's if you choose to! This is the perfect getaway from city life. The only thing I don't like about it, is having to leave!

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms that have balconies facing the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Volvoforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    29
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
77
258
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Although we did not stay overnight at this hotel I spent most of my recent holiday at The Asian Jewel.

We were staying at a villa close by which was very disappointing. We ate almost every meal at the hotel and the food is excellent with a great selection.

The pool is clean and the staff are friendly and very helpful.

This place deserves every excellent review that is written about it and the owners should be very proud.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clerecol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Never thought I would prefer staying off the beach to on it - but this place beats the beach front resorts hands down. Still close to the action of Hikkaduwa, but you can return to this place and feel like you are miles away - in the lush greenery, feeling the breeze, enjoying the pool and views while sipping a drink on the property. Dale was a great host, room was fantastic, and breakfast / coffee was icing on the cake. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidFAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Well what can I say, this place really lives up to all the positive reviews. We found this place on Trip Advisor after all the good comments and I must say it is a fantastic place with wonderful hospitality thanks to Tania and Dale who run a great operation! It's a perfect place for kids, as my 3 year old loved the pool and we enjoyed relaxing, as the beach was too rough to swim this time of year. Food is amazing...Tania was a ex-chef so the extensive menu was delicious from the curries to the Western food, we didn't even eat outside the hotel in the 4 days here. Rooms are spacious and clean as well as good service all round. Don't be discouraged this is not on the beach, for the peace and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of the beach, it is well worth it! Would definitely come back for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doublechou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

After a last-minute change of plan we moved from a villa in Ambalangoda to the Asian Jewel, it was the best move we could have made. We had only given 48 hours notice of the arrival of our family (two fraught adults and two energised children). The management and staff made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. The grounds were peaceful, the rooms were excellent and the food was absolutely outstanding. Not surprising that people give this haven rave reviews and travel from all of Sri Lanka to spend time there. We would definitely go back to this hotel. We were made to feel welcome the whole time, were looked after but also given plenty of space by the staff. A huge thank you to everyone at the Asian Jewel.

Room Tip: 'Kingfisher' are two rooms joined by a bathroom, perfect for familes. 'Jasmine' was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annabellaflipflop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amerongen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We visited Sri Lanka last may and ended our trip at the asian jewel boutique hotel for 4 days. We were the only guests in the hotel and got a very personal welcome from the owner. Our stay was wonderful and relaxed, the food was superb and the staf was very friendly. If only it wasn't an 13 hour flight, we would come more often. We had the luxury room and even got room service on removing a frog (the jumpy one) from the bathroom. We would highly recommend others staying here if you're searching for a quiet and beautiful place to relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eline v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aluthgama, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

living in sri lanks sometimes its very hard to find a really good place to eat ,on sunday we travelled to hikadua to the asian jewel it was quiet hard to find but was well worth the journey .four of us went , the service was exellent the beer was ice cold (very important) but the food was something else ,the starters were fantastic as were the main courses and desserts we were all so happy with our choice of food it made a wonderfull change from being dissapointed when going out for a meal the lady owner was very nice and we were really well looked after the toilet facility wasjust as it should be perfecttly clean with white towels all together a wonderfull evening and we shall be going back very soon

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mary22y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
3.4 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#6 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
#2 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sapphire Seas Beachfront Hotel
1.8 mi away
Lavanga Resort & Spa
Lavanga Resort & Spa
#14 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel

Property: Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Address: Field View Baddegama Road | Nalagasdeniya, Hikkaduwa 50820, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to its unique location, the Asian Jewel Hotel, Hikkaduwa - Sri Lanka combines the best of both worlds. Enjoy the tranquility and serenity of the picturesque Bird Lake while being just 2 km inland from Hikkaduwa, one of Sri Lanka's oldest and most established beach resorts. Ever since the very early days of travel, Sri Lanka has been known as one of the world’s most beautiful, diverse and exotic holiday destinations. So, what are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asian Jewel Boutique Hikkaduwa
Hotel Asian Jewel Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing