We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday of a life time!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Holiday of a life time!!”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had originally booked to stay at Kogala Beach, but after a week of cold curry for breakfast, curry for lunch and then curry for dinner we could no longer bare it.
We went to stay at the Asian Jewel and the contrast was out of this world!!
The Asian Jewel has the back drop of the Sri Lankan jungle, stunning views, the friendliest staff iv ever met and they do a cracking Full English Breakfast much to my delight :) The hotel is owned and run by an English couple which gives the hotel a home from home feel. The food is all fresh and cooked to order, with a vast variety to choose from. The rooms are immaculate with beautiful views of the jungle. I really cant praise this hotel and its staff enough and I really wish we had originally booked this hotel. This is definately the place to stay whilst exploring the beauty of Sri Lanka...you will not be disappointed!!

Room Tip: The family suite....just perfect :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireyFairy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    29
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
77
258
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Booked for 5 days in August to sort out our bearings for touring Sri Lanka, we were staying on the Island for 18 days.

The hotel was so good we did not want to leave, the staff are terrific, they can't do enough for you.
The food is absolutely great. We ate there every day during our stay.

The owners Dale and Tanya have done a brilliant job with the hotel, it is like staying in a luxury villa.
The attention to detail makes for a most enjoyable stay, fresh flowers in your room daily, fantastic swimming pool, beautiful peaceful surroundings.
Dale arranged transport with private drivers for a 7 day tour which he planned with us, we went with his recommendations and had a great time.
After the tour we returned to the hotel for a further 5 days !! It was great to get back...

Would definitely recommend this place to friends etc..

Thank you Dale, Tanya and your terrific team for making our (two) stay's so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Recommend you spend a little bit more a d get a lake view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GedA57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Beautiful boutique hotel with stunning rooms and grounds - we've never seen so much love and attention to detail put in to a place. Fresh flowers everywhere including our bathroom and presented with food. Everywhere was beautifully finished, clean and presented perfectly.

The staff were incredibly helpful and attentive and clearly enjoy working there. The owners went out of their way to make us feel at home - in fact we felt more like we were staying a friend's luxury mansion than a hotel!

The food was great, as was the wine. Loved the pool table and juke box too which made for lovely after dinner entertainment.

One word of advice would be to let the hotel organise your transport there as our tuk tuk driver found it difficult to find. It is 250LKR tuk tuk journey (5-10 mins) to Hikkaduwa centre and the hotel organised this for us with no hassle.

Would highly recommend this place and would love to come back should we visit Sri Lanka again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonb16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We spent 5 days in this quiet and wonderful jewel. It is located 8 minutes away from the crowded beach but for that you are getting a 24/7 team that is taking care for all your needs.
You will not find anything which is below perfect, as the team is paying attention into all small details. The result is amazing: the food (ate there all 5 dinners that we had), the relaxing pool and the comfy room.
Thanks for Dale, Tanya and the team for running this special spot

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kobibl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We had a wonderful 5 day stay here in August. The service is unbeatable. Dale and his team work hard to ensure your stay is relaxing and stress free. The food is superb, the attention to detail in all matters is top rate. Nothing is too much trouble for them. We also used the driver recommended by the hotel to take a 2 day tour to Kandy and beyond, I would recommend him too, he is very safe and a lovely person to chat too. For the first time ever, I have no suggestions for improvement. This hotel was just perfect for me : lovely rooms, relaxing pool, fabulous food, attentive and friendly staff, easy (inexpensive) access to beach and surrounds by local tuktuk. Great job! Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I have been trying to contact the Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel after reading all the good reviews, but none of the numbers mentioned on their site is working. Does anyone know how to directly contact the hotel???

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Beautiful little jewel of a hotel. It is off the beaten road - our guide/driver was a little worried about leaving us there but nothing to worry about. We were the only guests as it was off season so it felt like our own private villa. The Jasmine room is lovely - great view, big shower and beautiful fresh flowers every day. The breakfast fruit plate is amazing. I want curds with every meal! The dinners were great as well. Dale was very helpful and set up a river tour for us. The staff were all so sweet and accommodating. We didn't want to leave. Our flight home wasn't until late at night but Dale let us have a very late check-out so we could relax by the pool and freshen up before leaving even though it was a national holiday. It was a sweet ending to our Sri Lankan adventure!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
3.4 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#5 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
#2 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sapphire Seas Beachfront Hotel
1.8 mi away
Lavanga Resort & Spa
Lavanga Resort & Spa
#14 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel

Property: Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Address: Field View Baddegama Road | Nalagasdeniya, Hikkaduwa 50820, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to its unique location, the Asian Jewel Hotel, Hikkaduwa - Sri Lanka combines the best of both worlds. Enjoy the tranquility and serenity of the picturesque Bird Lake while being just 2 km inland from Hikkaduwa, one of Sri Lanka's oldest and most established beach resorts. Ever since the very early days of travel, Sri Lanka has been known as one of the world’s most beautiful, diverse and exotic holiday destinations. So, what are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asian Jewel Boutique Hikkaduwa
Hotel Asian Jewel Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing