We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Citrus Hikkaduwa(Hikkaduwa)
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Hotel Ocean View Cottage(Hikkaduwa)(Great Value!)
US$36
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aditya(Hikkaduwa)
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$51
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Main Reef Hotel and Restaurant(Hikkaduwa)(Great Value!)
US$30
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Suite Lanka(Hikkaduwa)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (458)
Filter reviews
458 results
Traveller rating
418
31
5
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
418
31
5
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjasmine roomtuk tukthe sri lankan curryshepherds pieenglish ownerluxury roomposter bedcurriesview over the lakefruit platterpeaceful locationoff the beaten trackbird lakeriver safarihotel is perfectspent nightsrelaxing holiday
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 458 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We spent 2 nights in thsi wonderful Boutique Hotel and we really loved it. The hotel is 2 km away from the beach in Hikkaduwa at a lake in a very quiet location. If you want to go to the beach they will arrange a Tuk Ruk for you (the trip takes approx. 10 minutes and costs less than 2 Euros). What makes this place so exceptional is the staff - they are simply terrific.

Would definitely recommend this place to anybody planning to travel to Hikkaduwa

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lobao_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

After a 12-hour flight from Rome and the most insane 7-hour death ride from the Colombo airport to Hikkaduwa, the muddy and pot-holed dirt road to Asian Jewel seemed like the last ride of our lives. I was ready to pack it in and bail...until Dale, the affable and attentive proprietor, showed-up and convinced us to stay for a night.

That night turned into seven of the best nights of our long vacation. Here's why:

1) The setting is easily the best in Hikkaduwa -- serene, with vistas of the broad lagoon, a gorgeous pool, beautiful wild birds, a couple of cows, and gorgeous jungle solitude.

2) The staff is a team of attentive and super sweet locals who will win your heart with their sincerity and concern for your every need. They are the soul of the hotel.

3) The owners are both kind-hearted professionals who have built a unique property from their perfect vision for a boutique vacation destination.

4) The restaurant is easily the best on the entire southern part of the island. Breakfasts are perfectly prepared with local ingredients and a bowl of buffalo curd (yogurt) with palm honey that will forever haunt my morning dreams. Dinners (the curries!) are consistently amazing. If you watch, you'll see the chef pop into the tiny garden to grab some fresh spices and ingredients for your dinner. After we tried eating in town a couple of times, we then ate dinner at Asian Jewel every night. For dessert, the chocolate brownie with ice cream is insane!

5) The music that pipes from the small bar is perfectly programmed. It works perfectly with the setting.

6) The rooms are airy, spotless and designed with a local beauty that makes them feel like home.

If you have a blindfold, wear it on the way from the main road to the hotel. And when you get there, remember that it's a jungle out there. And the Asian Jewel shines as a sanctuary of the best kind. We love the place.

    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hikkajewel, Owner at Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Many thanks for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay with us, its a real shame it took you that long to get down from the airport i know you chose to pick a driver from the airport who brought you the old road and then got lost trying to find us, and also you were unlucky with all the road works that are happening because of the new opening of the Link road to the Highway road, and with all the sign posts being taken down, Sri lanka is improving all the highways and link roads leading to the main tourist areas so in the very near future will improve every bodies travel time to their destination, we always reccommend for you to take the drivers we provide as they know where we are, and ive honestly never known any one take that much time to get here, we had guest arrive on the new express way today and it took them 3hrs with the traffic, so hopefully the new roads are making a difference. we are really glad in the end when leaving you said you will return and gave us the positive review on our hotel and staff many thanks and see you in the future hopefully,best regards Dale and all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Do you know the "wow" effect? If you do, you surely stayed at Asian Jewel ! I spend a totally relaxed week in this beautiful little piece of paradise ! I spend most of my time relaxing on my balcony or at the pool... and took Chaminda "Mister Tuk-Tuk" for small rides around ! The staff of Asian Jewel is absolutly great, friendly, smiling, genuine people. I never had the feeling they were
only beeing nice because they wanted a good tip, they just seem to love this place too and they are proud to be there for you ! Good staff is not that easy to find, but Dale and Tanya managed to find and coach them well. By thevway, they are very very nice too....

The Jasmin room was very nice, plenty of small nice details all over. After having dinner here the first 2 nights, I decided to eat here every evening, it is rare to eat that well in a hotel. I tried almost all the main courses and it would be hard to tell a favourite ! I would like to take the cooks right back home !

I plan to come again, with my family next time.. I want to check by myself if the bumpy road will be
finished....

Thank you to all of you lovely people for this beautiful, relaxing week !

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manuchka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks. The owners are really nice and friendly and give you lots of local information. The staff are really friendly and super helpful. Breakfast is a massive treat. If you go here you really must have the fruit platter with honey and curd Deeeeelicious. This hotel really is an iddillic little retreat away from the hustle and bustle of the town. As the hotel is small we never felt like just another guest. We were made to feel very welcome by Tanya, Dale and all the staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nick045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This was a great recommendation.A small guest hotel.Tanya and Dale run an extremely efficient setup.The curries were the best we have eaten during our twelve years of touring Sri Lanka.Staff were very helpful and pleasant.
My only criticism is about the towels.I feel for a boutique hotel towels should be luxurious and these were not! Perhaps the decor could be improved from brown/cream which gives a rather somber feel.
I would not hesitate on recommending this place.Jenny

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jenny1282013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews